We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic walking tour of Rome”
Review of Eyes of Rome

Eyes of Rome
Book In Advance
More Info
US$111.56*
and up
Private Early Bird Vatican and St Peter's Basilica Tour with Hotel pick-up
Ranked #12 of 779 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visit Rome in the company of its most passionate admirers, us! Your Roman adventure is sure to be unforgettable with Eyes of Rome, a creative club of independent tour guides! You set the pace of the tour with your private guide, personally selected for you from our small team of enthusiastic professionals. You'll be captivated as your passionate guide helps bring Rome to life with a tour that is customized to your interests and energy level. We offer city walking tours, but we also provide bike and segway tours, and car services. We will accompany you off the beaten paths, to discover the historical and cultural heritage, sharing also the most local aspects of the Eternal City, like the arts & crafts, the food & wine and the best music, theatre and sport events.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic walking tour of Rome”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We contacted Eyes of Rome hoping they could provide us with a guide at short notice and lucky for us they could. Francesco met us in our hotel lobby that afternoon and took us on a walking tour of ancient Rome. He showed us all the sights away from the crowds, told us many interesting facts about the history of Rome and as an added bonus, recommended some of his favourite non-touristy restaurants, which were fantastic. He was so much fun to be with that we organised a second tour with him two days later. On this occasion we went to the Catacombs, which were fascinating, then to see Michelangelo’s sculpture of Moses in the Church of St Peter in Chains and finally to the local farmers’ market as it was a Saturday. We tasted some delicious cheeses and cold meats and bought ourselves a picnic lunch of bread, cheese, meat, salad and fruit. Everything was so fresh, delicious and inexpensive. We highly recommend Francesco as a tour guide.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoR_PrivateTours, Story Teller at Eyes of Rome, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi guys
It was a great time!
Catacombs are great to cool down when the Roman sun gets too hot, and the Farmer's Market, what to say... It's just one I my favorite places in Roma!
Hope to see you soon.
Thanks
Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,400
    22
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn Heights
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eyes of Rome”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was my second tour of the the Vatican;my husband's first. The private tour that Eyes of Rome provided was by far the best decision we made. We received such personalized information that our tour became completely tailored to us. Our guide was warm, interesting, knowledgeable and funny and personable that by the end of the tour, we felt as if we were family. It didn't hurt that all of the security staff within the museums seemed to know her well and like her best! Our guides professional brilliance combined with her natural italian grace was in inteself a treat, not to mention the enormous amount of information she provided us with on history. Her knowledge and perspective on art was particularly special. We were met at our hotel where she took the reigns and our entrance, movement throughout, and exit were smooth. Our only focus was on her infrormation and the incredible beauty of all the anitquities. Finally, her restaurant recommendation to us for that evening was the best local place we'd been to!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lourdesabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoR_PrivateTours, Story Teller at Eyes of Rome, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank You very much for this lovely review and for all your compliments. It is the best satisfaction for a guide to be one of the best memories of the people we meet in Rome.
Hope to see you soon to take care again and always better of you.
All the Eyes of Rome Story Tellers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eyes of Rome tours rock!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband, daughter and I set up 3 tours with eyes of Rome and these tours were worth every euro!! We loved our guides, Michela for 2 days and Katie for our 3rd. They were both knowledgeable and enthusiastic and interesting to listen to! Their love of history and the roman sites was both inspiring and admirable. I can't imagine visiting all of these historic sites without their story telling. Great teachers and guides! Awesome to be able to walk right past the long lines too and not waste precious hours just waiting to get in. Tour with this company. You will not be sorry!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoR_PrivateTours, Story Tellers at Eyes of Rome, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are looking forward to rock and rolling you again! Thanks a lot for a great review. This is the best satisfaction and present you could give us!
See you soon!
Michela & Katie :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
“Great way to explore Rome!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My boyfriend and I used Eyes of Rome for two days and it was just perfect. I really liked how Eyes of Rome sets up their tours with the ability to add on other excursions or make it a full day.

The first day in Rome we did the Colosseum tour with the City Center tour added on. We absolutely adored our guide, Katie. (It didn’t hurt that she was also a Southern California girl.) Katie met us at our hotel and customized our tour to flow smoothly as we walked thru the city. She was informative and engaging and really helped us explore and appreciate Rome. We enjoyed her sense of humor and appreciated that she always had our comfort in mind as we spent the day together i.e. shade, water, food, afternoon caffeine stop, bathroom. Our only regret is that we didn’t tip Katie enough since she was our first tour guide and we were novices to the private tour experience. (So sorry Katie!)

On our second day we had Nicola for the Early Bird Vatican tour with the Raphael rooms, Pinocoteca followed by a catacomb tour. She also met us at our hotel. Wow! Her enthusiasm for her subject matter was impressive and contagious. She did an excellent job bringing together the tour and highlighting the important stuff while balancing it with interesting tidbits. She was accommodating when I wanted to see another work of art that caught my fancy, but wasn’t part of the tour. She made sure we were able to navigate thru the massive crowds of people and still enjoy our experience. After the first part of our tour we took a taxi to the catacombs. We had the whole catacombs to ourselves. That was a truly amazing experience; creepy and fascinating. Another great day.

As a side note, I would highly recommend the early bird entry to the Vatican. It was crazy to see how massive the crowds became as the day went on. For example we had a serene experience in the Sistine Chapel and were able to sit and quietly converse about the art and its history as opposed to later on when we had to traverse back thru the room and saw how it was awfully crowded to full capacity.

We would completely recommend Eyes of Rome to help you fully experience Rome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GLBPilotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoR_PrivateTours, Story Tellers at Eyes of Rome, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for such a beautiful review! We love customizing tours with wonderful clients like yourselves. Your enthusiasm for Rome's history made the 2 full days of touring fly by!
Cheers,
Katie & Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Rome Tour w/ Eyes of Rome - Maria Teresa - Excellent guide!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My father and I were passing through Rome for just one night. Our hotel made a reservation with this tour group when we arrived, and soon after Maria came to meet us at our hotel. We did a tour of the history of Rome and saw many memorable structures. She was a wealth of information and we thank her! Would recommend to others

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoR_PrivateTours, Story Teller at Eyes of Rome, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello! I am glad to hear from you :-)
The pleasure has been all mine...
I am waiting to see you the next time.
Your guide from "Eyes of Rome"
Maria Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eyes of Rome also viewed

 

Been to Eyes of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing