We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so worth it; tips for cutting down the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #70 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“so worth it; tips for cutting down the cost”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Great, great place to stay. True 5 star (with that touch of professional "aloof" that Americans find so "unfriendly"). It was really wonderful to be away from Rome's bustle and noise.

The Cavalieri is pricey, though, and no "points" here; so, every euro counted. But. The rooms are HUGE by European standards and they don't charge for a roll away. It was me and my two 17 year old boys. We were all truly comfortable (and, really, any good 3-4 star triple in the heart of the city is not that far off in price from a Cavalieri room with a free roll away - check it out).

Pay for the Rome view. Spectacular. Don't pay for the "Imperial" stuff and don't get the bed and breakfast room rate. There's a slew of Americans eating away in that category and you can't eat enough to make it worth it (even by 17 year old boy standards). Instead, simply, take a right at the hotel entrance and take the very short, easy (flat) walk to the Piazzale Medaglie d'Oro where there are two cafes, a wonderful fruit seller, everything you need (including wine merchant to take a bottle or two back to enjoy at the hotel). The cafes have lovely sandwiches, too, that you can pick up for a song and eat for picnic lunch in Rome (at the pool) or where ever. The neighborhood is fantastic; very expensive on the top of that hill the Cavalieri sits on. The valet will even give you a huge umbrella if you need it for the walk. That little piazza is a wonderful, friendly treasure at the Cavalieri's doorstep.

Also - no taxi should be more than 10-12 euro anywhere you need/want to go in Rome (keep an eye on the opening price on the meter - should be 2.80 euro on weekdays and Sat - a bit more on Sunday).

The pool is fantastic. And the hotel does NOT charge for swimming OR for the lounge chairs; It's the white cushions that go on the lounge chairs that are 18 euros a pop. Instead, you can use the big white towels they hand out , and which are free (btw get to the pool early on Fri and Sat if you want a good spot, and make it your own for the day by draping your stuff around - then you can leave and come back to "your spot").

Splurges for family:
A 30 minute massage in the Cavalieri Spa - over the top special and reasonable.
The Florentine steak at Il Pomodorino off the Via Veneto (can easily feed two) - the Cavalieri's concierge can set that reservation up for you.
The Rome Segway Tour; so much fun, and a great overview of the city.

Enjoy the Cavalieri without hesitation, and buon viaggio!

Room Tip: call the Waldorf Astoria 800 number and work with the agent for a good rate (triple A; govt; summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lgrant_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,839
    1,035
    400
    207
    114
See reviews for
1,131
2,676
150
798
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel is the nicest, most elegant..yet very welcoming...place wehaveever stayed. The rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable. We hated to leave the room even though we wanted to see Rome! The shuttle is very convenient, and the concierges all gave us very helpful information. We loved it here!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babschambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My wife and booked this hotel (using points) believing it would be the perfect end to our Silversea cruise vacation. We taxied to the hotel and upon our arrival at 1330, were totally ignored by the bellmen. Even our taxi driver was astonished by the lack of response from the hotel. After he attempted to get the attention of a bellman, he turned to us with a puzzled look on his face and shrugged. My wife and I then brought our own luggage into the lobby. The desk clerk was apologetic and did arrange to have the concierge store it as the room was not yet ready.

We decided to have some lunch while we waited for the room to be ready. We used the hotel's restaurant. The woman who seated us was quite pleasant, but it ended there. Having been seated for less than two minutes, our waiter asked if we were ready to order. Having barely looked at the menu, I ordered a bottle of rose. It arrived promptly. The wine steward then proceeded to pour the wine and sloshed it on the table, my wife's menu and my menu, then jammed it back into the ice bucket and fled.

After ordering food, we were again ignored until the food came and then ignored after its arrival. The lunch was prepared very well but the service was horrible. From our lunch table I attempted to book another hotel, however one was impossible to find at the last minute.

We are experienced travelers and have previously lived overseas (Japan and my wife in Sardinia). I have never experienced the ennui and lack of common courtesy in any hotel, let alone a Waldorf Astoria. In fact, the best service we received was when leaving. Our luggage was whisked to the taxi without delay. We will never, ever patronize this hotel again. We are also leaving the appropriate feedback with the Hilton Honors program.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DWY224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel is amazing. We went for three days, two nights, for my 40th Birthday and the hotel and staff made the experience perfect. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a corner suite with panaramic views of the city - thank you so much! The room was well worth the extra wait (for it to be cleaned).

We had seen reviews on here and the one element that caused us some small concern was the location: well, forget about those concerns, the location is perfect, far enough away from the buzz of the city to give a really relaxing experience, but close enough to be a short taxi ride (cira 10 minutes and EUR 12) or bus ride (hotel shuttle, free and takes 20 minutes) to all the main sights.

The hotel itself is very luxurious and the staff are so very helpful. The rooms are great (recommend a Rome view) and the commmon areas with all the artwork are splendid. We booked Imperial, and we would urge you to do the same: getting access to the Imperial lounge and the Spa is a benefit not to be sniffed at. If you are only planning on sleeping at the hotel and not spending any other meaningful time there then the 'normal' rooms would, I am sure, be more than fine; but if you plan on relaxing at the hotel at all then please do upgrade to Imperial, otherwise you will find yourself spending a lot more money (on snacks/food and drinks, spa, pool etc) and possibly end up with a false economy.

The Spa is incredible and worth a visit or two, and the swimming pool is lovely.

Our room was a highlight, with its panoramic views and incredible furniture and art, but the main highlight must be La Pergola, the rooftop restaurant. We went for dinner there on my Birthday and had the nine-course tasting menu (with recommended wines), and it blew our minds. This is a must, the best restaurant I have been to. Quite pricey, but still good value! Service was great, and a special thanks to the staff for bringing out a small Birthday cake (after the multiple desert courses we had already tackled it was, perhaps, a step too far!) for me.

If you want to see Rome in style then you should stay here. Perfect.

Room Tip: Book Imperial level rooms, with a Rome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Our expectations were met at this hotel. Our room was clean, cozy, modern and spacious. Staff were helpful. We stayed in a suite without the view of Rome but we had the upgrade allowing access to the hospitality room which had free snacks and drinks all day and a balcony with an incredible view of the city. Without the upgrade, the Internet, pool, breakfast, and hospitality room would not have been included would have been expensive extras. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices. Pool area was fantastic with a separate adult pool and 2 heated children's pools. The shuttle to Rome was easy and convenient. Did not use the gym or spa but looked very good.

Room Tip: Ask for city view - difficult if you don't have Hiltons Honors membership
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tansri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Best Location.
Escape noise and crowd of Rome.
Beautiful property and services.
Pool is great also.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdavis0041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and it was a pleasure reading thet you have enjoyed our peaceful location and services.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
Guest Relations Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter, nh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We were a family of 5 (3 adults, 2 teens) staying in Rome for 3 days at the beginning of a 2 week stay in Italy. We used Hilton points for part of our stay (Gold Member). We had issues when we checked it--entirely my fault, and did not have a second room. The hotel staff and manager (Khaled) worked with us to rectify and set us up with adjoining rooms overlooking the city of Rome (our upgrade with Hilton Honors). they were incredibly patient, accomodating and helpful with all of the gyrations of making my points work for us and accomodating our family. This was the absolutely most perfect way to start our Italian experience. The rooms were beautiful, immaculate. The breakfast buffet was the largest and most plentiful of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy. Get there by 10 --one morning we were late, but the staff was very flexible and accomodating. The hospitality room for HHonors members (Gold and Diamond) came in very handy when you wanted a snack, a glass of wine or prosecco, or a cappucino. Definitely helpful since everything is quite pricey, even for a Waldorf Astoria. I would definitely return--this was a great way to experience Rome, but stay outside of the hustle and bustle of downtown. The shuttle was great also, we did use it a number of times--drops you down by Via Veneto-easy walking to Trevi Fountain, shops, restaurants. I did want to mention the hotel concierge recommended a local Sicilian restaurant within walking distance (Vespri?) one night when we didn't feel like jumping in a cab again. That was one of the best meals in the 2 weeks we were in Italy, and probably the least expensive--definitely take a walk. Thanks to all of the staff at the Cavalieri.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exeternhgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submt a review regarding your stay and we are so glad to read that you have enjoyed our services and facilities. It is always a pleasure to assist our guests to make their stay a memorable one.

Looking forward to welcoming your back to your 'home away from home' soon.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
Guest Relations Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,551 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#86 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing