We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vatican Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eyes of Rome

Eyes of Rome
Book In Advance
More Info
US$107.58*
and up
Private Early Bird Vatican and St Peter's Basilica Tour with Hotel pick-up
Ranked #13 of 756 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visit Rome in the company of its most passionate admirers, us! Your Roman adventure is sure to be unforgettable with Eyes of Rome, a creative club of independent tour guides! You set the pace of the tour with your private guide, personally selected for you from our small team of enthusiastic professionals. You'll be captivated as your passionate guide helps bring Rome to life with a tour that is customized to your interests and energy level. We offer city walking tours, but we also provide bike and segway tours, and car services. We will accompany you off the beaten paths, to discover the historical and cultural heritage, sharing also the most local aspects of the Eternal City, like the arts & crafts, the food & wine and the best music, theatre and sport events.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
1 review
“Vatican Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I used Eyes of Rome private tours for the Vatican museum & it was the best decision we could have made during our stay in Rome. First of all we received great service from the Eyes of Rome staff given the fact that we booked our tour in a very short notice, a day before to be specific. Lucky for us, there was a tour guide available! Silvia Monti, our private tour was amazing! she was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and professional. She provided a lot of interesting information on history of the Vatican as we explored it (Sistine chapel, St. Peter's Basilica, etc.) Silvia met us at our hotel, we took a taxi to Vatican city and she even made our drive to the Vatican fun and interesting as she gave us information of different areas of Rome as we drove by them. She was so nice that It felt like you were talking to a friend and not a person you just met. Regarding the tour, it is worth every euro! Every minute was interesting and fascinating and it definitely made our experience around the Vatican an amazing one. It would have been so different going on our own when you just walk around without knowing much about history about the place, or the art in it, having a tour highly will impact your experience in a positive way. Additionally, her English was perfect. We highly recommend Eyes of Rome tours!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoR_PrivateTours, Story Teller at Eyes of Rome, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank You dear family,
it is always a big satisfaction to read my guests have enjoyed our visit. I hope you will keep beautiful memories for a long time. Until you'll decide to come and visit again Rome, to share some more experiences together.
Grazie mille!
Arrivederci,
Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,324
    21
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Vatican Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We loved our 3 hour tour of the Vatican with Karin Libri. Karen met us at the hotel and we traveled to the Vatican. Prior to the tour we discussed what we were interested in and level of detail. Before entering the Sistine Chapel Karin gave a wonderful briefing on the Sistine Chapel and Saint Peter's Basilica which allowed us to focus on the key aspects of all the history. Karin really made the history come alive for us. At the end of the tour she was able to arrange a special blessing for my wife, daughter and I in Saint Peter's. A perfect way to end our day.Karin was very knowledgeble and personable. Definitely a must way to see the Vatican.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoR_PrivateTours, Story Teller at Eyes of Rome, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you!
I had great time with you. Discussing different metters was interesting. I was just sorry that the priests were so late...
I wish all the best to your lovely daughter and charming wife and to you as well!!!
Greetings from Rome
Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic walking tour of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We contacted Eyes of Rome hoping they could provide us with a guide at short notice and lucky for us they could. Francesco met us in our hotel lobby that afternoon and took us on a walking tour of ancient Rome. He showed us all the sights away from the crowds, told us many interesting facts about the history of Rome and as an added bonus, recommended some of his favourite non-touristy restaurants, which were fantastic. He was so much fun to be with that we organised a second tour with him two days later. On this occasion we went to the Catacombs, which were fascinating, then to see Michelangelo’s sculpture of Moses in the Church of St Peter in Chains and finally to the local farmers’ market as it was a Saturday. We tasted some delicious cheeses and cold meats and bought ourselves a picnic lunch of bread, cheese, meat, salad and fruit. Everything was so fresh, delicious and inexpensive. We highly recommend Francesco as a tour guide.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoR_PrivateTours, Story Teller at Eyes of Rome, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi guys
It was a great time!
Catacombs are great to cool down when the Roman sun gets too hot, and the Farmer's Market, what to say... It's just one I my favorite places in Roma!
Hope to see you soon.
Thanks
Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn Heights
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eyes of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was my second tour of the the Vatican;my husband's first. The private tour that Eyes of Rome provided was by far the best decision we made. We received such personalized information that our tour became completely tailored to us. Our guide was warm, interesting, knowledgeable and funny and personable that by the end of the tour, we felt as if we were family. It didn't hurt that all of the security staff within the museums seemed to know her well and like her best! Our guides professional brilliance combined with her natural italian grace was in inteself a treat, not to mention the enormous amount of information she provided us with on history. Her knowledge and perspective on art was particularly special. We were met at our hotel where she took the reigns and our entrance, movement throughout, and exit were smooth. Our only focus was on her infrormation and the incredible beauty of all the anitquities. Finally, her restaurant recommendation to us for that evening was the best local place we'd been to!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lourdesabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoR_PrivateTours, Story Teller at Eyes of Rome, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank You very much for this lovely review and for all your compliments. It is the best satisfaction for a guide to be one of the best memories of the people we meet in Rome.
Hope to see you soon to take care again and always better of you.
All the Eyes of Rome Story Tellers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eyes of Rome tours rock!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband, daughter and I set up 3 tours with eyes of Rome and these tours were worth every euro!! We loved our guides, Michela for 2 days and Katie for our 3rd. They were both knowledgeable and enthusiastic and interesting to listen to! Their love of history and the roman sites was both inspiring and admirable. I can't imagine visiting all of these historic sites without their story telling. Great teachers and guides! Awesome to be able to walk right past the long lines too and not waste precious hours just waiting to get in. Tour with this company. You will not be sorry!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EoR_PrivateTours, Story Tellers at Eyes of Rome, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are looking forward to rock and rolling you again! Thanks a lot for a great review. This is the best satisfaction and present you could give us!
See you soon!
Michela & Katie :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eyes of Rome also viewed

 

Been to Eyes of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing