We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #73 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We revisited Cavalieri this year after a positive experience last time. What a disappointment! I have never met so many "No" before as a guest. "Is wi-fi included?" -No, "No, you cannot use the sunbeads and the pool area without paying (a hefty 18 EUR extra/chair to lay comfortably at the pool, one should think that is included in the room fee). On top, they seem to hate children. Constantly there were pool guards telling our actually quite well behaved kids to be quiet, not play, not jump - basically the message was like, do not use the pool at all. May explain why the pool was closed most of the time - really poor hours, 9-19 pm, if it rains (or is cloudy, or looks as if it may start to rain within the next two hours, the pool is closed). No you cannot use the Indoor pool unless you pay an extra fee. Horrible. Will never return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We should like to thank you for taking the time to let us have your impressions of your recent visit. All guest feedback is always appreciated and we are sorry that your second stay did not live up to your expectations.

May we please point out that free wi-fi is available in all public areas, restaurants and bars. Complimentary wi-fi in guest rooms and pool chairs are two of the benefits afforded to Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond Members.

As for the outdoor pools, we do ask our guests to follow the instructions of the lifeguard and the general pool rules. Whenever the weather threatens thunderstorms, as indeed happened last week, the outdoor pools have to be closed for security reasons.

We do hope that you will allow us the opportunity of regaining your confidence whenever your travel plans again bring you to Rome.

Sincerely yours,
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,855)
There are newer reviews for Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,039 - 2,045 of 5,855 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Fantastic hotel. Beautiful property. Great location. Exceptional rooms. Overall service was outstanding but at times was a little slow. Staff at lobby bar was not very friendly. We really enjoyed out stay at the Waldorf and would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

We regret reading of such short-comings at the Bar and we'll make sure such minor incidents do not repeat themselves in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed here three times over the past several years and we continue to be impressed. Located a little out of the way and several miles from Rome's main attractions, it is still easily accessible by taxi or hotel shuttle. For those who enjoy the exercise, a 25 minute walk through some beautiful residential neighborhoods will get you to the main entrance to Vatican City. Rooms are well appointed, comfortable, and very much up to the high standards of a 4-5 star hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is located at a high elevation. Take advantage of the most gorgeous views with a higher f...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIkeNowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal City and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Club level and the views of Rome make this a great hotel for kids and teenagers. This is not a 5 star hotel; the different decor is all over the place. The pool has lots of tattoos and was really crowded when we were there. The staff was great; the Club was perfection. It allows you to get free sodas, breakfast, cocktails after 7--and wifi. Wifi is a large charge in the rooms--25 euros, which was a pain. Outside of the city, but easy shuttle bus or cab--close to Vatican city. Overall great place with big rooms for families.

Room Tip: Definitely Club level...ask for city view and floor 7---floor the the Club itself is on.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GulfStream14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 days and it was a very nice luxury hotel. But they do nick you for everything including a charge to use the pool. I guess this is ok but for the price you are paying for a room you would think that you could lounge around the pool for free. The breakfast spread was simply amazing. The best I have ever seen at any hotel or cruise ship. It is not in downtown Rome so don't be surprised. It sits on top of a hill overlooking Rome and I must say the view from our balcony was unbelievable. We took several photos off of our balcony. The room was spacious, clean and luxurious. I really have no complaints about this hotel other than the fact they charge extra for everything.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room that overlooks the city. This is a must.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JefferyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we do offer many room packages that our guests could reserve in advance that include many facilities (including the pool) to their liking.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Three separate times we were literally treated with contempt by the pool attendants and the bar personnel after spending with taxes, 430. USD per night. Nickel and dimed for every expense. 18 euros to use the pool. 25$ euros to get internet in the room. Mean personnel that treated me like I was not worthy of staying at the property despite being a Hilton Honors member which means I use their preferred brand. That is unforgiveable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
3  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and thank you for your Loyalty.

We would like to inform you that our prices are in line with 5 Star Luxury Properties and we do offer many room packages that our guests could reserve in advance that include many facilities to their liking.

We regret reading of such short-comings, we will speak with the pool manager to make sure such minor incidents do not repeat themselves in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, and if you want a relaxing luxurious stay, then this is the hotel for you. If you want to sightsee, you will either be taking a 20 Euro cab ride or the shuttle to town. There is nothing other than the room included, not even a cup of coffee. For the price, I think other Hiltons have met our needs much better than the Waldorf Astoria.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,803 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#89 of 1,267 in Rome
1,991 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £209 - £607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing