We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Budget B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Room for Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Room for Holiday
Ranked #1,361 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Budget B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

For anyone on a budget, Vittortio's B & B is perfect. It is located in a quiet off street residential area with off street parking if you need it. He works very hard at making one as comfortable as possible in strange surroundings. He patiently answers all your questions and gives suggestions besides providing valuable services such as having ROMA passes to make one's time well budgeted so you don't have to find a place buy the pass and then stand in line to purchase it. We bought ours from him, and he offered to sell us Hop On Hop Off passes, but we didn't need them. He also gave us a map of the city.

It was great having Wi-Fi in our spacious air-conditioned sixth floor room. There were three of us, and each of us agreed that the beds were very comfortable. The room also had a dresser and a large table. The room led out to a flower enhanced terrace where we ate our meals. There was a clothesline outside our window, and I added an extra line of rope which I had with me. It was handy being able to wash out our clothes. I had taken a tube of laundry detergent which I bought in Germany on a previous trip.

As mentioned in previous posts, Vittorio provides hair dryers, shampoo, shower gel, deodorant, and toothpaste. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, glasses, pots and pans, a coffee maker, wonderful fresh pastries each morning, coffee, tea, juice flavored soft drinks, water bottles, and pastas. Plus, he brings each person a delicious cream filled pastry from a pastry shop for breakfast! There is also a restaurant and small grocery store in the neighborhood. What more could you ask for?

We stayed about seven days and he was always so friendly and smiling. One night he brought us Tiramisu and on the last evening, he told us very sincerely that he considered us his friends and asked if there was anything he could do for us? How many owners, would take such an interest in his clients? He even gave us his cell phone number if we should need his help.

Our daughter met us in Rome and had a wheeled duffle bag and a carry-on. She had planned to arrive by the metro, and he suggested that she take the fourth stop from Termini, Ri Di Roma because it had an elevator. She had to walk to the end of area where she got off to find the elevator which wasn't well marked, but it is worth the walk. I believe this stop may have been a bit closer to the B & B than San Giovanni which was three stops from Termini. Therefore, if you have luggage or mobility problems, it would be wise to use it. All of us used it, when we left with our luggage. As I best recall, you get off the elevator which opens in a lovely circular park. Turn right and walk straight out the park. Walk straight across the street and take the side of the street to your right. Walk one block, turn right and walk two full blocks and turn left. Then watch for an entrance into a complex on the right. Then within a few feet take a right. The six story building will be on your left. Go to the safely locked doors and press the button on your left for B & B A Room for Holiday. Vittorio will buzz you in and you can the elevator to your floor. He will meet you there.

If you want to catch Bus 87 which goes to the Colloseum, you can catch it at the San Giovanni metro stop. It is only about a ten minute ride. Also, we loved the San Giovanni Basicilia which was about a 4 - 5 minute walk from the San Giovanni metro stop.

We will definitely use his B & B again and recommend it to our friends for it would be like coming home!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    17
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
9
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

First of all, nice owner!!! he's so kind and always smiling,,making us feel very happy!
location is perfect too. only 5 mintues away from san giovanni station (only 3 stops from termini main station), takes only 10 minutes to colosseum by bus number 87, bus stop is also next to the metro station.
bed is very comfy cozy clean big
bathroom is very well equipped with shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer and everything
you have kitchen, can use coffee machine, cereal and pastry are provided for breakfast.
I went with 2 other friends, and it basically costed 25 euros per person per night
so price is very reasonable as well
if i go back to Rome, I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunh9110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fylde, Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Very friendly host made our 8 night stay feel like a home from home.
The B&B has shared bathrooms and a shared kitchen but with 2 bathrooms between 4 rooms this is no problem and the kitchen was very useful as eating out every night can be expensive.
The room was quite large and clean. The bathrooms were also a reasonable size with good showers. The kitchen was well stocked both with suitable cooking implements and a cupboard full of biscuits which Victor said we could help ourselves to. He also bought us some tiramisu one evening and even gave us a bottle of wine. Despite him not speaking brilliant English and us not speaking a word of Italian he did his best to make us feel welcome and was as friendly a host as I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. I would stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Binman180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Our stay at this little B&B was great - value for money, clean, secure and close to transport and sight-seeing spots. Vittorio the host was more than lovely and helpful. A little cafe around the corner, Caffee Aureli, is a great little spot for the best cappuccinos in Rome and run by a lovely young couple, Giovanni and Izanna. All around, we would recommend this place - the price and location are fantastic.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nataly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Ok so there is no Air-con and rome was a sweltering 37 degrees during our trip in July but the host and price more than makes up for this! Close to a Metro station and a 20 minute walk from the colleseum. The owner Victor is a truly lovely man and the accommodation is clean and in a quiet area of the city. Fantastic restaurants 2 minutes away and plenty of shops close by. Perfect.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at this B&B for for 5 nights with two friends.
We shared a triple room in the sixth floor of the building.

As soon as we arrived, the owner Vittorio showed up and told us everything we needed to know about our room and the apartment in general. He also provided us with an additional UK-EU adaptor for electronics as we only had one between the three of us.


The room was spacious and it was perfect to stay in when you return from visiting the sights. It was clean and comfortable.


There are two bathrooms available which provide you with liquid soap, shampoo and other things you need.

Free WiFi was also provided.

Every guest was able to use the kitchen, which had all the dairy products, coffee, teabags, bread, water (bottles) etc. included and ready to use.
The fridge and cupboards were always full with snacks and drinks.
We were also able to make our own food there.


The place is situated a few minutes away from San Giovanni Metro station, from which you can easily reach Termini Station and other sights such as the Spanish Steps, Vatican City and Museum etc.

The colosseum is less than a 30 minute walk away.

There is a supermarket called Tigre about 5 minutes and also a McDonald's around 10 minutes away if you were outpriced by the expensive restaurants.


The area looks pretty safe as it is quiet (even during daytime) and whenever you walk through the roads, you only seem to pass by elderly citizens.

It was also quiet during night, although you could hear the elevator (btw that elevator was tiny, something different to what you're normally used to) operating a few times during the night.
The beds were really comfortable.



Few words on Vittorio:

He is a very friendly man who helped us whenever he could, providing us with a map or informing us about the public transport.
So if you any questions about Rome, simply ask Vittorio.

It was simple to communicate with him despite the language barrier.

He also offered us free wine/beer and a Tiramisu. The Tiramisu was the best one I have ever had, it tasted amazing.

He bought fresh pastries and croissants for every guest in the morning and made sure that the cupboards are filled.




Overall it was a great experience as it felt like I was at home and I would definitely consider this B&B if I ever was to return to Rome in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CommanderCool91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

This was a great place with decent prices. We were three adults, one couple and one single male. We had a triple room and it was just perfect. There are two bathrooms on the floor that we stayed on, so it was easy enough to share with other guests. The owner Victor - is very friendly and helpful. He gave us maps and also recommended some places nearby in the neighborhood. One of the best places he recommended was Pompii- It has the best Tiramisu I have ever had.
Victor also provided fresh croissants every morning for breakfast, there was a coffee machine and also some cereal and free drinking mineral water. Which was a great help, because in Europe, you have to buy water everywhere and it all adds up in the end.

The BB is easily accessible to all the historical sites by Bus and Underground. It is the subway stop San Giovanni or Red di Roma.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms on the 6th Floor better than the ones on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niyatitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
A Home For Holiday
#1,220 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
San Lorenzo
B&B Stay at Rome
B&B Stay at Rome
#1,734 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Settembre95
#2,189 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Affittacamere Scriva
#864 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Testaccio
A Casa A Testaccio B&B
A Casa A Testaccio B&B
#1,366 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Esquilino
Independence Square
Independence Square
#1,385 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Room for Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room for Holiday

Property: A Room for Holiday
Address: Via Suessola 1, 00183 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,361 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A Room for Holiday 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast "A home for holiday" and "A room for holiday" are the ideal in Rome for a happy holiday. They are situated near the historical centre, rich of antiquities and beauties and site of cultural events. Nearly to a few minutes' walk will take you to the Saint Mary Major and Saint Clement Basilicas; with some bus stops you will arrive to Venice Square and Vittoriano, Navona Square, Pantheon; with some underground stops up to Trevi Fountain and Spagna Steps. The Bed and Breakfast "A Room for Holiday" and "A Home for Holiday" are, respectively, on the third and on the sixth floor of the same, elegant building in a calm private street, near stops of buses and undergrounds, connecting with the whole city (Auditorium, Stadiums, Theatres). The flats are made of a hall-way with a sitting-room, three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living kitchen and a square terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your A Room for Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing