We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service”
Review of Santa Maria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Maria Inn
Ranked #2,061 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 March 2012

A short walk from Termini Station; the guest house is a fantastic base in the heart of Rome.
The room was clean and had everthing we needed to make our short stay very pleasant.
The Service we recieved from Teresa was second to none. It was extremely comforting to know we were being "looked after" by Teresa.
If you're booking book room 302, it has 3 windows and is the largest room (apparantly).

I wil most definately be going back to stay here when i visit Rome again.

Room Tip: room 302 is the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazbol78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

very nice service. simple room with small table, comfortable bed, big wardrobe and clean bathroom. good equipment (tv, hair dryer, electric kettle, fridge, glasses, towels etc.) very delicious breakfast in illy bar in the corner of the next street. not so expensive. only negative thing was the noise from the street.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karolina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

B&B is few minutes away from metro and within walking distance from Termini station. Room is basic, but comfortable enough. Staff is great, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is is served in cafe across the street, croissant and cappuccino.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kratkonoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Just an apartment, partitioned into 4 or 5 rooms. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Noise insulation is very poor, so not for those sensitive to noise when sleeping. Rooms also face a fairly busy road. Reception is not manned 24hours but staff are always cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Thanks to our wonderful host Byron, we enjoyed Rome and we will always remember your smile, warm welcome, excellent service and personal touch with your tour planning tips. Best location, conveniently located in city centre, few minutes walk to Termini central train station. Walked to all Rome's landmarks from the hotel. Clean spacious room, shower, and linen. New furnitures, Comfortable double bed, good air-conditioner, minibar and free Wi-Fi. Three big windows offering great sun light and terrific authentic view of Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore., via Rattazzi and via Carlo Alberto. The hotel is conveniently located in city centre, only 3-5 minutes walk to Termini station and very close to main Rome's sightseeings - Colosseo, Trevi Fountains, Republica etc. I would definitely recommend it. If I happen to be in Rome again, I'll prefer to stay in Santamaria Inn.

Room Tip: Corner room sunny and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeanSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is one of these hotels that are good enough now that was recently open. It will become crappy and worn within a year or so.
Situated in Roma's chinatown, this old building is a mix of apartment and hotel. The doorway is that of an old building, a bit difficult to find the first time you get there. You will stay in a block with Roman residents. Try to arrive with daylight if coming from Termini, as you will have to walk through a rough neighbourhood. However, it is well placed for the rest of your saty in Rome, with direct views to Santa Maria Maggiore. The area is full of restaurants and bars.
Rooms are big and clean, and toilets too. A bit noisy as the windows face a paved road, which adds to the noisy city Rome is by itself. Make sure you arrive tired back to your room, otherwise it will take a while for you to get asleep.
Recepcionist is kind and very helpful, only available until 7pm.
It includes breakfast, served in a nearby cafeteria, which consist in a capuccino coffee with croissant. All of them taste the same (of rosewater) and by the sixth morning we felt tired of having the same breakfast. However, the views from the cafeteria are stunning.
Still a bit pricey for what they offer, but good enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed in Santamaria Inn on my last day in Rome before going back to Russia. The room (double/twin) was very nice - spacious, clean, with comfortable double bed, good air-conditioner, minibar and free Wi-Fi. There're 3 windows offering terrific view of basilica S.Maria Maggiore, via Rattazzi and via Carlo Alberto. The hotel is conveniently located in city centre, only 3-5 minutes walk to Termini station and very close to main Rome's sightseeings - Colosseo, Fontana di Trevi, etc. Many thanks to hotel personnel. Unfortunately, I was robbed when walking around the city, all my cash & credit cards were stolen - only with the hotel's kind help I was able to get to the airport next morning. To sum up, I liked the hotel very much, and would definitely recommend it to everyone. If I happen to be in Rome again, I'll prefer staying in Santamaria Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR_ILYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,269 in Rome
2,968 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#103 of 1,269 in Rome
1,491 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Di Rienzo
Hotel Di Rienzo
#614 of 3,722 in Rome
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#354 of 1,269 in Rome
430 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#451 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn

Address: Via Rattazzi 2c, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,061 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £57 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nice guesthouse in the center of Rome near Termini station but not so close to be noisy or dangerous.comfortable almost like a hotel, but cheaper.fully equipoeed and recently restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing