We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home where you feel as if your...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Walnut Nest

street view of the villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
street view of the villa
Maurizio & Riccardo in entrance alley kitchen 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
street view of the villa
Maurizio & Riccardo in entrance alley
kitchen 1
kitchen 2
kitchen 3
toilet bathroom one
shower & basin bathroom one
heater towel-rack bathroom one
living room - dining table and entrance
living room - fireplace
living room 10-seater table
lounge TV room 1
lounge TV room 2
utility to family room 1
utility to family room 2
utility to family room 3
shower and toilet bathroom two
wash basin and wall mirror bathroom two
family room - double bed & bunk-beds
family room - bunk beds and double bed
family room outer area 1
family room outer area 2
utility room to double and twin rooms 1
utility room to double and twin rooms 2
utility room to double and twin rooms 3
utility room to double and twin rooms 4
bedroom two - double bed
bedroom three - one of two single beds
bedroom three - twin beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Hungarian first
Any
English first
Scolafr
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home where you feel as if your stay is with family”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were met at the airport by Maurizio and his son Ricardo. We had sent pictures to Maurizio so he would recognize us and his picture on Trip Advisor helped us to recognize him and Ricardo. After we settled in for our 5 week stay, they went out of their way to show us the bus stops, grocery stores and metro station to enable our independence. He offered to have weekly bus/metro passes for us when we arrived which were only 24 euros each which are well worth the money. This allowed us to begin our Roman holiday the day we arrived. The house was clean and well designed and more than anyone could ask for. We had other family members that stayed in an apartment downtown and were greatly dissatisfied with the impersonal atmosphere they experienced. Our relatives visited us at Maurizio's apartment and were shocked at how nice it is and the warmth one feels only in the comfort of their own home. The kitchen is well equipped, bathrooms are excellent, bedrooms are fantastic and the general living areas are so welcoming it is easy to forget you are not at home. Maurizio and Ricardo are the most accommodating and gracious hosts anyone could ever hope for. We are definitely planning to return next year and look forward to seeing Maurizio and Ricardo again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Maurizio and Ricardo easily became more like family
Liked least: Stay was far to short
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannyNaga
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were a group of 8 people from my extended family that visited Rome. Our first impression of the apartment was mind-blowing. Maurizio has really taken good care of the apartment. However, more important fact is that Maurizio and his son Riccardo are both extremely friendly and helpful.
As soon as we took the keys, one of the things I wanted was a local phone. So I asked where I could get it and you know what, Riccardo got an additional SIM that he had kept and it already had currency on it.
While the place is in a quiet and pleasant suburb of Rome (about 45 minutes to get to Rome Center), it has most of the basic requirements in walking distance. For people who want to use the public transport, the bus-stop is 5 minutes walk.
There is a supermarket next to the busstop and quite a few restaurants in 10-15 minutes walking radius. As we wanted to "feel" the city, we did not rent a car, but use the public transport everywhere and an occasional taxi when it got very late in the night.
Due to some small glitch, my sister had to stay back in the Rome for 2 extra days, when the rest of us moved to London for the next stage of the trip. You won't believe this, Maurizio let her continue in the apartment for 2 more days at no additional cost.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Rome and a large part of this was the fact that the Walnut Nest acted as our own quiet abode amidst the running around in the day.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great home base for exploring Rome and area”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This property lived up to its previous reviews. My wife and I and another couple stayed here for 7 nights starting on September 29, 2013. We had a GPS and the trip from FCO airport to the flat was about 30 minutes. Our GPS took us on an interesting route that seemed a little rural at times, but the flat is located in a nice neighborhood. It is in the basement of the owners home and it appears to share about half of the basement with a physician's office. The security is excellent, with 2 locked gates and a locked door to pass through to the apartment. Maurizio was available to greet us, give us two sets of keys, and an orientation to the apartment.
Location - The Walnut Nest (I have no idea why it is called that) is about a 30 minute drive in traffic from central Rome. It's is 10 minutes from the coast. There is a lovely restaurant, Ristorante al-Confessionale less than 100 metres away which was a great place to eat with very helpful staff. In the opposite direction, perhaps 200 metres is the Via Ermanno Wolf Ferrari. Turn right down this road and within 500m are two excellent patisseries, grocery store, pharmacy, and gas station. We had friends who were staying at the Marriott Central Park, and we would park in the hotel lot for 12Euro per day while we explored downtown Rome, via train or the hotel shuttle.
What I would improve - During our stay the temperatures was in the mid to high 20's, plus it rained in the evenings. As a consequence, the apartment felt damp. It does not have air conditioning so a de-humidifier would have come in handy. We could not figure out how to work the towel warmers, not could I figure out how to open the windows. I could have phoned Maurizio, but as we were out all day until late in the evening, we never bothered Maurizio with our questions. The beds had clean sheets, and a bed cover I would describe as a floor rug. It is probably a European thing, but we ditched that cover and used two small blankets from the other bedroom. I would also have preferred a softer mattress.There was some mildew in the shower by the entrance to the apartment, no doubt due to continued obvious dampness, but this could be cured by bleach spay and/or a de-humidifier.

Summary - the apartment came supplied with milk, cereal, juice, bread, butter, eggs. jam etc. This made things very nice. There is a a high-end washing machine, an OK LCD TV, good wireless internet access, comfortable furniture AND Maurizio provided a local cell phone to use during our stay to avoid excess charges on our North American phones. There was a plentiful supply of maps as well. The location is excellent, and we would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, space
Liked least: it was a little damp
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aandlkc
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Haven from which to explore Rome”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We chose to hire this apartment from the great reviews it had received and we found that it lived up to what had been said. It was a spacious apartment with two small, private outdoor spaces. It has three bedrooms - a queen, twin beds, and a family room with a queen bed and double deck beds. The shower-rooms were neat, clean and well appointed. The kitchen had all essential items, and many more. The large dining room had an eight seater table, and the lounge room had a comfortable lounge and TV. The area was quiet, with the only outside sounds being distant church bells, or the frogs from the fish pond. There is a washing machine and a hanging rack for drying your clothes, as well as an iron and ironing board. The Wi-fi works well.
There is a large grocery shop in walking distance, and Maurizio has supplied a wheeled shopping basket should you need it. There is a very nice restaurant within 100 metres.
The bus stop for the buses into Rome is within walking distance, and we used the buses frequently.
It is all the little added extras that you may, or may not need, such as umbrellas or sunscreen, which make the apartment comfortable.
Maurizio spent a great deal of time and effort ensuring we had plenty of ideas about how to spend our time in Rome, and it is this that enriched our stay in Rome. We have no hesitation in recommending this apartment to fellow travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little extras, and the attention that Maurizio paid us, ensuring we had a great stay in Rome.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful stay!!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a fabulous time here! After a 14 hour drive from Germany, it was so nice to find this welcoming accommodation. Everything you need for an extended stay and the coastline/beaches and the heart of Rome only 15 minutes away in either direction. Mauricio is an incredible gentlemen and most gracious host. Would gladly stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, space and having palace to relax after sightseeing.
Liked least: The traffic.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpraines
Albany, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FLAT”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

"The Walnut Nest" is a FABULOUS FLAT!!! We stayed there for 10 days and absolutely loved it! It was lovely, comfortable, very spacious, and clean. It had all the comforts of home and a little treat I had not experienced before - heated towel warmers. The bus stop, grocery store, and restaurant were only minutes away. The owner, Maurizio Biocca, is a wonderful ambassador for his beautiful country, Italy! He was instrumental in helping us create memories that will last a lifetime. With his guidance we were able to see and enjoy sites in Rome we would not have found on our own. We cannot thank him enough for making our stay so enjoyable! We have already recommended staying at "The Walnut Nest" to several of our friends when they visit Rome. We threw our coins in the "Trevi Fountain", so when we return we will definitely be staying at "The Walnut Nest".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was wonderful!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieD17...
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATION EXCELLENT HOSTS”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation was situated between coast and central Rome. The facilities within the rental were excellent all as described in advertisement. The host speaks fluent english and both his sons - who were home at the time - were educated in England. We were welcomed into the property by the whole family. The hosts were excellent - I cannot stress how helpful and accommodating they were - there was nothing they could not help us with.
I travelled with my husband, son aged 21, son aged 15 and daughter 10 and there was enough space for us all !! I cannot suggest any improvements for this property and the only problems we encountered was with the bus service into central Rome - but this was not something the owner could prevent!!

Well done Maurizio and family and thank you again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious accommodation suitable for all ages
Liked least: Bus services into Rome Centre
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing