We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #72 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tired...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed here for work in November, for a conference. The only reason the hotel was chosen is because (as I understand it) there are very few "5-star" hotels in Rome with ballrooms big enough to hold 500+ attendees.

The place is a bit of mess - a 60s concrete block with a bizarre and kind of tacky cruise ship / Liberace interior. The owners seem convinced that draping the exterior in vines will hide the ugliness of the building, though I wasn't convinced...

Rooms
I stayed in a Premium Deluxe Rome View room for 5 nights - three for work, two for the weekend. It had a great view of Rome, and a little balcony on which to have drinks. The room layout is a bit cruise ship-like, with strange panelling and busy carpeting. The bathroom was alright, I guess, with Ferragamo toiletries, but showing its age.

Interestingly, one of my colleagues had booked an Imperial room on the Club floor, and she ended up with a view of some apartment block opposite, despite paying more than me...

Food
Mixed... The conference catering was awful. Horrible. And the general feeling is that the hotel just doesn't have to try very hard, because they have no competition.

Room service, on the other hand, was quite good - some decent grilled meats and veggies. Although if you feel like having a decaf coffee, watch out - why they sent up was a flask of hot water and about 6 sticks of Nescafé powder. Not impressed...

Breakfast was quite good, as was the Sunday brunch (lots of kids, though...)

Service
We found the staff to be pretty helpful on site, so no real complaints there.

Gym
Paid 20 euros (I think it was?) for use of the gym and swimming pool - reasonable, I guess, though I hated the strange mock-Roman decor...

Overall...the hotel is tired and in desperate need of refurbishment. The Waldorf Astoria keeps banging on about how prestigious the place is supposed to be and how amazing the hotel art collection is, but I feel it's all aimed at gullible tourists. Almost everything in the hotel is showing its age, and not even in a nice solid way like say at the Ritz in Lisbon.

So, essentially, I disliked staying at this hotel, and think it offers fairly poor value. Try somewhere else if you can.

Room Tip: -11 rooms have a good view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuroLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are glad to inform you that the hotel is constantly undergoing refurbishment, maintaining the antique style that makes our property unique.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,746
    1,016
    397
    203
    113
See reviews for
1,111
2,619
145
775
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I really find it a very difficult to recommend this hotel. It is badly decorated in a sort of bordello mish mash despite the actual decent modern architecture of the original Hilton Hotel. The rooms are not interesting at all. It is a long and crowded shuttle ride to the Via Veneto in very cramped seats (you feel like you are in a school bus) or you can spring for a 10 euro cab ride each way. That adds up since the shuttle doesn't run at dinner time or later. The hotel sits in near isolation from Rome and there is nothing close by, it being on a hill. I had a view of a radio tower and despite a few complaints I was ignored by all the staff and was refused a room change. The lobby was extremely busy and noisy. The gardens are attractive and the pool when open is very nice. If you know what you are getting into, I guess it is an ok property but neither the decor or staff is at a deluxe level at all. In general I would say that if you are coming to Rome to see the city don't stay here, stay in the more central part of Rome. There are so many better options and you will feel more a part of an amazing city. I checked out after one night and went to a nicer property in the historic center and had a fantastic time with much better service and room and food.

Room Tip: If you look over the pool it is a better experience. Otherwise you are looking at a radio tower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYCSBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We regret reading of your impression regarding our property, as our guests always appreciate our antique decor and priceless collection of art work..

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at the Cavalieri and I can't wait to go back. It was an absolutely wonderful experience from the minute we arrived until we were dropped off in the centre of Rome by the hotel mini bus. The staff were polite and attentive but not overbearing, perfection and the faculities second to none.
Thankyou.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AS-Rotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed here with friends on a New Year trip to Rome. The hotel is as you would expect for its type. It is well run; the rooms (ours was just a 'basic') were large and well appointed. We had a good view over part of Rome from our balcony. One issue was the control of heating in the room. This was very basic and I would have expected better climate control to maintain an even temperature. However we managed. The breakfast was excellent but the waiting staff were not that great at times. It is some distance from the centre of Rome but we managed to catch the hotel's free shuttle and so it was not a problem. It was good to get away from the bustle of Rome to the tranquility of the Cavalieri.

We had an excellent deal over the holiday. We did not wish to pay the hotel's prices for food and found some excellent restaurants about fifteen minutes walk away. This is a five star hotel and its menu prices reflect that-29 euros for a burger! All in all we did have a wonderful time and I would certainly consider staying here again if I choose to visit Rome in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STFC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

We are glad to inform you that we are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment to install the 4 pipe system, so our guests could control heating and air-conditioning all year long.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

The stay started by getting the shuttle bus from outside the Barberini Metro stop. The bus driver was extremely friendly and full of knowledge about where to go, what to see and what to avoid while in Rome.

The hotel is beautiful on the inside with a fantastic art collection (I would definitely recommend downloading the art tour and spending 40 mins going for a walk around). On check-in the staff were helpful, efficient and answered all questions we had.We had afternoon drinks in the bar in the lobby and the staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable over their drinks.

We had dinner in the L'uliveto restaurant and went for the tasting menu, which was broccoli themed. The restaurant was quiet and they offered excellent service.

We had a deluxe room on the 5th floor with views across Rome, we didn't close the curtains once as the views were stunning and the sunsets were spectacular. The rooms were comfy and the bathroom spacious. The only down side was no iron in the room and so we had to use the express laundry pressing service for clothes for the evening after travelling with clothes folded away.

The breakfast is brilliant and has absolutely everything you could want from a cooked breakfast, continental breakfast, oriental breakfast, pastries as well as a huge selection of fresh fruit, juices, salad and bread.

Overall it was a brilliant stay and the staff were so helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. So much so we have decided to go back again at the end of 2013.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing Rome as otherwise there is a rather uninspiring view of a huge mast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elster9704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I arrived at the grounds on Christmas day after a long day of travel and the staff could not have been more courteous and accommodating. I had emailed the hospitality team in advance, letting them know that I would be proposing to my girlfriend at their property and they helped make it perfect. With my Hilton status (and some help from the staff) I was upgraded to a corner suite with an impeccable view of the city! As soon as I entered I found a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries from my family, and my girlfriend taken aback with the beautiful accommodations. I proposed on the balcony and needless to say, she said yes! The WiFi worked perfectly and the breakfast buffet may have been one of the finest I've ever had a chance to enjoy. Because the property is a bit far from the city we routinely used the shuttle, which worked out quite nicely and the drivers were as friendly as could be. All in all, I offer nothing but the best reviews for the Rome Cavalieri hotel and look forward to spending many anniversaries to come with them!

Room Tip: If you can stay in a corner suite I would highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Mr. F,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and congratulations on you engagement!

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Went out as a couple between Christmas and New Year and had a wonderful stay, would highly recommend to any couples looking for a getaway in a romantic city. Walked everywhere as it's not too far out of town and was a great way to discover tucked away trattoria's, and anywhere you go in Rome there is something spectacular to see and you miss out in a taxi.

Room was perfect, spacious, extremely comfortable. The Spa was very relaxing after a day out and about. The Concierge were a brilliant service and definitely worth using, especially for the hotel based taxi for the airport on the way back.

Worth a wonder over to Zodiaco (5 minute walk away) as the views are breathtaking and then the opposing view from the Garibaldi monument (between the Vatican and the Colosseum).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#81 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Destinology, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing