We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff, but a bit tough for sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #71 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff, but a bit tough for sightseeing”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I agree with many of the reviews. This is a wonderful hotel - the grounds and rooms are great, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Using the shuttle bus is a trade-off for staying here. We were using a Hilton Honors Points/Pay package, which made the stay quite affordable. The trade-off was having to take the shuttle back and forth to the city each day. Luckily, the shuttle was quite reliable, and I would definitely stay here again. The shuttle driver, in particular, was extremely friendly and helpful. The rest of the staff was equally good. We did not eat in any of the hotel restaurants, so I can't comment on their quality. Is it a hassle to take cabs or the shuttle bus back and forth....yes. However, the rooms and staff were great and I am glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike8834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,837
    1,035
    400
    207
    114
See reviews for
1,131
2,675
150
798
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This truly an oasis on top of a hill in Rome. The pillows are likely the best pillows in the world. Sleeping with windows open is possible since it is quiet outside. From the grand foyer to the exquisite rooms to the beautiful patio over looking the eternal city. All staff could not do anything more to make my stay anymore perfect. Yes perfect. Breakfast buffet was very extensive and wonderfully displayed. Only issue was too many wonderful delights to choose from.

Definitely ask for a room over looking room. The view is stunning. On the higher floors a clear view of St Peters and the rest of Rome.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FromToronto2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Superbly comfortable and spacious rooms. Stunning grounds with animal statues and an evocative mount, great for kids. Excellent indoor and outdoor pools. Exorbitant drinks (12 euro for apple juice at bar). Hopeless concierge service eg recommended ripoff tours and were unable to get us Vatican tickets even when a quick stroll to the actual location discovered the excellent wheninrome tours.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Highgate_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We regret reading of you impression and hope to welcome you on a future occasion in an attempt to truly show you the level of service we reserve for our guests.

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was clearly one of the best hotels we've stayed at over the past few years. The service was excellent from the moment you arrive. The rooms are very well appointed with all the amenities you would receive in a U.S. hotel. If you're looking for something more familiar and traveling form the US this would be a good choice. There are even outlets that don't need a converter. Everything in the room is top quality and what you would expect from a Waldorf. There is even a power shade to shield the window from the bright sun in the morning.

The hotel is located up on a hill, great for views, but also requires you to take the shuttle into town or take a cab. Not too big a problem, just allow some extra time and know the shuttle stop location.

Overall, excellent hotel, service, quality, etc. No complaints, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great waiter in restaurant, too bad it was raining so missed enjoying the pool, but the turkish spa was great, as were the rooms and bathrooms. Staff was courteousa and it is a gorgeous hotel, very luxurious, great beds/pillows/linens...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Best views of Rome. Rooms are impressive and very well appointed. Location isn't convenient for sightseeing but free hourly shuttle helped. That was probably only thing that was free. Everything else was very, very expensive! 27 euro hamburger in lounge, 45 euro breakfast buffet and we didn't even ask what the bills averaged in their restaurant. Nice get away. Very relaxing but tough to handle the prices and location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We would like to inform you that our prices are in line with 5 Star Luxury Properties and the complimentary shuttle service we provide to the city centre provides our guests with lots of dining options.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from an excellent long weekend at the Cavalieri and Rome.

The service from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was impeccable, including the high standard of the room.

We had a meal in the restaurant on the lower level one evening and actually found it fairly reasonably priced (about what you'd expect to pay in an hotel) for an excellent meal and an excellent bottle of wine. As everywhere else in the hotel, service was high from the friendly staff.

Although we didn't get chance to use the pool or spa it looked inviting.

The hotel is about a 20-25 minute stroll to the Vatican - downhill. Just around the corner en-route there's a great photo opportunity of Rome and Vatican, so its well worth doing the walk at least once. The courtesy bus is efficient, with yet another friendly member of staff, and is well worth taking for the short history lesson/tour alone. If you ask nicely the driver will even make an additional stop en-route to the official stops.

A taxi back from the Vatican is around 8 euro, with other parts of Rome ranging between 12 and 22 euro (the cost is dependent on the route back).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamBigFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,549 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#86 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing