We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #72 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Philly
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This hotel is amazing!”
Reviewed 25 March 2009

I used points so I can't speak to value for your dollar but this hotel was fantastic. Fantastic staff including diamond desk, concierge, shuttle drivers and housekeeping. Everyone was friendly and offered help whenever we needed it.

Yes the hotel is outside of town and yes the shuttle only runs once and hour and stops at 8pm but those limitations were not a problem for us. We took shuttles when we could and cabs all other times.

Go to this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,969
    1,061
    411
    212
    120
See reviews for
1,178
2,755
155
824
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Not one of my favorites to be honest , the decor is a bit over the top for my taste , gold and marble everywhere you look . Also when i arrived I found that my reservation had been cancelled by Hilton 'head office' and i despite showing them my reservation I was told that they were full and was given the impression that i was supposed to leave and go elsewhere , given that it was after 10pm and raining i was no mood so quickly requested to see the manager who amazingly found me a room . Also despite the luxury trappings in the room the shower produced no hot water whatsoever which is unacceptable . The rooms have great balconys , comfortable beds , 42 inch flat screen TV and amazing views across Rome but was a 25 Euro taxi to the sights , I would not stay here again because the hotel is just not to my taste and because of the out of town location .

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick48dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I have visited Rome many times and stayed at many of the top hotel (Excedra, Hassler, Westin Excelsior) but there is not better hotel in Rome then the Cavalieri...The hotel is located about a 10 minute cab ride from the center of the city but the distance allows you to have an amazing view of the city below you as the hotel is built on one of the hills surrounding Rome...The grounds, the spa and the pool are spectacular...The pool scene is hilarious (feels like a Felini movie)...You hardly realize that you are in a croweded city...There is a shuttle bus that runs throughout the day that takes you to the center of town...A cab is about 10 EUR and since Rome is a pretty spread out city, you end up taking cabs if you stay in the center of town...The decor is a bit OTT; a bit too many OGed (over golded) and faux Roman accents but is not offensive...The rooms are comfortable and some have amazing views of Rome from the balconies...Make sure you book one of the rooms with views of the city...You will be looking down at the dome of St. Peter's...The restaurant on the top floor, La Pergola, has three Michelin stars...We had dinner there and I thought it was the best meal I have had in Italy and one of the top meals I have ever had...The Cavalieri has some flaws but, as a package, is the best hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

I stayed in this hotel for a medical conference. I got a room on the 6th floor with spectacular views of the city and the Vatican. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious, furniture ok, but the common areas (corridors and its furniture) so run down it's hard to believe it's a five star in Rome. What really got on my nerves is that they don't provide iron and ironing board in rooms, as there has been some "accident" a few years back. And they break the news to you in quite an arrogant manner. Alternative is to pay 7 euros if you can wait 24 hours, and 10.5 if you happen to have a meeting next morning to have a single shirt pressed. You have to pay 20 euros to use the gym which is absurd. Best thing was the room service: excellent food. Good shuttle service to city centre. Concierge information regarding where to eat outside of hotel can be quite misleading.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbournetraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We stayed in this lovely, but grossly overpriced hotel. The view from the room was lovely. Unfortunately, the hotel is poorly located on a hill that is pretty far from the city. A cab ride each way costs 20 Euros to go into town. There was a shuttle bus, but it is small and was often filled to capacity. It also ran on the hour and didn't run for 3 hours in the afternoon. The last bus is at 8 PM. So must go to hotel for dinner. Hotel food was was dried out and very expensive. It was 10 Euros for a diet coke and 30+ Euros for an entree. The only consolation was the hotel room cost was paid by the company. I would not stay here again. The staff were top notch.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAK9230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2009

My sister and I decided that since we had a very limited time in Rome on our treck across Europe that we would make this hotel our splurge. It turned out to be the best decision we made all summer! This is by far the most fabulous hotel I have ever seen or stayed in. The lobby is absolutely breathtaking and check in only took about 15 minutes. Besides the emmaculate luxury, the best part of this hotel is the staff. Every staff member is your typical life-loving Italian. They were SO happy to help and the concierge gave us an excellent dinner recommendation.
Our room had everything! It was old style luxury with new age technology like a plug in Ipod speaker. The solid marble bathroom with hermes toiletries was also fantastic.
Perhaps the best part of this hotel is the Turkish bath and relaxation room on the 1st floor. Make sure you set aside a couple of hours one day to hang out here! We came in from an exhausting day of sightseeing and regrouped in the spa and had tons of energy to go out that night. It was GREAT!
There is no better place to stay in Rome!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loudalaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

I have stayed at Cavalieri Hilton several times, and this time brought along family for a week end in Rome. The hotel's location is not particularly good for tourists and short stays, but its other qualities outweigh this. If pressed for time, take a taxi, you can afford it.

The view from rooms on the Vatican side is stunning. Roomy furnished balconies makes it tempting to simply sit there and watch. The rooms are luxurious in every detail, absolute bliss after a long day sight seeing.

We only ate breakfast, since the hotel restaurants seem very expencive, and its more fun to eat down town anyway. Breakfast, especially if you grab a table by the pool, is excellent. Also, the terrace is great for afternoon drinks or coffee.

We took advantage of the hotel's limousine service to the airport, and actually saved money! Alternatively one can take a taxi to Termini Central Station, and then the airport express train, but for a party of 4, that was more expencive.

I really like this hotel, highly recommended, but the price stings.

  • Liked — Old style grand luxory, fantastic views
  • Disliked — The price is nearly over the top
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,739 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#86 of 1,261 in Rome
1,973 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,261 in Rome
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing