We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy but worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #72 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pricy but worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have had the pleasure at staying at this amazing hotel 5 times. Three time on business during 2007-2010 and twice privately. As part of my honeymoon in August 2012 and again for an extended weekend getaway in July 2013. For me and my wife, it is the only place to stay in Rome. Although located on the outskirtch of the city, there is a regular shuttle service to downtown. It is not cheap, but for us it is worth the expense. The hotel doesn't loke like much from the outside but inside it is beautiful - nothing less. Also the park like garden and swimmingpool area is prestine (although even guests have to pay for sun beds!).
The staff is extremely service minded and goes to great lengths to ensure the comfort of their guests. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,787
    1,027
    399
    206
    112
See reviews for
1,122
2,646
147
783
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

A great hotel for a weekend get-away. Rooms "with a view" offer a great view of Rome, rooms are spacious and comfy (even though one can see that the hotel was built in 1963). One negative point was the water pressure in the shower, which wasn't up-to-date for todays standards. Nevertheless, elegant and spacious rooms which allow to relax, as to separated sleeping and sitting areas. Do book the rooms on the "Imperial Club Floor", as you will definitively stay on the highest floors (7 and 8) and the Lounge with a concierge will make life within the premises much more enjoyable. Breakfast within the Lounge is good (not exceptional though), but drinks, afternoon tea and evening snacks let you enjoy relaxing hours on the balcony of the Lounge. Staff was helpful, personal and friendly making you "feel-at-home". Location is a bit off-side, yet in nice surroundings. The hourly shuttle to Piazza Barberini makes it easy to go down-town, a taxi isn't too expensive either (10-16 EUR).

The staff at the lounge (especially Serena) have been very helpful, try to get a table at "Taverna Trilussa" in Trastevere to enjoy great "Bucatini alla Amatriciana" or real "Bomboletti al Carbonara".

For a very special treat, book the Rolls-Royce Phantom transfer to the airport (EUR 380,-), our driver even did a last stop at the Vatican - something to remember.

Definitely a hotel to recommend - very enjoyable, service-oriented staff who know, what they are doing.

5-star-plus!

Room Tip: As with many Hilton Hotels, the Executive Rooms (or in this case, Imperial Club Rooms) are worth eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UliPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights - 2 nights prior to the conference and then 3 during the conference. The location is stunning but its not in central rome... they do run a free shuttle bus but it stops running back to the hotel about 9 which is quite early - cab is about 20 Euros.

The spa and pools are fantastic - as are the views from the front. Its not a 'modern' 5 star and is missing some of the things that you expect including coffee and tea making facilities, and free wifi.

Hotel food and drinks are expensive although they do promotions in the restaurant downstairs.

Room Tip: ask for rome view especially if you have HHonours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bchapmanLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

this hotel is one of the best I have been to. From the location (on a hill), through the grounds (grand and simply amazing), nice executive lounge, to a great restaurant on the top (very pricey though). There even is a menu for the pillows- one would not know that there are so many kinds!! the breakfast experience is something completely out of this world! I have never seen such a selection (!!) Any type of food you can think of was there! All This does come at a very high price tag, I must add. But for the service/location/experience it is worth it!The only downside is that wifi (at least was not at the time of my stay) is not included and charged separately (hefty!!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

stayed over the week end and extended my stay. amazing personalized service, best diner ever at La Pergolla, felt like being a king during my entire stay. the view from the room on the city is definitely breath taking! best week end for a very long time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank olivier c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

the staff is rude and obnoxious. they clearly do not like Americans there. they did not have a room for us on our first night and tried to sell us on a twin bed room at the price of the king bed with city view. we showed them our confirmation and he accused us of booking through a "cheap orbitz site". we booked through their site. we tried to show him the emailed confirmation but he would not give us the time of day, in the end we had to settle for a room with a garden view, which is a view of a cell tower, if you were wondering. the next day they had our city view room ready, its a view of trees. if you want to see the city, do ask specifically what part of the city is visible from your rooms window... when we came back at night our non smoking room now smelled like an ash tray and there were drink glasses outside the room. we complained and they did send up a new night manager, this time he apologized, said the room next door had smokers and moved us to a new clean smelling room. he finally asked us about our prior nights problem and wanted to see the confirmation information. but nothing more was said about it.
now, if you don't want to be close to the city, this is quite at night. but its a long drive from the airport, they do not have shuttle for you, plan on it costing about $58 euros. Do not tell the taxi to take you to the Waldorf Astoria or give them the address, use the name Cavalieri or they take you to an alley a few blocks away. don't get out.
the hotel has a bus that takes you to the city, drops you a bit off the beaten path, but if you like walking you can just get going to most sites. they only can fit so many people on the bus, so be sure to line up early, it only leaves the hotel on half hours and leaves the city on full hour, but its not always on time. we ended up taking the taxi back every day, and one morning the line was so long and a wait of another 15 mins we just took a taxi in too. its about $20 euros one way and gets you there much faster.
the hotel is very ornate. the rooms we were in had balcony with chairs and table. the patio doors are very high security style. they had nice furnishing and the bathrooms were adequate, but be prepared for some wet floor after a shower, they have half glass walls instead of doors. its impossible to shower with out over spray. the bathrooms have bidets , if that is important to you.
hotel amenities are at an additional cost so we did not bother to use any. they do not have a coffee maker in the room or any of the usual stuff you may be used to. we didn't bother to ask for any. the beds are super firm. they do have large pillows at the headboard, so you can make a bed out of those, as the bed was really to hard to sleep on. the rooms were clean, with the exception of the dirty glasses that appeared outside and the smoke smell...
this hotel feel short of our romantic vacation ideal. I always go with a Hilton hotel and chose this based on the Hilton website, looking for a Hilton in Rome. if you are used to Hilton hotels, this is not one. I don't know why its on their site. brush up on your Italian if you plan to stay here, you may need it to feel welcome.

Room Tip: be very specific as to what is in the view of your room with a view! some views are not worth the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We regret reading of you impression and hope to welcome you on a future occasion in an attempt to truly show you the level of service we reserve for our guests.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great hotel, nice off center location, very good condition. But what ultimately sets this hotel apart is the way that it is managed and the quality and attitude of the staff - this is the very best hotel I've stayed in ... and I have much experience of luxury hotels!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,463 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#80 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing