We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #67 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing Service”
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Everybody at the hotel was super nice, they gave us our own private area to stay and wait while we checked in. We got a tour of the Hotel which included the roof top restaurant which was closed at the time. We got tickets to the fashion show they were holding in the hotel and the after party. We got access to all the lounges. The hotel itself is beautiful inside, like a museum. We had beautiful views of the Roma skyline, the vatican and the colosseum. Everybody was really great. You really do have to pay for service now a days, but it is worth it!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,882
    1,045
    402
    209
    114
See reviews for
1,145
2,698
153
812
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This was a wonderful hotel, I would recommend staying on a higher floor, we stayed on the sixth with a city view thanks to the reviews I read previously...thanks for the tip! Because of the location it is very quiet, took taxi's everytime we left the hotel, just didn't feel like waiting around for the shuttle (that adds up). Everything is expensive but as long as you know that going in then you'll be fine. Not one complaint about this hotel or the staff, everyone we encountered was nothing but helpful and kind.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnd85266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I just spent 4 nights at the Cavalieri. Yes it is expensive but well worth it but be sure to get a room with a view. Hard to describe the majesty of looking over the city of Rome and seeing the Vatican as well. All the rooms are a large 500 square feet which is unusual for Rome. The service was top notch and with access to the Imperial Lounge everything was perfect. The shuttle was useful and if necessary a taxi into town was about 12 euros. The hotel is perched high on a hill and away from the bustle that is Rome. We enjoyed our time at this hotel immensely.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We were so looking forward to staying three nights at the Rome Cavalieri. We were celebrating our honeymoon and were so disappointed in the service level at this supposed 4 star hotel. Is it gorgeous? Yes, but most of the staff, and I am mainly speaking of the reception and management levels, were poor at best. We are diamond members, meaning we stay at the company's hotels on a very regular basis and are usually taken care of well above the necessary. Not this time though. When we arrived, we waited at the front desk for about five minutes while about 6 people joked around amongst each other about 10 feet away from us. I finally said I would like to check in and they said one moment. After a few more laughs together a woman checked us in. She forgot to give us our pool card (which we found out later, when we almost loudly got kicked out of the pool) and did not put us on the executive floor, as she were supposed to under our reservation. When we asked about it we were told rudely we did not qualify for that floor. But, being diamond members (yeah I know, it's silly but still) we are supposed to have access to that floor and the lounge on it.

Being our honeymoon one day we ordered champagne, and it arrived while we were out in town with NO ice. So we called down for some and they said it will be there in about 5 minutes. Well an hour goes by and were are about to head out for dinner so we call down again and they apologize and say it will be there soon. We get back from dinner about 3 hours later and still no ice..... there is no ice machine for you to get it yourself so we personally went down to the front desk and asked. Ugh

There were many little things that happened throughout our stay that were just not 4 star quality in our minds. The housekeeping service was fabulous and the maids very friendly, but they and the doorman were the only ones!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldSlacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I'll start with the bad. We stayed here for free with my hilton points and it was up on a hill with very few choices to eat nearby. The food available was extremely overpriced. I know I had the room for free, but I had to review as though I had paid. I had a cheeseburger and paid $32 euros. That equates to around a $40 hamburger. It wasn't that great. I know, what was I doing eating a hamburger in italy, but it was late in my trip and i wanted something other than pizza. The pizza was 24 euros. The bottle of water was 8 euros. 8 euros for a bottle of water???????????? That's insane and rude. Those prices are disgusting in my opinion. The amount people pay for the rooms should allow the food to be much cheaper.

The rooms were amazing and clean and awesome. The view was unreal beyond my wildest expectations. I felt like a prince. The staff was very nice and the pool/spa area was top notch. It is a fabulous hotel, don't get me wrong. Little things like the food prices tend to put me off, but this is a classy place.

oh..high speed internet for $25 bucks a day (approximate)...that's nuts.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtonstateguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I stayed one night in a cityview club floor room on the highest (8th) floor and my stay included access to the executive floor lounge. I had been to the hotel before when it was a Hilton and remembered the hotel was an ugly structure on a fabulous location. The lobby seemed to be in the same decor but the rooms, club floor and other facilities like gym, healthclub and pool complex are all updated in a sumptuous and total glamorous style. The club lounge is absolutely stunning, with different seating areas and beautiful outdoor seating overlooking all of Rome and the hotel grounds. The room is equally gorgeous and spacious and over the top in finishing and furnishing. Our balcony was spacious and offers full privacy. We found the hotel staff lovely. From check in to house keeping and lounge staff, everyone seemed to be genuinely kind. The lounge offers five f&b servings a day, and all day wine and Prosecco. Food was of good quality and continuously replenished. This weekend the lounge seemed quiet and the guest who were there were classy. Our stay also included the use of the health club and pool. It;s quite remarkable that regular guests have to pay to use these facilities including a pool bed. Since this hotel is extremely expensive I would feel that that is not right. The pool is gorgeous, large and very deep which keeps children away. There is another pool that is more suitable for them, so the main pool keeps nice and quiet even when all beds are taken. I hate children, especially those staying at exclusive hotels, they can ruin your experience with their obnoxious behavior. This pool is also used by local members and this certainly is a glamorous crowd that ads to the feeling of being at a very exclusive resort. The fact that they reserve their beds and don't show up until late in the afternoon is a concept that is plain tacky. Pool staff is not good. Any question asked was answered with 'room number?'. I had the impression they have the feeling they are more security than pool attendant. i have no idea why, you have to pass at least three security points to get to the pool, so if you are there, you have the right to be there. The weather was absolutely fantastic and we did not leave the hotel grounds until check out. We took a hotel limo back to the airport, the driver seemed very tired and drove exceptionally fast which got us to the airport in no time, but I would recommend to keep the speed limit and observe some safety in driving. This hotel is fantastic but only when staying on the club floor. That delivers the real value. This is a perfect hotel for staying in the summer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ny501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

good:
1. a lot of room in ordinary apartments.
2. the hotel is located within the town area in a quiet place.
3. a large swimming pool.
bad:
1. there is an ugly communication tower in front of the hotel that totally ruins the view and another half of the town view is shadowed by another hotel in front.
2. be attentive as you book via booking.com: breakfasts and access to the swimming pool is not included, so you will have to pay 36 euro each time for it.
3. internet price is 27 euro per day :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mankubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,622 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#88 of 1,256 in Rome
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,256 in Rome
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing