We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* rip off - don't bother!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #73 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
northants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5* rip off - don't bother!”
Reviewed 7 August 2009

'Garden View' room was - car park, main road, block of flats with dog barking, commercial building with enormous metal tower/phone mast?? over a strip of grass. Directly under room was a place ( underneath hotel) where workmen were drilling/banging talking in loud voices, using mobile phones starting before 8 in morning. It went on for 3days almost our entire stay.
Rude person on front desk when we asked for an iron! Irons not allowed - health and safety??!! almost £10 to iron 1 shirt from their laundry! Now I see why irons are not allowed!
sun bed by pool cost 16 euros, 30 euros for fitness room. At 5* prices should be included as they are all over the world!!
We did not spend a single penny in this hotel as a protest.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthantsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager on Duty at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Rome Cavalieri, The Waldorf Astoria Collection during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are most grateful that you took the time to submit a review regarding your stay which we always read with utmost interest as this is the best means of measuring the standard of hospitality that we strive to reserve for all our guests.

The room you have reserved is a Deluxe room overlooking the residential area, but we also have rooms overlooking the city centre that could be reserved in advance.

We would like to inform you that the reason why irons are not allowed in the rooms is
because they are a hazardous device that could provoke a fire, thus our guests use our laundry service that is priced lower than other 5 star properties.

As you have noticed, we do have a three star Michelin gourmet restaurant 'La Pergola', but we also have a very nice Mediterranian restaurant 'L'Uliveto' which provides a variety of reasonably priced dishes compared to same level restaurants in the centre.

Thank you and we sincerely hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rome Cavalieri in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,831
    1,035
    400
    207
    114
See reviews for
1,130
2,671
150
797
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

it is the best hotel in Rome but a bit out of city center but you can stay there because easy shuttle service between city center and hotel...

Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AYFERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed here for a week and had a great time with my family. They have huge rooms and nicely furnished with a big Balcony with a nice view... Executive Lounge was the best one we've been so far. The hotel is indeed expensive but if you get an access to the Executive Lounge you'll save a lot of money on food and drinks..

Location is not the best but there's a free shuttle to the city center...

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakwatsera74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The only problem with this hotel is the price of the non included amenities. Everithing from the bar to room service and pool is very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrenovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed here three nights on the tail end of a three week Italy vacation. Aside from the prices and perhaps the location, this hotel has no weak spots.
The rooms were very clean, very tastefully appointed, bed was superb, furnishings all top notch. Great pool area, beautiful lobby, great gym. We never tried the restaurants.

The prices seemed to me to be exhorbitant even for Rome.
The location is a bit out of the way, but the hotel had a free shuttle once an hour to a central location down near the Spanish Steps/Trevi Fountain. We took a cab home in the evening and it was usually about 10Euro.

One other reviewer noted there were some eateries not too far away. We found a couple of bars a sedate 10 minute walk down the street where we could get our coffee and croissant without paying 35 Euro each (hotel prices).

WE stayed here as my partner got a terrific rate due to a past life with an airline, otherwise we would not likely have spent the money.

Internet access was 27 Euro a day.
Pool access was 20 Euro a day.
Shuttle was FREE...unusual in Rome!

Earlier in our trip we stayed at the Raffaello hotel (much closer to all the attractions) and were very impressed with it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamielaurenhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

This hotel is beautiful - comparable, if not better than the Bellagio in Vegas. Definitely one of the nicest hotels I have stay at.

The hotel is located about 10 to 15 minutes outside of Rome. They do have a shuttle that drops off in two place in the center of Rome every 30 minutes (not 24hrs) so the location really isn't that big of an issue. Cab rides to the hotel will run you 15 euros max. The location is actually kind of nice cause it allows you to retreat from the busy city when you want some quiet time.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foody1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We are Hilton Gold VIP members and stayed 3 nights at the Rome Cavalieri hotel. I must stay this is an absolutely stunning hotel all 5 star qualities. The hotel is located high up on a hill and approximtaely 15 minutes outside of the busy Rome. The hotel provides a shuttle service daily that takes you to the Barberini Square every hour.

The rooms at his hotel is HUGE and all the rooms have a balcony with a beautiful view of Rome, including the Vatican City. The hotel has 2+ pools (in door/outdoor), restaurants, VIP lounge areas, spa, gym, hot tub, drinks, shops, and all the necessities that you might possibily need.

The only set back might be the cost of the hotel. We used our points and as Gold VIP, we also get unlimited snacks/drinks from 11am - 11pm and free breakfast by the pool every morning. if cost is not an issue to you, then this is DEFINITELY the hotel to stay in. You can go out during the day and come back to a peaceful night of sleep/rest at the beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dededa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,542 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#84 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing