We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I felt we were staying in a private palace on acres of beautiful gardens on a hillside with view of Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #71 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“I felt we were staying in a private palace on acres of beautiful gardens on a hillside with view of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is hotel is so special. We were traveling with our 3 and 6 year old daughters and they just loved the kids pools, activities and the imperial room where you can have access to complimentary, delicious snacks throughout the day.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsngo1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your & your kids expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you & your family back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,791
    1,028
    399
    206
    112
See reviews for
1,122
2,648
147
784
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Giugliano in Campania, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Was lucky enough to stay here for a work trip. Absolutely stunning! Don't skip breakfast! Best breakfast buffet in Rome ... HANDS DOWN!

You won't regret staying here! A very cheap taxi ride from downtown Rome. It's the perfect way to stay in Rome if you're looking for a nicer/fancier outlet. Hostels may be cheaper ... but, the Cavalieri is the way to go!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xcrezyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
462 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I share the views of many of the recent reviewers that had a negative opinion of this hotel. If you want romance and have the money to hire a car ,this hotel has the best (most romantic view )of Rome if you get a room on the city side. The view of the Vatican is amazing!

I stayed at this hotel many times before the Hilton family sold the chain to a private equity group.


NEWS FLASH FOLKS! DIAMOND STATUS DOESNT MATTER AT ANY OF THEIR HOTELS!

THE ONLY THING THAT MATTERS IS SPEND!

When they became a Waldorf they built a lounge on the first floor to keep their Diamond,gold and other members out of the Imperial Lounge on the Imperial Floor.The Imperial Lounge is very nice and mostly full of people from the Middle East.

The Hotel is very nice but I wouldn't stay there unless I could afford a suite.

the biggest problem I have with this Hotel is the concierge . I asked him to book a tour of the Vatican Gardens for me. He told me that this was very expensive and would cost 400 euros.
I showed him a paragraph from my guide book that said anyone can book the tour for 9 euros a person. He insisted that it would cost 400 euros if he booked it.

I followed the instructions in the guide book and got my tour for 9 euros a person .

DO NOT TRUST THE CONCIERGE!

In fact , you would probably enjoy the St. Regis a lot more. Much more centrally located and a real 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: get a suite if you can afford it and make sure it is on the city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLikeaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent four nights at the Cavlieri at the end of a two week trip to Europe and it was the PERFECT way to end our tour. Being outside the city was very pleasant and relaxing. The hotel itself is spectacular inside. It's very surprising to drive up the hill and see the front of the building which looks very industrial. Once inside, it's a totally different world. Beautiful antiques and works of art adorn the hotel. The rooms are large and well equipped. Balconies give a fabulous view of the city - especially at night - and provide a great spot to sit and enjoy the early evening.

If you're fortunate enough to be in a Club Floor room, you have the added advantage of the Imperial Lounge which gives you the addition of morning and evening snacks and drinks and wifi. (there is a cost for wifi in your room) It also has wonderful near-top floor views from the balcony tables where you can enjoy morning coffee and pastry, an afternoon aperitif or an evening prosecco and sweets.

There is the legendary La Pergola restaurant with the most impressive view in Rome - but if you don't have a reservations MONTHS in advance, you won't be going there for dinner.
HOWEVER, the dinners we enjoyed at L'Uliveto were exceptional!!! On our first night, we were tired from a long train ride and were just plain HUNGRY. Not for fancy food. And even though not on the L'Uliveto menu - they also serve burgers and pizzas which are on the Pool/Bar menu (daytime). We had cheeseburgers and fries that saved us!!!

The next night we had the Tasting Menu and were extremely impressed with the interesting dishes that were served. We also saw the upcoming Aubergine Tasting Menu which was to be served to highlight the lovely vegetable the following month. It also looked Delicious.

On our last night we ordered the Salt Crusted Sea Bass (for 2- but could feed 4) which was INCREDIBLE! Our wonderful server Carla (who took great care of us on multiple nights) did a Fabulous job of "un-crusting" the fish and preparing it table-side. The presentation is exceptional and the result is delicious. The outside seating section of the restaurant (by the pool) is very pleasant though the inside is lovely as well. (And Carla is Delightful!)

The pools are beautiful - the adult pool (during the day) is very calm while the children are occupied in the children's area. Later in the day, the major pool becomes a family pool - but is still fairly sedate.

Business meetings were on-going and it was amazing to watch the staff set up for outdoor meals of very large groups. They set up tables/umbrellas/sitting areas/food service/etc on a daily basis and were very efficient.

There is a shuttle that takes guests into Rome on a regular basis. It's important to remember the time AND location of your pickup. It's about a 20-25 minute ride each way. But honestly, after one trip into the city (which we love and have visited many times before and we went because I HAD to go to the Pantheon one more time) we were happy to stay "on the hillside."

This property is such a calm and relaxing escape from the exuberance of Rome. You eat (very well), sleep (very well) and let the staff take care of you (exceptionally well!) It provides service and elegance and serenity. You Relax! What more could one ask?

Room Tip: Higher floors on Rome-view side are the best. There are "black-out" blinds that will help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are delighted reading that you have enjoyed your visit to the Eternal City.

At Rome Cavalieri all Team Members are passionate about delivering first class service and ensure that guests leave the hotel more than fully satisfied, taking away pleasant memories.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limhamn, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We revisited Cavalieri this year after a positive experience last time. What a disappointment! I have never met so many "No" before as a guest. "Is wi-fi included?" -No, "No, you cannot use the sunbeads and the pool area without paying (a hefty 18 EUR extra/chair to lay comfortably at the pool, one should think that is included in the room fee). On top, they seem to hate children. Constantly there were pool guards telling our actually quite well behaved kids to be quiet, not play, not jump - basically the message was like, do not use the pool at all. May explain why the pool was closed most of the time - really poor hours, 9-19 pm, if it rains (or is cloudy, or looks as if it may start to rain within the next two hours, the pool is closed). No you cannot use the Indoor pool unless you pay an extra fee. Horrible. Will never return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We should like to thank you for taking the time to let us have your impressions of your recent visit. All guest feedback is always appreciated and we are sorry that your second stay did not live up to your expectations.

May we please point out that free wi-fi is available in all public areas, restaurants and bars. Complimentary wi-fi in guest rooms and pool chairs are two of the benefits afforded to Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond Members.

As for the outdoor pools, we do ask our guests to follow the instructions of the lifeguard and the general pool rules. Whenever the weather threatens thunderstorms, as indeed happened last week, the outdoor pools have to be closed for security reasons.

We do hope that you will allow us the opportunity of regaining your confidence whenever your travel plans again bring you to Rome.

Sincerely yours,
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Fantastic hotel. Beautiful property. Great location. Exceptional rooms. Overall service was outstanding but at times was a little slow. Staff at lobby bar was not very friendly. We really enjoyed out stay at the Waldorf and would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

We regret reading of such short-comings at the Bar and we'll make sure such minor incidents do not repeat themselves in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed here three times over the past several years and we continue to be impressed. Located a little out of the way and several miles from Rome's main attractions, it is still easily accessible by taxi or hotel shuttle. For those who enjoy the exercise, a 25 minute walk through some beautiful residential neighborhoods will get you to the main entrance to Vatican City. Rooms are well appointed, comfortable, and very much up to the high standards of a 4-5 star hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is located at a high elevation. Take advantage of the most gorgeous views with a higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIkeNowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal City and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,468 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#79 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing