We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #69 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“noisy luxury”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Beautiful and clean american style hotel with nice pools, garden and view to Rome. Very good breakfast. Good and fast service, but compared to other Italian hotels impersonal, and not expecially frendly. Excellent gym, nice spa.

Biggest disappointment were noisy nights. We even changed room once but againg get young noisy Americans to next hotel room. We could hear every word and tv-sound throught the door between the rooms. Because the time difference, Americans stayed up until small hours. We have been travelling a lot, stayed in different hotel and this was really disappointment in such quality hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are sorry to hear about the noises from the room next-door, we always interveine when guests contact us and try resolving the situation in the least time possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,843
    1,036
    400
    207
    114
See reviews for
1,135
2,677
150
798
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here during the last days of our Italian honeymoon. As other reviewers have noted, it's a bit out of the way, so we decided to make this the last stop on our journey and just relax on the hotel grounds. This turned out to be a FANTASTIC idea!

When we arrived, there were tons of police cars and secret service in the parking area because apparently Vice President Biden was staying at the hotel as well. Despite all the extra hoopla, staff could not have been more friendly or efficient during our check in. They noted it was our honeymoon, and immediately upgraded us to a beautiful suite. When we arrived at our room, there was prosecco, a selection of fruit, and a handwritten card to greet us. The room itself was absolutely amazing. Beautiful, elegant touches were everywhere, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The thing that really blew me away however was the view. We had a gorgeous terrace outside both the living room and the bedroom, with the most amazing view of Rome. I cannot express how worth it it is to spring for a room with a good view. I spent most of my stay lounging on the terrace and just soaking in the beauty of it all.

We dined at La Pergola one night, the Michelin three star restaurant on the top floor of the restaurant. I'm going to write a separate review for La Pergola, but it was by far the best evening of our trip, and one of the top three meals of my life. Not only was the food outstanding, the service could not have been more perfect. You have to book months in advance to get a reservation, but it is absolutely worth the effort.

The Rome Cavalieri was my favourite hotel we stayed at during our honeymoon, and I will definitely stay here again whenever I return to Italy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to celebrate your honeymoon in the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that our services & facilities exceeded your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslin, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We spent four nights at this beautiful hotel, we had an Imperial room with balcony and city view, it was superb. The room was spotless and very comfortable, the bed was probably made by Carlsberg as it was the best one I have ever slept in. The Imperial Club offered canapes and drinks from 11am after breakfast service was completed. The food was excellent, we visited the second restaurant as we didn't get to the 3 michelin star restaurant, only because we couldn't get a reservation, a lesson learned there..! The bar staff were great and very entertaining, talking of which there was live music in the bar every night we were there, excellent.
There is a complimentary shuttle from the hotel to the city centre with a return service which was very good, be aware though, it gets busy so arrive early to secure a place.
We had a wonderful time at the Rome Cavalieri and would recommend it to anyone who wants to relax and pamper themselves, just a little...

Room Tip: Ask for a Rome view, if you can stretch to it, go for the Imperial Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are sorry that you didn't get a chance to dine at 'La Pergola', but it is always an excuse to return to Rome and visit us. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay on our Imperial floors and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We were on a 3 week trip hitting the major spots in Europe and stayed at all Hilton or Hilton Brand hotels and this was supposed to be the "best" hotel we were staying at. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to the hype. Relatively speaking, it was the worst of the hotels we stayed at. Don't get me wrong, room patio view was great and common areas looked great too. You will get the standard amenities, A/C, and clean rooms, but that's not what you pay extra for. The food was beyond over priced (8 euro for an espresso, 75 euro lunch buffet per person) and average, the service was average with staff who were nice 50% of the time, the executive lounge was sub par and only open in the evening, it's not near simple conveniences like cafes or stores, and the rooms were average. Initially, I didn't mind that it wasn't centrally located because they had a shuttle taking guests downtown until I found out that you may not have a seat if you didn't show up at least 10 minutes before departure and it only ran until 8. If your going to Rome on a vacation, I suggest staying in a more central location to get the best experience possible. Many good restaurants don't even open until 8PM for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavisKGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We would like to put to your attention that the 'Executive lounge' is not available in Waldorf Astoria hotels, but we have prepared the Colosseo Lounge specifically for our HHonors Gold & Diamond members as they are our loyal and privileged guests to enjoy drinks before & after dinner.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This was my second experience staying at the Rome Cavalieri. While the view is incredible and the hotel is over the top, it is not worth the price or distance from the city. The hotel is getting a little dated in the common areas and needs to be "freshened up". From what I can tell, there have been no updates made since I stayed there 10 years ago. One great thing- the breakfast at the hotel is incredible. It was included in our rate and was a great start to the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthL8690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We would like to inform you that the hotel undergoes constant refurbishment, maintaing the classic style to stay in tone with our priceless works of art.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

24 h internet: 27€, 1 plate of soup: 20 €, Pringles small 9 €, small jar of peanuts 10 € ... the list could be continued. In the business center I was told the minute costs -.35 €, but how come I am charged with 6.50 € for 5 minutes? Nothing, absolutely nothing justifies such pricing. The hotel is decent, but way out, one shuttle/hour provided. For a hotel of this class I expect free internet and normal prices in the mini-bar at the least. The concierges are rather short and their advice is not fully reliable. The room is clean and housekeeping diligent.

Room Tip: City-view is - again - a lot more expensive, but possibly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay. As all Hilton Family hotels, internet WiFi is supplied by Swisscom that has established various packages for all guests' needs, so we encourage our visitors to join the Hilton Honors fidelity program that when reaching a certain level, provides complimentary Wifi vouchers.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel Cavaleri was a fantastic experience for my wife and I. The service and hotel staff were great....the rooms and views are beautiful. We would go back to Rome just stay at the Cavaleri.

Room Tip: Stay in a deluxe suite....that will give you access to the imperial club on the 7th floor. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,557 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#85 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing