We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit and we'll be back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #68 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is the third time in five years we have stayed at the Cavalieri and hopefully, we will be back again soon. It is one of our favorite hotels and that is because of the service, the amenities,the beautiful rooms, the most comfortable beds, the art work throughout the hotel and the breakfast. I do have to say that the breakfast is not quite as sumptuous as it was in past years but it is still quite nice and eating it outside by the pool is a treat. This year is the first time we experienced the special room for gold and diamond members where there are snacks out for a good part of the day. We really enjoyed that perk. We did use points to stay here and it requires many but we always feel that it is worth it. We usually find that the shuttle does not work with our schedule and so we just expect to pay for cabs. Although it is a little bit of an inconvenience, we like the fact that at the end of a day of sight seeing, we get out of the city and can relax by the pool at the Cavalieri.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHCTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,857 - 3,863 of 6,078 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

We are hhonors gold level members, even though we made reservations 6 months in advance, we weren't given an upgrade,which by the way we would have had to pay for. We originally wanted to stay all of 6 nights in Rome here, but all nights weren't available. Turned out to be lucky for us. The hotel is too far from everything, not even local restaurants within walking distance, we asked. The prices at the restaurants on property are really high. The shuttle is a joke. Only 2 stops, not even really close to any sights. Luckily, we stayed in central Rome for our first 3 nights and saw a lot of what we wanted to see.
On the positive side the property is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. Great place to stay if you just want to stay on property and relax. For me, too many things to see and do. I 'll plan a trip to the beach for r & r.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Cavalieri on our first leg of our honeymoon and life many of the other reviews I've read the hotel is a 10-15 euro ride to the center of Rome. You really can't walk into the city if you want because the hotel is on the hill. However I found it nice because it was relaxing to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. They have a shuttle that will take you into the city and runs hourly for those inclined to take, it runs until 8pm. After that its a taxi to get in and out.

The room we had was very nice, the light blocking shades were key to our late afternoon naps and the soundproof doors were a nice touch as well. The hotel from the outside looks a little bit dated, once you get inside though it is very nice. Expensive as anything, so be weary when getting drinks, mixed drinks were 15 euro and food and a hamburger was 29 euro. However the staff and ambience of the hotel created a great atmosphere. Being silver hilton members we received waters and access to the spa, which is great in itself.

If we hadn't being staying there on points I don't know if we would have chosen it though because the most basic room will cost you 300+ euro a night. For a hotel out of the city and nothing really around it, I can understand why some people knock it. However if you can afford it and you want a hotel that is a bit more quiet just on the edge of the city then this is your hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beans987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We recently stayed at the Rome Cavalieri for two nights prior to a cruise. While we had been to Rome on three previous cruises, each time we had been limited to 8 hours as part of private shore excursions. This time we wanted to visit some of the Roman sites at a more leisurely pace.

As has been mentioned in other reviews, the primary disadvantage of the Rome Cavalieri is it's location outside of the city. We used the shuttle into town twice and taxis on four other occasions. The shuttle was larger than I expected and operated on schedule. The drop off location was okay, but somewhere closer to the Trevi Fountain would have been better. We had no problem finding taxis on the occasions we used them, with one way prices ranging from 7 Euros to/from the Vatican (about a 10 minute ride) and 14 Euros from downtown (about a 20 minute ride). As a result, we found the location outside the city to be mostly a non-issue for our needs.

While our room was located on the side of the building facing away from the Roman skyline, It was one of the more luxurious hotel rooms we've ever experienced. The room was large with a very comfortable bed, had a marble surfaced bathroom complete with towel warming rack and higher quality bath products, a 32 inch flat screen TV, plenty of storage space, and a nice balcony overlooking a park-like setting. The air conditioning was excellent, which was important in late June. Two interesting features of the room were a mirrored inner door between the bathroom and the closets that could be used to block sounds from the hallway (we heard none, with and without the door being closed) and an electric external metal roll down shutter that blocked out light and sounds from the outside.

As Hilton Honors gold members, we took advantage of the free drinks and snacks in the Colosseo lounge on several occasions. The staff in the lounge did an excellent job of keeping the drinks and snacks in stock and were constantly attending to the area. Note that the small sandwich bites are little more than a snack, not a substitute for a meal. BTW, I had the opportunity to visit the Imperial Lounge and, while it's nicer than the Colosseo lounge, I wouldn't pay for an Imperial Room to get access to it.

The breakfast buffet was wonderful, with tables inside and outside along the pool. Eating breakfast poolside was one of the highlights of our stay at the hotel.

Speaking of the pool, there is no charge to use either the indoor or outdoor pools. However, sunbeds around the outdoor pool area are available for 18 euros. We found some chairs in the indoor pool area and swam in the outdoor pool. Taking a dip during the hot afternoon, between trips into town, was wonderful. Note that the outdoor pool is too deep to stand (I'm over 6 ft tall) except for very near the wall on one end. Not a problem, but different from most pools.

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly, with all staff members smiling and greeting us wherever we were on the property.

We stayed at the hotel using Hilton Honors points. However, we definitely would have stayed there if we had to pay for it as well. Overall, this is a magnificent property. We hope to return some day.

P.S. As with all Rome hotels, remember to have your 3 Euros per person per day available to pay when you checkout.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We had a pre and post cruise stay at the Hilton Cavalieri. We chose to pay an upgrade supplement to the Imperial Floor and when you consider what you get for the upgrade it is well worth it especially if you spend any considerable time at the hotel. The Imperial Lounge offered great Continental Breakfast, a nice light lunch and great after dinner atmosphere. We enjoyed coming in every evening and spending some time in the lounge before we called it a day.

The hotel offers a shuttle to/from city center and I really wish it would run at least one more hour in the evenings. The shuttle starts at 8:30am to Piazza Barberini and leaves every hour after until 12:30 (except Bank Holidays and Sundays). In the afternoon it runs from 3:30pm to 7:30pm. The return back to the hotel from Piazza Barberini starts at 9am every hour until 1pm and then again from 4pm to 8pm. Plan on taking a cab at least once a day especially if you want to enjoy dinner in the city. The cab fare is not too bad so estimate about 15Euros each way.

The hotel does show some wear and tear but overall the service and atmosphere is what you would expect from the Waldorf Astoria. If you can overlook the wear and tear then you will enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We just returned from a 12 day stay in Italy and spent 2 nights at the Cavalieri prior to departing on a cruise of Southern Italy. Full Diclosure: We used Hilton Points as it seems had most of the Americans staying at the property. That Said, they were points very well spent!

When we arrived we were informed we had been upgraded to an Imperial City View room. The room was large, particularly by European Standards, and the balcony overlooked St. Peter's Basilica. The room was very nicely appointed, if you are a fan of marble, this is your place. Nice inlaid marble floors in the bathroom and plenty of room for 2 to get ready for a day in Rome at the same time.

The room came with access to the pool, gym and spa so we did not experience the nickel and dime (multiplied by Euros) others have talked about. But I would say that the level of service at the pool by the attendants must be factored into any discussion of price. The pool stewards were very attentive, brought thick pads for the deck chairs and would make sure umbrellas were moved to give you shade from the July Rome sun. The spa attendant was equally quick to make sure you had a robe and towels for use in the sauna and jacuzzi areas.

The service in the Imperial club was good. They had a nice selection of waters, juices, wine, liquor, beer or would make you an espresso drink. Breakfast was very nice including everything from eggs to the more standard meats, cheeses and fruit. In the evening light appetizers are put out, we had carpaccio and octopus salad, both tasty.

My wife and I actually enjoyed the location and access to the city, but do not expect to walk anywhere from this hotel. The shuttle bus runs on the hour from the hotel and returns from Piazza Barberini on the 1/2 hour. I believe the last shuttle back is at 8:30 PM. From the drop off point Trevi Fountain is about a 6 minute walk, the Pantheon another 5 minutes and Piazza Navonna another 5 minutes. We had the best time just wandering the streets between the Pantheon and Navonna. After 6 PM or so, after all the tour buses have left town, the city feels more intimate even in July. There is also a Metro station at Barberini and for a Euro you can go toward the Vatican in one direction or San Giovanni in the other. If you find yourself with 10 minutes before the shuttle arrives about 50M up Via Veneto from the pick up spot is a small church with the stacked bones of monks in the crypt. Cool and creepy.

We found the shuttle service worked well for us and returned us nightly to the quiet of the Cavalieri. If going to the Vatican it is easier to grab a cab from the hotel and costs 7 euro.

Our only real complaint was the wireless internet. While it was complimentary for us, there was about a 10 sq meter area in the room where it worked well. From the club or the balcony reception was flaky. If I had paid 20E for it, I would not be happy.

This hotel is a nice sanctuary from the noise and traffic just down the hillside. In my opinion the service and quality is fitting with the Waldorf Astoria brand and we would look to stay again at the Cavalieri the next time we are in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEDRoswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We chose this hotel for our two day stay in Rome based on the high ratings and how nice it looked on the website. While the grounds are very pretty and the rooms are good it felt like staying at a convention center! The food was absolutely horrible and was incredibly expensive (27 Euros for a mayo caesar salad). I'm not sure if my husband I were tainted coming from the Il San Pietro in Positano (which would highly recommend) but would 100% recommend staying in the center unless you are looking to lay at the pool all day (which you are charged 18 Euros/chair). Even though they offer a shuttle we found it useless and had to take cabs in the day for our sightseeing and then again at night for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank candaceblattner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,115 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#87 of 1,271 in Rome
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £182 - £558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing