We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Top!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #67 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over the Top!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked through American Express Platinum Card travel services and we received an upgrade to the Imperial floor (7th) and the Imperial Lounge. From 7AM to 11PM, food, drink, wine, beer and a view of the city, the Vatican and in the distance ancient Rome. Breakfast includes bacon, eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, and the staff made espresso or cappuccino. Perfect and no extra charge. After breakfast the food is more like snacks and it wouldn't replace a proper meal, but it was great for teenagers. Also, you need to use the lounge (or lobby) for free WiFi as it is too costly in the room. Staff in the lounge was very attentive and helpful as was the concierge in the lobby. Free shuttle to the city every hour, but you will need to pay for taxis at some point. Concierge was helpful for restaurants and activities. Room was great, ask for a view of the city. Lobby Bar and pool service was slow. Had a great meal (Lamb & a nice Brunello) in the -1 floor restaurant, but could not visit the 8th floor restaurant as you need a jacket and advance reservation. The -1 floor restaurant also has a nice breakfast buffet daily. It was included with our room. Not sure if that was American Express or the Imperial floor upgrade, but we were not complaining. We had an anniversary during our stay and the front desk sent up a bottle of champagne and chocolate treats at no charge. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, but if you do, you must get on the Imperial floor (7th)!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank 45frankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Rome.

would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city to celebrate your special occasion and for taking the time to write your impressions.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.
Please be informed that the breakfast was one of the benefits of American Express program.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,884
    1,047
    402
    209
    114
See reviews for
1,146
2,699
153
812
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is not an easy hotel to review. It's a long way from the city centre. The only practical way to get there is by taxi. That said, it has great views of the city thanks to its position atop a high hill. When you pull up outside the hotel you could be forgiven for thinking you've been dropped off at an ugly tower block in the Paris suburbs. The contrast with the interior of the hotel is remarkable. Inside it's all large expanses of marble and subtle lighting, giving a sense of opulence. The rooms are fine: comfortable beds, nice bathroom with good shower, and a personal balcony. Eating and drinking is extremely expensive. We decided to eat at a Sicilian trattoria 5 minutes walk away, where we had a fantastic meal for the same price as one dish in the hotel's rooftop restaurant. On our return, we decided to have a drink at the poolside bar, where they were showing a World Cup semi-final match. Big mistake! 10 euros for a glass of warm white wine served in a plastic cup! They also tried to charge me twice for the second night, but luckily I had an email with me. My travelling colleague suffered the same fate at check-out. The staff are friendly. All in all, however, I was seriously underwhelmed by this hotel, which flatters to deceive. I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megahose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We regret reading of you impression and hope to welcome you on a future occasion in an attempt to truly show you the level of service we reserve for our guests.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It's a lovely hotel, but so are many of the other hotels that are in the center of Rome, and it's much, much more expensive than most of them. This hotel is quite far outside the center, a 20-minute ride on the hotel's occasional shuttle service (which I was surprised does not operate for much of the middle of the day) or by a very expensive tax ride. The best reason to stay here then is for the wonderful view of St. Peter's and much of the rest of the ancient city that available from the hotel's hilltop location. But be warned. A Hilton Honors Gold or Diamond "upgrade" includes none of the usual benefits at other Hilton-family hotels. There is no free breakfast. No lounge access (unless you want to pay an additional 125 euros for the privilege). The room "upgrade" can mean being "upgraded" from a room with a view of neighboring apartment buildings to a low-floor view of a satellite dish and a group of trees (certainly no view of the city). There is free wifi, but that's true of every major hotel chain "elite" level. Very frustrating visit. I wished I'd stayed at an equally nice hotel downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal City.

Please rest assured that HHonors Gold & Diamond members are highly appreciated as our our privileged and loyal guests, so at Rome Cavalieri, we reserve the following benefits:

*Complimentary room upgrades based upon availability (excluding Imperial floors).
*Two complimentary beverages per stay at the Tiepolo bar.
*Access to The Cavalieri Grand Spa.
*Complimentary WiFi service.
*Complimentary newspaper (upon request).
*2 complimentary bottles of water daily.

Breakfast and Lounge access are not part of the benefits in Waldorf Astoria properties, please be assured that we are always very attentive to delivering HHonors benefits according to our loyal guests’ status, in compliance with the Corporate HHonors Program for Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts.

We regret reading of you impression and hope to welcome you on a future occasion in an attempt to truly show you the level of service we reserve for our guests.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I took my wife here for her birthday last weekend. As you pull up the place does not look like much but when you get inside the Roman opulence hits you. Reception was expectedly formal & impeccably polite. I particularly note Pegah, who organised an upgrade a few few free extras that really made the difference. Well done Pegah. We were given a free drink voucher for the bar in the vestibule (nice touch) and what a bar; original classics on the walls, a mind boggling selection of drinks, designer furniture & again, impeccable service.

The hotel is located on a hilltop & our room had the most fantastic view over the pool area & beyond with an almost bird's eye of the whole of Rome.

We dined at La Pergola & oh, what a place! Again, impeccable food & service (are you seeing a theme here? :). I've eaten in other 3 Michelin star restaurants before but not like this. On the 9th floor with a view over Rome, watching the lights flicker on as night fell. The 12 course taster menu was sublime and the mind boggled at the 4-page water menu. Even the salt came from a selection of 5...one being volcanic from Hawaii!

The next day we took the hotel's, free, air-conditioned, shuttle into the centre & returned on one it's frequent services.

This is how 5 star should be done & for me, the only way to do Rome :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PDB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that services & facilities met your expectations. It is always a pleasure to be able to pass on such positive feedback to the team members who contributed to the success of your visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

this experinece in this restaurant was unforgetable. the food was excellent and the service very friendly. i can not wait to come back and taste those tasty foods.the rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast really fantastic.i will soon be back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen-stock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a nice 4 night stay at this hotel. We loved the gracious room which had plenty of space and light. Very comfortable bed, too. Most of the staff was very nice. Everyone at the Front Desk we encountered was very nice. While we were on vacation and very casual, most of the other guests were very nicely dressed. The pool area was lovely and we enjoyed breakfast, twice in the downstairs restaurant.

The only slight issue was we saw a number of employees who were speaking on their cell phones in public places. It was clear they were working but it seemed odd. We noticed this in the restaurant and at the Bell Desk.

As others have noticed, the hotel is located away from the main tourist district but it is an easy cab ride.

This was a very nice hotel that made for a relaxing stay. We found it nice to return to after a busy day touring amazing Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our services & facilities met your expectations. We thank you for the constructive criticisms which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My now Fiance and I visted the great City of Roma on April 25, 2014.

On a 5 week trip to Europe I was attempting to stick within a tight budget but after noticing this Hotel on trip advisor I got sucked in.....

It was more then worth it! We were only in Rome for just more then a day so it was short and sweet but this place made the short visit so much more doable then if we had roughed it.
We arrived at 9am in Rome after an all-night train ride from Nice and were quite exhasted! The shuttle from the city centre was so helpful and made getting to and from the action so easy!

Although we were unable to check into our room until around 3 oclock the staff was happy to let us use the locker room to shower up and change before shuttling down to the Vatican.

The hotel if described in one word would be "bliss"

Later that evening overlooking the breathtaking city views at sunset from our balcony I asked the girl of my dreams to marry me and she said "yes!"

Overall Experience was excellent!

Room Tip: Pick a club level room city view or 6th floor and above it is more then worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all congratulations for you engagement!!

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your honeymoon!

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#86 of 1,257 in Rome
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing