We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #72 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

How many hotels carry a Tiepolo masterpiece in the lobby? This says it all about the Cavalieri. It has the best view of the city on one side, the worst one on the other (unfortunately I was on the wrong side this time...), one of the top restaurants in Italy (La Pergola) and a luxury spa center. Of course, all these features are expensive, and you know it. One more thing, if you want to exit the lobby and walk in the center of Rome, choose something else, as the property is half an hour away from historical center, and they take you there by shuttle bus.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Workinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,858)
There are newer reviews for Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,936 - 2,942 of 5,858 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

A friend of mine suggested staying here for the first couple nights after flying from America. After checking out the rates I said "no way" but a couple months before our trip Hilton offered a special 40% off rate if you prepay. Even then it was a splurge, but I decided to spoil myself and boy am I glad I did. This might have been the best decision of the trip. After staying at several hotels across the mid section of Italy I can tell you this is the only place that compares to an American hotel. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable. They thought of everything from heated towel racks, sound proof pull out mirrors, designer bath toiletries, English TV stations, built in adapters for Americans, and an automatic metal screen that blocks out the sun while you're sleeping.

After reading lots of reviews on TA I was expecting to see some amazing views from the hotel property, but you really only get a mediocre view from walking around the property. If you want the famous view (I didn't see it) you must have to pay for a room on a higher floor facing downtown Rome. Regardless, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Note: it's not waling distance to Rome attractions so I would limit your stay to 2-3 nights and move on to a more central location. They do have a shuttle bus, but I can see how it might get full fast in peak seasons.

Also, when you pull up you may be surprised by the simple exterior design. In fact, we joked that you would never expect the hotel to be so nice in the inside after seeing the outside. I read after my trip that Mad Men filmed inside the hotel, and I can attest that the decor fits that period. It reminded me of staying at The Drake Hotel in Chicago but BETTER!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Rooms are quite nice. Except some minor things rooms also clean and huge for Rome standards.
Room service and breakfast are delicious.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
There is also shuttle service to downtown Rome or you can use taxi. They have awarded SPA. And Michelin star restaurant at the roof.
Limo service is much cheaper to the airport during holidays.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GezenGazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Although we had been warned that the Rome Cavalieri was on the outskirts of town, we had been highly recommended to stay there. We had two nights there and cannot fault the experience. The staff are superb - friendly and helpful but highly efficient. The room we had was an upgraded de-luxe, Rome view. Beautifully maintained, fantastic vista of the capital and luxurious bed - check out the massive choice of pillows!
We didn't eat in the hotel (except breakfast, which was excellent), however, the concierge recommended the restaurant down the road (The View) which on New Year's Eve had a brilliant ambience.
Don't be put off by the hotel's 70's exterior, the interior more than compensates for it and the pool area - even in the winter - is a tranquil oasis of calm.
The free shuttle bus is also easy to use into the town and even when that was full, the doorman quickly called for a Mercedes people carrier to ferry us in.
In short, a wonderful break that was enhanced by the hotel.

Room Tip: Has to be a Rome view and try and secure an Imperial room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here our last night in Rome. We have a tradition of staying in a luxury property on the last night of our extended vacations, as a way of re-grouping and relaxing before the long flight home. The Rome Cavalieri was our best experience yet! A beautiful location up on a hill overlooking Rome, we could watch our the sunset over Rome on our final night of vacation. We treated ourselves to a massage in the Spa, and trust me....with the de-stressing and relaxation we experienced, the 12-hour flight home was a breeze. The bar overlooking the city and the room service food were also fantastic. Well worth the splurge!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and our award winning Cavalieri Grand Spa.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We arrived by train from Naples to spend a night before flying back to the United States the following day. A year earlier we had dinner at the Waldorf and knew we wanted to stay there. The hotel is beautiful, well maintained and has a breathtaking view. The service is impeccable, from arrival through to departure. My wife and I are both business travelers who stay 90+ nights per year in hotels. We agreed that the Waldorf in Rome is the very best hotel in which we have ever stayed. Aside from the physical facilities, we found the food to be excellent. The quality and service were as good as anyone could possibly want. On the whole, this is one of the very finest hotels in the world.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a city view
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last week and would stay again if we return to Rome. It's beautiful. The staff are amazing. Very helpful before we even showed up! The food there is pricey -- but that's expected at a hotel -- it is also excellent! Cabs to city are about 11 to 15 euro depending on where you want to go. It was an experience we will never forget and the hotel made it even greater.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tna527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,806 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#89 of 1,267 in Rome
1,993 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £209 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing