We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice facilities but additional charges for everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #69 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice facilities but additional charges for everything!”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

A nicely appointed hotel, with comfortable rooms, but absolutely everything is charged as an extra and even things that you would expect to pay for are astronomical. Examples, minibar - small bottle of water €8, small fruit juice €10.
The gym - included free for guests in every hotel I have ever stayed in is €10, the pool is a staggering €18 per person (you can work out how much that costs for a family!).
So in summary, a very comfortable hotel, but one where you feel you are being exploited every step of the way.
Much better value options and plenty of choice in other hotels in Rome, and very disappointing for a Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug8344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,843
    1,036
    400
    207
    114
See reviews for
1,135
2,677
150
798
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laurelville, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed four nights at the Rome Cavalieri in June 2012. This is truly a 5 star hotel. We had a room with a Rome view and it was fantastic. We could see the Vatican just over the hill and all the major sites. Our room was big and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a shuttle bus to take you down town within walking distance of all the major attractions. Taxi service is available almost immediately at all times. The only negatives I have is that there is not much close by so you have to leave the area to go to a restaurant if you do not eat at the hotel, and if you do eat at the hotel, it is extremely expensive. The cost of the hotel was cheaper than our hotels in both Venice and Florence but was definitely the best that we stayed in. I would stay here again if we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMLaurelville_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the breathtaking view.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We only stayed one night, but the room (661) was clean and fantastic with a great view overlooking the pool and Vatican city and Rome. Be sure to ask for a room facing the city, as the other side of the hotel faces an ugly motel and mobile phone tower. From what we could tell, odd room numbers are the better facing direction.

There is a free shuttle into Rome since the hotel is about 15-20min outside the city. Its runs pretty much hourly. The last shuttle back to the hotel was only around 9pm, so we ended up taking a eur 20 taxi back later in the evening. The hotel is kinda near a metro stop so that might be another option depending on how late the metro runs.

Staying as a diamond member, we were treated very well and didn't have to pay for any extras. But if we were not diamond members, breakfast, internet access, and even swimming in the pool would have been added costs. And the charges were extravagant. Perhaps the folks staying at waldorf astorias are used to this, but we would never stay here as non Hilton
honors member.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Appleohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope that you have enjoyed all your HHonors Diamond benefits.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans La
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at the Rome Cavalieri In June following a Mediterranean cruise. This hotel was fabulous, and exceeded our expectations. It is outside of the city walls, but a short taxi ride into town, or if you prefer, a shuttle runs into town every hour (hint: it fills up so get there a few minutes early). Our room was lovely and spacious, although I was disappointed that we did not have a city view, being a Diamond member, but the executive lounge afforded us a beautiful view, and a perfect way to unwind after a long day touring. The full breakfast was delicious, and the staff very helpful and friendly. Be sure to take advantage of the fabulous spa!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maryms777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

What can I say it was all perfect. Great example of customer service was when the hotel bus was full and there were still four of us waiting they got us a taxi at hotel expense to take us to city center.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the vatican great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMSSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We asked to book the restaurant for a big birthday celebration. They said they would put us on the waiting list but never bothered to let us know. Reception was cold and arrogant you'd have thought she was paying us to stay there! When I saw the room I was super disappointed to see an enormous radio mast right outside our balcony. I asked to change but the reception said there was nothing to be done at that time of night. I called first thing in the morning, but again got no response - not even a reply phone call.

The website is very misleading. The 'garden' facing rooms actually face the road, blocks of flats and the enormous radio mast. We had an Imperial room and used the club where the staff were very helpful and pleasant. However the image shown on the website from the Imperial Lounge does not exist.

The shuttle bus drops off at Piazza Bernini and the journey takes 30 minutes or more depending on the traffic. The only way you could get to the Vatican in 10 minutes is by helicopter! The bus stops at 9.30pm so from there it's taxis and it costs about €13 without a tip from Piazza Norvona.

If this is your first visit to Rome then stay somewhere more central as it's expensive getting back to the hotel, or to Bernini to get the bus. I thought we'd have time to use the pool, which looked lovely, albeit busy, but there was so much to do in Rome that we didn't get round to it (after all you can use a pool anywhere). The gym looked good from what I saw through the window!

The beds have a very lumpy mattress cover.

Don't drink out of the mini bar - it costs €9 for a small bottle of beer! The room was very clean and bigger than your average hotel room - but we had an imperial room.

Room Tip: For a view of St Peters you need to select Rome view and be on the right hand side as you look out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipster647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed our Imperial Club facilities and that our staff met your expectations.

We would like to inform you that advance bookings are required for La Pergola restaurant, so you hope you let us know with the proper notice for your next visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I read the reviews for this hotel before we left on this trip and my expectations were high. My husband and I spent a week at the hotel for our 25th anniversary and we were not disappointed - had a wonderful stay.
Used the shuttle everyday to sightsee between 11 and 4. Had the concierge make reservations for restaurants that we wanted to have dinner and took a taxi to and from dinner.
Recommend getting a room with the Rome view - it was spectacular. Service was great. The Imperial Lounge was a great place for unwinding after walking through the city.
Only down side was the no iron rule in the room but we had access to the ironing room on the 7th floor so it has manageable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UDeSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts to celebrate your wedding anniversary in the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,556 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#85 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing