We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #72 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a breathtaking hotel. The lobby and function rooms are enormous. It has previously
Hosted a G7 summit and it as painting worth £8m on show.
We chose it for two reasons. It is set in a very private location on the hills overlooking Rome and far away from the hustle and bustle. Also it has a fantastic pool, which meant we could relax during he day and explore in the afternoon and evening when it was cooler.
We decided to treat ourselves and upgrade to the sixth floor with a Rome view. The room was sensational and as good as any that I have stayed in.
We ate in l'Ulivetto one night and the food was amazing.
As you would expect the level of service from all the staff was extremely high.
The only thing that boy here me was having to pay 18 euros per person to use the pool. When you are a guest paying handsomely to stay here, this should be inclusive. The poor pool attendants certainly weren't getting a tip after that !
Overall a luxurious place to stay in Rome, allowing a combination of relaxation and sight seeing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saints2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

We would like to inform you that our prices are in line with 5 Star Luxury Properties and we do offer many room packages that our guests could reserve in advance that include many facilities to their liking.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,750
    1,016
    397
    203
    113
See reviews for
1,113
2,620
145
776
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

It is the 3rd time my family and i have stayed at the Rome Cavalieri and i've had zero complaint of the facility and personnel. The first time was a few years ago when it was a Hilton before becoming a Waldorf Astoria. We totally fell in love with it and that it is very close, 30 min walking distance from the center of the city just walking down hill via. Cadlolo if i am not mistaken. I believe the only thing that has changed is the executive lounge which helped a lot if you are a Hhonor member with the cost of food and of course, the wine. The view at the lounge is fenomenal, you see the vatican city, il Colosso and everything else. This month i was there again for a week and had a fabulous time, no more free happy hours but the breakfast each morning is so rich and full of different varieties of foods, its unbelievable. It is very clean, the staff is very friendly and the spa with the turkish bath, steam room, sauna, gym, relaxation room is fenomenal. Over all i am very happy with this hotel and its very convenient, you could also take a shuttle that will drop you off and pick you up every hour from via Barberini. Have in mind their siesta and you should be in front of the hotel 10 min before the shuttle departs there is usually a line and sometimes not everyone fits in and have to wait for the next one, but they are fast.!!! The hotel doesn't have free shuttle to and from FCO airport but they can arrange a taxi for you or you can take your own at the airport, its about 55 euros, max 60 and its a 30 min ride. Mine was a regular taxi and you could pay with credit card, but ask the driver before hand if you are planing on using your card for the taxi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qbandoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing one again the Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal City for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Imperial floors and that our staff, services & facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’ real soon!

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Rome Cavalieri in early July. The city was hot and crowded so it was a great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. We liked that it was a short distance from the city center. The shuttle was convenient and taxis were inexpensive. The pool and garden area are beautiful. Typically we do not like breakfast buffets but this one was great. The rooms were also bigger than other hotels in Rome. I would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We (family of 3) stayed the second week of July for three nights. The first issue was the hide-a-bed sofa, when set up the staff did not notice the bed supports were missing. When my wife tested the bed she fell through to the floor!! It was easier to rearrange the room for our needs rather than having extra beds rolled into the room. The floors are not well cleaned, lots of dust under the beds and against the walls. No iron as well.

There is no refrigerator unless you want to pay 35 Euro to empty the bar fridge. There was a promise to store our daughter's yogurt (favourite drink) in a restaurant fridge. Meals are overpriced for the portion/quality. Lots of add-on costs. Internet only free in the lobby.

No self check-out so I stood in line for 20 minutes to leave!!! I would expect a '5 star' hotel to be modern!!!

The nice parts of the stay include heated pools and room. Room okay other than the issues above. We were looking for a spot away from the traffic and this is a nice area. Taxi to FCO about 50 Euro. The hotel has a courtesy bus to the main center that runs regularly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel during a recent visit to Rome and were blown away by this hotel. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking Rome which was mindblowing. The suite itself was elegantly furnished in a classic style and had all the additional extras you would expect from a top hotel and as a bonus binoculars were supplied to make the most of the view.
The location of the hotel is both a plus and minus point. Due to its location on a hill it has fabulous views over Rome however it means the hotel is not near the main attractions. Where possible we tried to use the hotel's free shuttle service which picks up and drops off at the Piazza Barberini however there is only one shuttle per hour and finishes at 9pm. However you can get a taxi into the centre of town for around 15 Euros.
The staff were extremely professional & helpful, the hotel was immaculate throughout with works of art hanging on the wall and the spa, gym and pool were fantastic. My only gripe would be the prices for extras which were astronomical. A bottle of water at the pool was 6.50 euros, a continental breakfast 35 Euros and a glass of beer and glass of sparkling wine came to 25 Euros but as it was a special trip we didn't mind paying a bit extra.
All in all I had a wonderful stay in the Rome Cavalieri and I hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: A Rome view from a high floor (5 and above) is essential to get the best of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryMcCormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked through American Express Platinum Travel Services and received the upgrade to the Imperial floor. The room was very nice with a great balcony and a view of Rome that was amazing. The Imperial Lounge provided breakfast, snacks and drinks during the day. It may be a bit farther from the city center, it is well worth it and there is a shuttle provided also. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay that we are glad to read was an enjoyable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was one of the most beautiful hotels I had ever stayed at. The view of Rome from our balcony was breathtaking. The grounds were nicely maintained, and the art collection was magnificent. On top of that, the staff was attentive and professional

On the other hand, I felt I was engaged in a high stakes game of nickel and diming, and the travel required to get to the sites and restaurants robbed us of part of our valuable vacation time. Given what they charge for a room, there should be a lot more amenities included.

I won't take "points" off for the distance from the city, as I knew about that going in. However, it should at least be mentioned. At least half the time, the shuttle's schedule did not coincide with ours, especially since the last one from Rome back to the hotel runs at 9:00 pm. Therefore, a cab was a necessity at least on the return trip at the end of the day, adding another 15 to 20 Euro, each way onto any trip to the city. And regardless of whether we took the shuttle or the cab, the roundtrip travel time stole at least an hour each from our vacation (taking into account the wait time for the shuttle), and more if we wanted to go back our hotel room some time during the day.

What I found offensive is the high stakes nickel and diming. There were very few amenities included (though, as a Gold HH member, I did get "free" wifi, gym and pool privileges). They did have coffee and cookies/pastries available each morning, however that is meaningless to most vacationers as they cut that off at 7:00 am so as not to interfere with the restaurant's breakfast business. (Even at that, one morning I arrived at 6:45 am, and was told they "ran out" because they had a group of about 50 people earlier who ate and drank everything up.) Their option is to buy it at the restaurant at 5 Euro a cup. Somehow, the prospect of paying $20.00 for morning coffee for the three of us was a bit more than I was willing to spend. The best morning option for us was to take a 10 minute walk down the hill to the cafe who charged 1 euro each for an excellent cup of cappuccino.

The lobby bar is nice, but underutilized, probably due to the cost of a drink. One evening, my wife and I decided to have two drinks each, without asking the price. Our tab came to 72 euros!

I really would have liked to love this hotel. I if I stay in Rome again, I would forego the extravagance and stay someplace more centrally located where I didn't feel like I'd be hemorrhaging money and spending unnecessary time getting to the center of Rome.

Room Tip: Take a ten minute walk down the block to the cafe for reasonably priced coffee and cappuccino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labocagrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Responsabile reception at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts during your recent visit to the Eternal city and for submitting a review regarding your stay.

We would like to inform you that our prices are in line with 5 Star Luxury Properties and we do offer many room packages that our guests could reserve in advance that include many facilities to their liking.

Thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton Brand and looking forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,370 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#82 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA and Priceline so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing