We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Beautiful Hotel and Wonderful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #71 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Rome Cavalieri for one night post-cruise. We arrived at 9:30 am. and were greeted by the helpful bellmen and check-in personnel. Although our room was not ready ( and we did not expect same) the staff treated us as checked in guests with access to all amenties as well as safely storing our luggage. We used the free shuttle to town, which was comfortable and on time. When we returned our luggage was already in our room and our keys were provided with speed. Our room was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. The bath products smelled great too. We used the spa as it was included in our room - we wanted to use the pool but - our only negative - and its a big negative- is that we were explained that to use the pool is free, but to sit on a chair would cost us 18 euros. Well, after touring all day, and only wanting to relax by the pool for a hour pre-dinner, we were not going to pay 18 euros for a chair, so we stuck to the spa. This is the only reason for the lack of 5 star rating. For the hotel prices and the elegent atmosphere, we should not be paying for pool chairs. Our evening stroll on the grounds and the art tour was lovely, If the pool does not concern you then, do not hesitate to enjoy this property.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mavesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,292 - 3,298 of 5,969 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

I recently visited the Cavallieri and it is a remarkable hotel. It is truly beautiful. But the employees that work there are almost to the point of insulting.

I thought being a Hilton Diamond member was supposed to mean a little something. Obviously not at this place. I was given a room on the lowest floor with a street view after emailing prior to my trip requesting a view of the city.

The place is pretty amazing, but if I were the management of this place I would take a hard look at my employees and clean house and get some decent individuals in there.

Should have stayed at the Ritz.

1  Thank buckeye1107
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

At Rome Cavalieri, we appreciate our HHonors Diamond members as they are our privileged and loyal guests, so we reserve them the following benefits:

*Upgrade to rooms with a view upon availability. Unfortunately sometimes it is not possible to grant upgrades when the hotel is at high occupancy and all the rooms with a view are sold out.
*Complimentary daily breakfast at L'Uliveto restaurant.
*Access to The Cavalieri Grand Spa & Outdoor pool.
*Complimentary WiFi service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel shuttle will take you to Rome, it takes at least 20 minutes, 30 with traffic. The hotel is near nothing. If you think about sightseeing, then popping back to the hotel for a shower, etc. before heading back into the city for a decent meal, plan on blowing at least an hour or so of your time, or about $50 in cabs. For get the outrageously overpriced and bland food at this place, there are way better options, just far away...

My wife and I just completed our "reward" stay at the Rome Hilton. As a Diamond HH member, I have become accustomed to special treatment for my loyalty, and for that, I am very grateful. I always get an upgrade.

Upon arrival at the Rome Cavalieri Hilton, I was offered an upgraded room and use of the "Leonardo Lounge" (which would have included breakfast and a better view,etc.), for the price of an additional 120 Euros a night. I declined. I was told, that as an HH Diamond member, I would be able to use the "Coliseum Lounge" on the first floor instead. This was a lie, everybody gets to use the Coliseum Lounge for a free soda, and some questionable appetizers. I understand not getting an upgraded room, it is the height of the season, and they have paying customers, but not getting the Executive lounge is unacceptable. That costs them next to nothing. Had I known that we would be soaked for about 50 USD per person per day for breakfast, I might have almost considered it.

My room was very nice, although the un-upgraded view was that of the TV tower and transmitter building across the street leering down at the hotel. As a life-long broadcast television engineer, I shudder to think of the RF and microwave radiation filling the building.
I could never get the thermostat on the shower to work, it was either scalding or freezing.

I would recommend somewhere actually in the city, with fewer arrogant employees, and lower radiation levels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

At Rome Cavalieri, we appreciate our HHonors Diamond members as they are our privileged and loyal guests, so we reserve them the following benefits:

*Upgrade to rooms with a view upon availability.
*Complimentary daily breakfast at L'Uliveto restaurant.
*Access to The Cavalieri Grand Spa & Outdoor pool.
*Complimentary WiFi service.

We would like to put to your attention that the 'Executive lounge' is not available in Waldorf Astoria hotels. The Imperial rooms (including access to the Imperial club) are not subject to complimentary upgrades, but our guests could choose the e-standby upgrade option online, that lets you choose an upgrade at a discounted rate and if available on the check-in day modifies your reservation automatically.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

While this is a wonderful hotel, it was the people we encountered that made this place so special. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants luxury, comfort and exceptional staff who are willing to accommodate your needs. We enjoyed the fact that it is not in the center of town and we were able to sightsee all day and return to relaxation and quiet. The shuttle was helpful but we usually took taxis into town. It was very hot in Rome while we were there so the pool made a nice place to cool off and relax. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Rome. It is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delores G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that our staff met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The Rome Cavalieri is a beautiful hotel. Lovely to stay in such a place with lovely artwork and surroundings. However, if you have to pay for almost all 'services', its easy to become a little bit cynical. for example:
1) there is no iron in the room. Also asking for one, does not help: due to fire regulations, irons are not allowed in the entire hotel (!). Hotel solution: have your shirt ironed for 9 EUR a piece.
2) swimming pool comes at a price. We were asked to pay 18 EUR (a day) for outdoor pool only, or over 30 EUR for both indoor and outdoor pools.
3) If you use room service, be prepared for 5 EUR delivery charges per person (!). Three pizzas margerita are EUR 30 (a piece) plus EUR 15 deliver charge. Also, the price for 1 Coca Cola is 9
EUR. Ridiculous.
4) Be prepared that a lot of staff in catering do not speak English.
5) If you plan on booking conference rooms: very expensive, and airco only has two gradations: on or off.
6) Also on conference facilities: wifi internet is EUR 12 for 60 minutes or EUR 27 for 24 hrs (per person).
7) For large groups, a limited breakfast is served in the Bella Arte room. This is merely a continental breakfast, but you pay full breakfast price like a normal hotel guest would. Strange.
8) For security reasons, the hotel cannot store any luggage from conference delegates that are not staying in the hotel.

That said, the free iPod tour was a lovely service (one of the few truely free services), and we found both the hote receptionists and concierges most helpful.

In short: if you have got money to burn, this is the place to go, but if you don't, think before you book...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We were told there are no five star hotels in Europe and then we arrived here. Definitely a high-end resort. Perfectly located just outside the city. An easy shuttle ride down to the attractions. Not a W hotel. Peaceful. Large and beautiful in extravagant kind of way.
Ask for 7th floor access when you make your rezi or call in and have it added. Free breakfest, beer n wine all day. Light lunch and dinner. Yes all included. Open till 11pm. Also make sure you get Roma view room or you will look the wrong way. Stunning hotel but caters to older visitors. Dont be shocked to see older italian ladies in pool with fancy shower caps then a model walks by. Really a beautiful place. Dont stay in Roma center. Crazy down there. Stay here and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lajollalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My son and I stayed at this hotel in June 2012 for 4 nights. Although a bit out of the busy hustle and bustle of the main city I relished the safety i felt when walking in the area to find a meal. Then when the ATM ate my card and my MC did not work in the ATM the hotel came to my rescue. I was so grateful. It may of been the most expensive Club Sandwich and Cesar Salad we could ever eat...but you only live once! Pools were outstanding on a very hot day. You have to pay 18 Euro for a sunbed. Don't freak! The pool is worth it!

Room Tip: Our room (all may I do not know) had a 2ndary door that closed a few fit in and made it sound proof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannarun0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,921 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#94 of 1,271 in Rome
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £204 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing