We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book this B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centre of the World
Ranked #528 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great place to stay and I would surely recommend it; nice room, nice host, nice location near termini and 2 minute walk from Metro Victor Emmanuelle in a quiet neighborhood with some nice local coffee bars, all in all good value for money!

Room Tip: We were in room 8 next to the little kitchen. Hardly any street noise and at the end of the hall so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great location, clean room, good bed, bad breakfast (but that's quite common in Italy). Our room was pretty noisy in the morning due to the coffee machine located in the kitchen. Helpful guidance from Luigi, the host. I would definitely improve the breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The host, Luigi, was incredibly nice and was great at explaining all the touristic highlight Rome has to offer and how to avoid certain tourist traps. There's great WiFi in the room and the place also offers a basic but a very sufficient breakfast. The area is close to the Central station and is about a 10-15 minutes walking distance from the Colosseum. Overall, a great place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Well located, cleaning and breakfast may be improved. Touristic orientation and guidance by Luigi was excellent, no problem to communicate with him in English. The area around is not so nice but is worth due to its location close to subway station and Termini central station.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesusmendoza86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

English: I will book surely my next stay in Rome again at the Centre of the World. There are many reasons that lead me to think this: only one metro stop from Termini Station, an area really interesting and lively and typically "Rome style", and last but not least LUIGI! More than a manager of a B&B, He becomes a friend just entering, for the first time, the B&Bs… smiley, joyful and energic man and very attentive. Then surely the good cleanliness and hygiene of the room and a good silence to be able to rest at night. Quality / price very much in line with what is offered.

Italian:
Da ora in poi prenoterò il mio soggiorno a Roma sempre presso il Centre of the World. Molte le ragioni che mi inducono a pensare questo: una sola fermata di metro da Stazione Termini, una zona davvero interessante e viva e tipica di Roma, e last but not least LUIGI! Più che un gestore di un B&B diventa subito un amico che ti fa sentire a tuo agio: solare, sempre sorridente e pieno di attenzioni. Poi sicuramente la buona pulizia e igiene della stanza e un buon silenzio per poter riposare la notte. Qualità/prezzo assolutamente in linea con quanto offerto.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGDP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Rome we were there for 2 nights and thought the hostel was great. Lungi was very helpful. The room as basic but clean and all we needed for our time there. The wifi was fast and the bathroom was clean. The hostel is a 10 minute walk at most to the Colosseum and 2 minutes from the metro. For the price we couldn't have asked for more. We had to leave very early on our last day and luigi was kind enough to leave the kitchen open for us to make breakfast as we needed. Thanks Luigi!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 304Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I only put 3 stars out of 5 but it's really because I didn't like the area in which the B&B is situated, which has not a good atmosphere, it's guite dirty and smelly and there are no good restaurants around. Or they are very average. Plus there were construction workers in front of our windows in the morning, which woke us everyday but I know you can't blame the hotel for that.
Termini station is about 20mins walk and not the most beautiful walk of your life :D as the area is pretty much like every capital train station...
The coliseum is not far neither, 15 mins walk with the forum and palatin next to it. For everything else it's best to use the metro which is next to the hotel.
Luigi was very nice with us, and so helpful so we were quite satisfied with how we were received. We are independent so we did not mind the fact that he was there only the morning to clean the rooms and deliver breakfast. He always left around noon.
I have to say that as a French, for whom breakfast is very important, the one prepared by Luigi was a bit poor. You have 2 slices of dried bread / person, not more, and one sort of croissant in a package, which did not taste like haven. You have only one tiny industrial packed jam per person, and one coffee or tea. No cereals, no juice, no butter, no fresh bread, no cakes or anything of the sort. I think Americans or generally English speaking people who tend to eat savoury meals for breakfast must not really be thrilled :D
The AC did not work, it sort of warmed the room more than it cooled it, weird. We used the fan instead.
The mini fridge was not powerful neither but it worked and was great for soft drinks.
But then let's also face it, the price is very good, there are only five rooms so it's not an awful beehive, the breakfast is still existent though poor, the metro is near, you are not in the historic centrer but still in Rome and you don't have to share your bathroom.
I think the place would become a real bargain if there was a shared kitchen! So that everyone could make his own breakfast and other meals.
So again, I have to stress that the hotel is great for the price but it would not be honest to put 5 stars because it was not perfect. It's just that when we went out at night we just did not want to stay around, not because we did not feel safe but more because the area is not pretty and everything is closed after 9pm.
So all in all, it remains a bargain!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natacha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,115 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,547 of 3,782 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#221 of 1,271 in Rome
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,484 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#459 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#100 of 1,271 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre of the World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre of the World

Address: Via Ferruccio 44, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #528 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £35 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Centre of the World 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CENTRE OF THE WORLD is a B&B 5 rooms all with private bathroom,located in an ideal position for travelling around and discovering Rome. Every part of the city is easily reached from the nearby station at Vittorio Emanuele. It's just one stop away from the central station (Termini) where you can find all connections including all the main bus lines from Piazza dei Cinquecento (located in front of Termini station). From CENTRE OF THE WORLD most of the monuments can be reached on foot, like the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (which is just a few metres away), the Colosseum (15 minute walk) and the church San Pietro in Vincoli that houses the famous Moses by Michelangelo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centre of the World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing