We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite part of Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #73 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
West Coast, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite part of Rome”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I carefully read the reviews of this hotel before our trip, and once armed with knowledge we had a fantastic time. We got the city view each time (we had two different stays)--imagine seeing all of Rome from a balcony on a hill! The view at sunset and sunrise, the view of the grounds, the incredible breakfast buffet, the snappy and helpful service made this a great honeymoon spot. We actually liked the fact that it was far from the city--downtown Rome is very noisy, busy, and very dirty. Plus, the people are not exactly charming. We also took full advantage of the Colosseo lounge (the free VIP lounge) and so rarely paid for lunch and afternoon drinks. We did notice most tourists did not tip the lounge staff--that is shameful :(
Now to address some of the complaints by reviewers. The staff is excellent if you tip like you are staying at a 5 star hotel--don't stay at such a place if you don't know how to tip.
The place IS expensive, but it is a 5 star destination hotel. While we were there, we saw athletes, celebrities (as well as the dogged paparazzi), and many weddings and special events. It is an LA kind of scene--this is what I liked least about the place, actually. The gym was full of local women looking to be someone's trophy wife...though that will make some readers more inclined to go.

The bottom line is that the critics got a bad room (one with no view) and didn't spread around the wealth.

With that said, how to save money: take the shuttle--though taxis are cheap and fast (10-15 euros), and eat out. Many reviewers have vaguely referred to a Sicilian trattoria down the street. It is cheap and wonderful and will save you from spending an enormous amount of money at the hotel on food. The trattoria is called "Ai Vespri Siciliani"--turn right out of the hotel and walk five minutes down Alberto Cadlolo way--it will run into Medaglione d'Oro as a T. Turn left, walk 50 meters and there it is. There are also other places to eat on the same street.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sc0ttW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,832
    1,035
    400
    207
    114
See reviews for
1,130
2,671
150
798
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed at here for 2 nights. We arrived very late and checked in. Think they may have given our smoke-free rooms away but were too tired to complain. The room was very impressive and luxurious. The bed was just amazing, slept very well that night! I expect the view would have been awesome if we had been on the other side of the hotel, but we had a view of a big phone tower on the front side of hotel. The breakfast had a ton of options and was pretty good. The lobby is really beautiful and decorated very elegantly. The shuttle was great, but if you plan on taking it get there early because it did fill up. Overall, it was a very nice hotel but you could tell on our floor that the hallway's carpet and wallpaper needed some attention.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmewantstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Rome Cavalieri for the remaining 3 days of our Italian Honeymoon. We arrived and our intial impression was that the hotel was very well presented.

Unfortunately, this first impression did not last longer than 15 minutes..

When booking the hotel, we were informed that we would have a city view room with a welcoming bottle of champagne on arrival to celebrate our honeymoon. We received neither of these and instead had a room to the front of the hotel with a square on view of a plion. My wife and I then spoke to the reception and they informed us that "all rooms are allocated the night before and there are none left". After further telephone calls from my wife, we were then informed that a city view room was available. It would have been nice to have been told the truth with regards to this.

As we arrived in late afternoon, we thought we would check out the Spa and Fitness club. It is really worth noting that for 2 people to use this at any one time will set you back 40 euros (20 euros each). Quite a lot for one session. It is also worth noting that the outside sunbeds cost 16 euros (each per day). A lot of people questioned this and were clearly upset by the additonal and high cost of this.

Breakfast was top notch with the biggest selection we had ever experienced and the staff in the mornings really could not do enough for you.

Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of the pool bar staff around the pool area. As like many honeymooners, we saved long and hard to pay for a 5 star hotel. We had no idea that the service would be so poor and at times infuriating. This was particularly evident at the pool bar where the staff were clearly more concerned with apeasing the many higher class guests who were going through bottles of cava and moet like it was going out of fashion. Whilst these guests were pleasant, the staff gave them every attention and served them in record time... everytime.

An example of this was when my wife ordered a slice of water melon (15 euros) and half an hour later this still had not arrived. In this time, many families (some with their own nannies and servants) had received 2 or 3 orders of wine and champagne. I then asked about this and informed the staff that we would have the water melon after lunch. I was then told that this would be "kept in the freezer for me" for after later... Later, we returned to take the water melon and I was told that this would be "2 minutes". 45 minutes laters, this had still not arrived and after witnessing the bar staff running around silly for other guests, we decided to leave.

Unfortunately, there was a distinct difference in levels of service provided to more upper-class guests compared to others. This was again evident when we were present to hear a group request that the daily shuttle bus stop be "moved from the front of the hotel" to "over the road" because this is making the hotel "look untidy".

I really would encourage honeymooners who save hard for their time away to reconsider any stay at this hotel because of the above. A 5 star hotel, with high prices and lots of hidden extras is made worse by poor customer service and at times a sheer lack of respect from the staff..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FilbyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

This is a very beautiful hotel with a fantastic view of Rome, but the customer service was very disappointing. For example, on the day we checked in we arrived at the Cavalieri at 12:15 extremely tired after our flight. We were told our room was not ready, but that they would get it ready as soon as possible. The Diamond Desk person then escorted us to the Colesseo lounge and told us that she would come and get us as soon as the room was ready. At 2 pm no one had come to inform us that our room was ready, so I went to the front desk and inquired. As it turns out, our room key was just sitting there and our room was ready, but no one had informed us. We went up to our room to discover that they had put someone else's luggage in our room. Our luggage was no where to be found. I went down to the front desk and was taken to the luggage storage area to look for our luggage. When it did not turn up, a bellhop escorted me to another guest's room where our luggage had been taken (we had his luggage). The bellhop sheepishly apologized, but then added "anyone can make a mistake." Which is true, but not the attitude I wanted to hear when I was exhausted and just wanted my luggage and to take a nap. We never received an apology from anyone else other than the one bellhop, and the front desk took a very nonchalant attitude. There are other examples of poor customer service, but the experience above and the attitude adopted proved typical. Additionally, as written elsewhere the location is not convenient to the tourist spots and the last shuttle back to the hotel is at 8pm, so unless you wish to end your night very early you are likely to be taking a ~ 15 Euro cab ride back to the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank readyforrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

You certainly expect a lot from a Waldorf hotel and the Rome Cavalieri definitely did not disappoint. My wife and I stayed at the Cavalieri to end our honeymoon and what an ending it was. First and foremost, we want to thank Markus, the chief concierge, who did everything he could to make our stay top notch. From making dinner reservations, private sight seeing tours, Papal audience and even helping with a problem from another hotel, Markus is by far the best concierge we've had the pleasure of staying with.

The hotel itself is beautiful and offers the best views of Rome. We could see the Vatican and all of Rome from our room. The meals were also outstanding. It was certainly the best breakfast we had during our entire trip and dinner the last night at La Pergola was one of the best dinners we've had EVER. Expensive, but worth every bite. Plus the views from La Pergola were unbelievable.

The only negative was the doormen out front. When we arrived, they didn't offer to help with the bags, never opened the doors for us the whole time and weren't very helpful in general.

You are not in the center of Rome, which we liked and the hotel offers a shuttle throughout the day. We typically took a cab back to the hotel, so plan on spending 10-15 euro per trip if you do the same. There were also some great little bakeries and pizzerias around the corner from the hotel. It was about a 10 minute walk, but was worth it - YUM.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

The hotel is beautiful and the view is amazing but the walls are paper thin. We must have had a honeymooning couple next door because they did not sleep ALL night and we heard EVERYTHING. We could even hear them when they were talking and what they were saying not to mention other things. My husband and I could not sleep the entire night. I even took some Tylenol PM to knock me out but it was too loud and I am a pretty deep sleeper. The food was also awful. We ordered lasagna and got something aobut 1/2 inch high for $25 dollars. We literally thought they were kidding and bringing us an appetizer. They also got our reservation wrong and then wouldn't let us book with the rate of the conference we were attending. We arrived at 11:30 at night and were too tired to get another hotel so we were stuck with full price even though we had books months before - but no reservation showed up. We were originally going to stay the whole week but checked out after 2 days. Beautiful hotel with great potential but they need to work on customer service and insulating the walls.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tollestrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2009

From the warm welcome when we got there to the gracious, early morning farewell, everyone at this hotel was exceptionally friendly and helpful. And, the hotel, it is absolutely amazing!!! We were so impressed with the public restroom on the 1st floor that we have pictures of it and explain it in our photo albums from this trip!! Gorgeous!! An elderly couple that was staying there at the same time, said it best in their summation, "this hotel is like a museum!" Appreciated the complimentary shuttle into town!! Breakfast buffet has more to offer than I've ever seen!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolarose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,543 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#84 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing