We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Time at the Cavalieri - definitely not the last time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #72 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“1st Time at the Cavalieri - definitely not the last time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is just a wonderful place combining the comfort of a modern 5 star hotel with the "grandezza" and plush of a traditional Italian hotel. Yes, the architecture of the non-Rome facing side is a bit dull and the view facing the huge antenna is not the most romantic you've ever seen - but, frankly - what hotel can offer spectacular views from each side of the property? And there's always the option to book a city facing room for extra cash. We stayed in a room of the non-Rome facing side on the 6th floor and were absolutely happy with it given the fact that all public areas, the Pergola restaurant and adjacent bar at the 9th floor, the pool and the lush gardens all face Rome and the ancient centre.
We stayed for three nights in early September and the pool proved to be a major advantage. We felt really gifted having the opportunity to relax and re-energize at the pool side in the baking heat of the afternoons after mornings of sightseeing and city discovery. During the hot months we would always prefer the Cavalieri to a centrally located hotel w/o a pool. Plus, it deserves to be mentioned the pool, again, combines the luxurious feel of slightly 60ies inspired "Dolce Vita" with a proper size allowing a decent swim. What remains to be said? Staff is lovely, helpful and quick. The shuttle offers good access to the "Centro Storico" albeit we never used it for getting back to the hotel since it has only one pick up point. The bar at the 9th floor comes with the rare fact of hotel bartenders knowing their trade (the emphasis of this may be due to the fact of having been utterly disappointed of many bartenders in top notch hotels including Claridges in London, the Peninsula and the Felix bar in Hongkong and the Address in Dubai). On the downside? During weekends the pool seems to be very popular with non-hotel guests leading to the fact that it can get a bit crowded and apparently leaving some late-comer hotel guests w/o a sun bed.

Room Tip: If you go for a "Rome View" room make sure you get one in the 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldresident8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city. We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
Guest Relations Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,787
    1,027
    399
    206
    112
See reviews for
1,122
2,646
147
783
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Everything about this hotel will please you! The size and quality of the rooms, the big breakfast, the nice attitude of its staff...
The ONLY problem I can see is its a little far from the main city attractions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrrivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay and we are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
Guest Relations Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Perfect place to offer workshops, too. We visited the Cavalieri several times now, it's really a property to come back to. Even our dog seems to like this hotel very much. Good staff in general, though the pool-bar seemed somewhat "understaffed" this year. Perfect view of Rome from the Imperial Club lounge.

Room Tip: Rooms with Rome view: balconies are very hot in August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your continuing preference in choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city. We are so glad to read that our Imperial floors still meet your expectations and hope you consider them to be your ‘home away from home'!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
Guest Relations Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I listened that some people say the hotel is away from the city, but actually it´s really near some of the best attractions in town and you can reach the others easily by cab.
The staff was friendly and helpful. I remember the internet that checked me in and every time he saw me at the lobby he came to greet me and check if I was fine.
If you have access to the executive lounge, you will experiment a great service with a bunch of choices and the same friendly staff.
I recommend the hotel and I´ll be back soon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElcioBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay and we are so glad to read that it was a memorable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
Guest Relations Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Beautiful "museum like" hotel with historical significance. Objects of art are located throughout the hotel. Gorgeous gardens surround the hotel. Residential location on the hill overlooking the Vatican. Relaxing spa and pool areas. Excellent food and beverage. Complimentary shuttle service to the Spanish Steps. Friendly, helpful five-star service personnel.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the Vatican. They are larger and have wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBrierleyPeterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel was more like a museum or a palace. Luxurious inside and beautiful grounds outside. Best Executive Lounge of any Hilton ive been to - tables on balconies overlooking rome.
Only problem with this property is that it is a far walk from the center of Rome. One day we couldnt get a cab back (often a problem in Rome) and we had a LONG walk up the hill back to the hotel. Anyone older would have a very tough time walking back. There is a shuttle that takes you back and forth but it ends at certain time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REALE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This place was over the top great! As Hilton Diamond members we were able to access the spa and spent many hours lounging there. The diamond members guest suite was fully stocked with drinks and food that changed multiple times during the day and was always fresh.

Would absolutely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jshankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,464 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#80 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing