We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #73 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, United States
1 review
“Best Hotel in Rome”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The Vista Suite was unbelievable! We could see the whole city of Rome. It was the best hotel we have ever stayed in, if we stay in the Vista Suite. The guest rooms are no where comparable. We were going to stay at this hotel for just one night, until we got into our Vista Suite and saw how beautiful it was and how beautiful the view was. We didn't even have to leave our room because it was that luxurious. We decided to stay an additional night but there wasn't any suites available. The front desk gave us a regular guest room and that was nothing like what we experienced the first night. It was nice, but no view and alot smaller of a room. If you stay at this hotel get a Vista Suite and you will never want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our Vista Suite met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,832
    1,035
    400
    207
    114
See reviews for
1,130
2,671
150
798
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel during the Rome leg of our trip a few days ago. As others have stated, the outside of the hotel is nothing to look at, but, wow, the inside is fabulous! It looks like a museum with many displays of art pieces. There is much use of gold and marble throughout the hotel, which is simply beautiful.

We arrived early, so the young lady at the desk said our room was not yet available. We decided to take a tour of the hotel, and after an hour or so, our room was ready. We were told we could upgrade to Imperial level for an additional 125 euro per night. She allowed us to see our initial room, on the 3rd floor, then showed us the upgraded room on the 8th floor. We reluctantly took the upgrade, but were very happy we did after we saw the individual cost of everything (20 euro for fitness center & pool access, 45 euro per person for breakfast, etc). We had access to the Imperial lounge, which had great food, snacks, hors d'oeuvres, and cocktails throughout the day. On our first night, we briefly utilized the hot tub and steam room in the spa. Our room was very spacious and gorgeous, and the view of Rome was to die for. Though we had a Rome view, we could also see the Vatican from our balcony as well. Every bed in the other hotels in Italy was pretty hard, but this one was the most comfortable. The grounds of this hotel are immaculate!

Though the hotel is not in the immediate vicinity of the sites of Rome, we were able to get the hotel shuttle to the city centre. We always stayed in Rome late (after the hotel shuttle made its last run), so we had to get a cab back to the hotel, which was only about 13 euro. We only had 2 days there, so we tried to cram a lot in what little time we had.

The negative about the hotel (and the reason I did not rate it Excellent), you have to pay 25 euro, per day, for Wi-Fi. During our Italy/France visit, we stayed in 5 hotels, which were all less expensive than the Cavalieri, and only one other hotel charged 5 euro per day; the others had free access. For the money you pay at this hotel, at least, have free Wi-Fi. They do offer the business center on the Imperial level, but you are only limited to 15 minutes of internet access. The items and services this hotel charges for are ridiculous, and definitely wreaks of greed (wealthy or not, how people spend their money is important to them). This is why I cannot give it an Excellent rating. We do not have a problem spending money for a really nice room, but it's a turnoff when it seems the hotel is trying to nickel-and-dime you for every single thing.

Just another note: most of the guests at this hotel are wealthy or in the upper income brackets. Quite a few of them are pretty snooty, and when you greet them in the elevator, or in the Imperial lounge, many will not reciprocate. This is not any fault of the hotel, but just something you can expect when you visit.

All in all, our biggest regret is, we did not stay at the hotel long enough to actually enjoy it and the amenities we had access to, due to being on the Imperial level. We spent much of our time touring and visiting the city, and, by the time we got back to the hotel, we grabbed a snack and cocktail in the Imperial lounge, headed to our room for a shower, and then to bed.

Though I'm not happy about certain amenities this hotel charges for, we would likely stay again. The service, elegance, and hotel's views are some of the best we've experienced.

Room Tip: City of Rome view or Vatican view on the premium level or higher are on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Definitely the best Rome has on offer. The Cavalieri is definitely one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. Treat yourself to an executive suite and get all the perks that goes with real royal treatment. The vies from the top floors are exquisite and breathtaking.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the top 3 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel is amazing from check-in to the spa to check-out. Everything was easy, and service was top notch! When I arrived there was a line at check-in, but it went quickly and reception apologized for the wait (maybe 5 minutes). I arrived early so my room was not yet ready, but they stored my bags and I hopped on the free shuttle to the city. The map the hotel provided was well annotated and when I was finished exploring and ready to go back, it was easy to find the shuttle and it was right on time. Once I returned, my room was ready and my bags had already been brought up. I quickly changed and headed down to the spa - the minute I arrived I wish I had been in the spa the entire day. It was excellent. I was able to relax without interruption and go from service to service without annoyance or disruption. The baths felt great after a long day of walking around, and it was nice to get out and rest in the relaxation room.
That evening I dined at the hotel restaurant. I was seated outside and received excellent service and good (not great) food. All in all, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay and we are glad to read that it was a memorable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a conference which made it convenient for the meetings, but this hotel is not ideally situated for seeing the sites of Rome or for shopping. There is a free shuttle bus that leaves on a fixed schedule several times a day and takes ~ 30 minutes to get downtown. But with the conference on, many attendees who weren't staying at the hotel took the free shuttle, and that caused problems for hotel guests who found the shuttle full both coming and going. The hotel really must make an effort to ensure that the shuttle is reserved primarily for use of those who are actually staying at the hotel!

The hotel looks uninspiring on the outside -- dated, covered in vine, some of the cement work crumbling and the iron rusting. Driving up to the hotel the initial reaction was a sinking feeling inside, wondering if the wrong choice had been made. But on the inside the hotel is top-notch and mostly excellent. It just desperately needs a face-lift on the outside to bring it out of looking like a condominium built in the 1960s.

The tour companies will pick you up from this hotel and drop you off at the end of the trip, and so you don't have to make your way downtown to a central meeting location.

The view from the hotel -- especially the top floor, where La Pergola is located -- is excellent and inspiring. You're at the highest elevation in Rome when you're looking out from the top floor of this hotel. There are extensive grounds, several swimming pools, and a spa.

It's worthwhile to pay the extra rate that allows you access to the lounge and the preferred floor. This serves breakfast and a set schedule of snacks throughout the day and evening. It also gets you into the spa and pool at no extra cost. Have breakfast for two in the lounge, access the spa, the pool, the fitness center, have lunch in the lounge, an evening snack, and drinks in the lounge (alcoholic or non-alcoholic), and you'll have saved far more than the per-person cost of the upgrade.

There are several decent restaurants in walking distance of the hotel which serve top-notch examples of traditional Italian fare, and in our experience, all restaurants had someone who is fluent in English (and menus in English too).

On the downside, it was very warm in April when we visited, but the hotel hadn't turned on its central air conditioning, and the air conditioning in the individual rooms was similarly turned off. They refused to turn this on, telling us that they had a set schedule for when this would happen. We had to sleep with the balcony door wide open and no covers on the bed, it was that hot at night. Fortunately no bugs or birds disturbed us, but it was still warm and hard to sleep at night. And so they also desperately need to upgrade their air conditioning system and allow it to be turned on when the weather is warm!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberUrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

If you're looking for a bargain.....go elsewhere. If your looking to be spoiled with excellent service, and can afford it, then the Rome Cavalieri is for you. Location is approximately 20 min from the airport and maybe 15-20 minutes from all the main attractions in Rome. I have been in some wonderful hotels before but to date, this was the best. Service from the moment we drove up, till the moment we left was nothing but superb. The room was gorgeous with heated towel racks, mirrors and a view of Rome that was spectacular. Resturant was awesome and did I mention the service lol, I tried to pour myself some orange juice and was nicely told to sit down and they would do it for me. WOW....after this kind of treatment, I hated to go home.

Room Tip: Ask for the view overlooking Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Pros: Rooms have enough (or even extra) space and private balconies are nice. Rooms are also rather quiet although you are able to hear when the shower is used in the room next to yours. Spa is also very nice (in case you are not Hilton Honors silver, gold or platinium member there is an entrance fee of EUR 20/person/each visit). Separate fee (EUR 18) for sunbeds also applies. Hotel's overall facilities, art collection and garden are very nice, but it feels to us that the cons mentioned below do not unfortunately cover these.

Cons: Service is not at the level it should be! The staff is extremely unflexible in regard to all additional requests (e.g. changing of room due to an unwanted connection door existence of which the hotel's reception personnel contested(!), later check-out etc.) and when trying to combine two separate rooms (paid EUR 580/night) into one suite (price of which was EUR 611/night at the hotel's website) we were requested to pay additional EUR 400/night for the "upgrade". I still don't understand why! The staff does not greet you upon your entrance to the hotel or any other time than when entering to the concierge desk or to the reception. Only the cleaning staff greeted us regularly. This behaviour made us feel that it was irrelevant for the staff if we were at the hotel or not. After having paid ca. EUR 600 a night at Waldorf-Astoria hotel, we did not expect this level of service. We also noticed that some quests were treated in a better way (e.g. sparkling wine served to tables at the breakfast when other quests had to pick it themselves, some quests were escorted to the room upon check-in etc.). Yes, small factors but due to this unequal and mostly unfriendly service we will not return to this hotel. In addition, the hotel is situated FAR from the city centre. All quests do not always have seats in the hotel's shuttle bus and are therefore obliged to either wait 1-3 hours for the next bus or take a taxi. The taxi drivers did not seem to hesitate trying to cheat tourists in price and although we always drove with the taxi meter on, the drivers sometimes tried to get us "additional Vatican extra of EUR 6" or drove an extra trip in the city in order to be able to charge more... Amazing and in our opinion something you would like to avoid in the holiday.

All in all I'd give this hotel 3/5 stars when comparing the hotel to 5 star properties of e.g. Intercontinental, Conrad, Kempinski, Peninsula and Sheraton. Should the service be 5 stars, the rating would probably be 4,5/5. It is simply frustrating to get zero flexibility in any requests and get the feeling of being irrelevant or unwanted as a quest. I quickly visited the Intercontinental Rome and found the service to be phenomenal (although I was not even their guest!). Although the rooms in the city centre hotels are way smaller than in Cavalieri, the level of service and the location will be more relevant factors when choosing the Rome hotel next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnishTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We would like to inform you that we appreciate all our guests and always show flexibility whenever possible. As the bookings mentioned were made through a travel agency, the plan was not modifiable to just one room, so a supplement was offered for the suite while maintaining the other room as well.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

K. Khaled
A. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,540 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#84 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing