We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Id give it 3 "verys"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #72 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2009

1. Very expensive bedroom for a nights sleep but nice.
2. Food and drinks are very expensive. A dinner will set you back a weeks wages.
3. Very nice shuttle service into Rome.

We stayed her several times, always on HH points. We've also been to many other Conrad Hilton's around the world. This was clearly the most "out of the way", expensive and crowded (neighborhood) facility we've experienced. The only food outside of the hotel is a pizza place about 2 blocks right of the hotel. It is a classic "rip off" establishment. The specialize in over-charging tourists in a big way. It took us 3 months to get the "extra charges" removed from our credit card bill.

This is clearly affordable only to people of means or on a business expense account.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,171 - 4,177 of 5,999 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

I took my wife to Rome for a special birthday and selected the Rome Cavalieri based on a deep experience with the Hilton brand and exhaustive search of previously written reviews by other travelers. I find it absolutely fascinating how different our experience was with the hotel than that of the previous reviewer. The previous statement is made knowing that happenstance often determines the quality of one's stay at any property. Because of Hilton Diamond membership, we were placed in a 6th floor room with a Rome view, including complimentary breakfast buffet and use of the "Colisseo Lounge', which may or may not be the same as the executive lounge but in any case is a nice benefit.....refreshments from 11AM until 11PM daily, on the Lobby level....very nice. The guest room was spacious, immaculate and comfortable. The A/C worked extremely well, sheltering us from the sweltering Rome summer when we returned from outings. We enjoyed a spectacular view of the city of Rome, and the pool area, with forested surroundings. The hotel is a great refuge from the bustle of the city....about a 20-30 minute, 12 Euro cab ride from Piazza Navonna. The frequent free shuttle to the city (except Sundays) is also helpful in defraying cost. This property reminds us of the way great resorts were a half century ago. Perhaps the best buffet breakfast spread I've seen anywhere in decades. An Olympic Pool. A classic bath house/spa. People leisurely swimming laps while breakfast eaters are enjoying their food alongside the pool. A country, exclusive setting. Spacious and elegant hall and stairways. Great art throughout. A Concierge operation that's run like an army; any request greeted by a prompt and enthusiastic "subito, Signore"....."Right away, Sir". It's very hard to hear the word "no" from that crew. One of the Concierge team that we met had been at the hotel since it opened in '63. The pool is lighted at night and there is live entertainment along side it, with a pianist and a vocalist....until late in the evening. The one problem I encountered was a "flakey" internet situation, which seems endemic (perhaps epidemic) in Europe. In fact the first time I tried to write this review (last night), when I had completed it, the connection just died on me....and I lost my work. Once I phoned the vendor (Swiss) and their "help" desk person was terribly rude and not very helpful. She was almost shocking in her sarcasm. Yes! The hotel is expensive. Five Star Hotels are expensive. It costs a great deal to run a business like that and they have to make money. I wanted a memorable experience and I got one. We even lucked into a spectacular fireworks display on our last evening; I suspect it had been arranged for a party that was going on at one of the swimming pools on the property. One note about our sightseeing in Rome. We got off the beaten track and went to Villa Torlonia.....a two centuries old public park (since 1977), which had been owned by a noble family; Benito Mussolini and family lived in the main house from the late 20s until 1943. The estate was occupied by Allied forces in 1943 or 44 and they just about ruined it. It has been undergoing extensive restoration for some 15 years and is an extremely worthwhile and educational attraction. The main house is close to exquisite....much memorabilia from the Mussolini era.....photos....displays....a film with home movies from the M. era.....there are a number of other buildings inside the Villa in various states of restoration. La Casa delle Civette (The Owl House) has some wonderful Art Nouveau windows.....at least one of them original from the early 20th century. The Limonaia (The Lemon Grove) has been reconstructed into a very nice refreshment and restaurant area, with a pizza oven and very reasonable prices....remarkable my Rome standards. This entire site was notable for its low quantity of foreign visitors.....I would recommend this attraction to anyone interested in Roman history of the past 200 years....and in particular of the WWII years. The Hotel Roma Cavalieri is a taste of century old life. It's expensive for most budgets, but worth it if you value the sense of history, class and professional service that it offers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I've been lucky enough to stay at this hotel 3 times in the past - but this is the first time since the hotel rebranded to the Waldorf Astoria collection -the "premier" Hilton brand

The design and location of the hotel means you run the lottery of a fantastic Rome view or a view of some telecommunications tower...I had the latter, which was a shame but the room was the same - without the view.

The highlight of this hotel is definitely the breakfast - both the service and the selection - and also the Giardino dell'Uliveto restaurant for dinner - both are situated round the pool area and offer a fantastic setting at different times of the day. This is apart from the waffle "chef" at breakfast who seems to work on his own agenda and despite confirming back to you what you have ordered - you get something completely different or you are left standing for ages waiting for him to appear. Minor complaint though as everything else is fabulous - warm and friendly waiting staff and there are plenty of them about - lots of smiles too, which is refreshing!

The service in the Hotel bar is also professional and well run and was consistent in its service standards during my stay and all drinks include a wonderful selection of crisps and nuts.

So whats slipped ?? the housekeeping really - the servicing of the room was inconsistent during my week long stay - the "turn down" happened some nights - others it didn't - when it did - sometimes the bed was "turned down" others it was not - sometimes there were small hard boiled sweets on the pillow (on previous visits these were lovely Baci chocolates!!) - other times none - sometimes the toiletries were refreshed - others not (used to be lovely Hermes - now its Crabtree and Evelyn - although I did see Acqua di Parma on trolley - but maybe you have to pay more to have these!). Also during the normal servicing of the room -the glasses were not cleared away and despite asking someone in the corridor with a trolley full of glasses to refresh mine - the never appeared and I was left to phone to have them replaced. There was a sticker that the previous guest removed from a new item of clothing and stuck it on the tiles in the bathroom - this remained on the wall during my whole time - attention to detail slipping

The hotel charges for everything - from the well documented 16 euros for a seat by the pool - to 9 euros for a small bottle of water from the minibar. Like the previous reviewer I've experienced the "health and safety " issue that affects irons in this hotel!! - and I brought my own this time - as 9 euros to press a shirt is a bit much

The average price for a Margherita pizza in Central Rome was somewhere between 6-10 euros - even in the real tourist traps - this hotel charges 24 euros !!!!

The hotel offers a complimentary courtesy bus to piazza Barberini which is well run. On one day it was busy the hotel paid for a taxi to central Rome for me and a number of other guests. This was not only a nice touch but also saved me the usual loud boasting that is common amongst a large proportion of guests who like to let you ( and the rest of the bus and any anyone else who can hear) know their travel history and the fact that they are here free using Hilton Honors points

This is overall a lovely hotel in a fantastic tranquil setting - but I think it's gone just too far in what it's charging for basic services. Service is great in bars and restaurants but housekeeping need a training session!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_extra_mile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

'Garden View' room was - car park, main road, block of flats with dog barking, commercial building with enormous metal tower/phone mast?? over a strip of grass. Directly under room was a place ( underneath hotel) where workmen were drilling/banging talking in loud voices, using mobile phones starting before 8 in morning. It went on for 3days almost our entire stay.
Rude person on front desk when we asked for an iron! Irons not allowed - health and safety??!! almost £10 to iron 1 shirt from their laundry! Now I see why irons are not allowed!
sun bed by pool cost 16 euros, 30 euros for fitness room. At 5* prices should be included as they are all over the world!!
We did not spend a single penny in this hotel as a protest.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthantsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUEST_RELATI0NS_TEAM, Manager on Duty at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2010

Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Rome Cavalieri, The Waldorf Astoria Collection during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are most grateful that you took the time to submit a review regarding your stay which we always read with utmost interest as this is the best means of measuring the standard of hospitality that we strive to reserve for all our guests.

The room you have reserved is a Deluxe room overlooking the residential area, but we also have rooms overlooking the city centre that could be reserved in advance.

We would like to inform you that the reason why irons are not allowed in the rooms is
because they are a hazardous device that could provoke a fire, thus our guests use our laundry service that is priced lower than other 5 star properties.

As you have noticed, we do have a three star Michelin gourmet restaurant 'La Pergola', but we also have a very nice Mediterranian restaurant 'L'Uliveto' which provides a variety of reasonably priced dishes compared to same level restaurants in the centre.

Thank you and we sincerely hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rome Cavalieri in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

it is the best hotel in Rome but a bit out of city center but you can stay there because easy shuttle service between city center and hotel...

Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
Thank AYFERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed here for a week and had a great time with my family. They have huge rooms and nicely furnished with a big Balcony with a nice view... Executive Lounge was the best one we've been so far. The hotel is indeed expensive but if you get an access to the Executive Lounge you'll save a lot of money on food and drinks..

Location is not the best but there's a free shuttle to the city center...

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakwatsera74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The only problem with this hotel is the price of the non included amenities. Everithing from the bar to room service and pool is very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrenovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,960 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#92 of 1,271 in Rome
1,481 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £189 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing