We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things about this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #65 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things about this hotel.”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

My husband, 15-year-old son and I just returned from an Italy trip which included 5 days in Rome at the fantastic Rome Cavalieri. We have nothing but good things to say. In the thick of the summer heat, there is, without a doubt, no better place to stay in Rome than this hotel, which has the true feel of a luxury resort in the hills overlooking the city. The massive, magnificent swimming pool (one of several on the property) was a glorious relief after hot days of seeing the sights and great for a full day of just plain relaxing. The grounds were extensive, beautifully landscaped and well-maintained. The hotel is luxurious and comfortable. Our room was spacious and elegantly furnished. Our bathroom was well-equipped and we were happy to find a US-style shower. True, the Rome Cavaliere is a 12-minute cab ride from the city center sights and restaurants ($12 to $20 US each way and readily available) but figure that into your trip plans--it is well worth the additional expense, especially in the warmer months. You do have to figure on taking cabs, as the hotel is in the middle of what is essentially its own hilltop park and we didnt' see anything you could walk to from here. There is a shuttle bus, but it never fit into our plans and with just one dropoff/pickup point in the city center, wasn't particularly useful. But I digress. Tthe fitness center was expansive, well-equipped and as good as we have seen in any 5-star hotel. The indoor pool was also large and gorgeous. Everything was quite up-to-date. Try to get a room overlooking the garden, which also gives you a city view of Rome. The staff was very nice, helpful and friendly. There was never the feeling they had their hands out for a tip. Pool staff was equally so. The trick here, especially if you are coming for the pool, is to stay in a room on an Imperial Floor, which will include the cost of sunbeds at the pool plus access to their lovely Imperial Lounge, with views and balcony tables overlooking all of Rome, plus a great place for your breakfast or light snacks/drinks the rest of the day. Cost of internet is high, it's true, but certainly not a deal-breaker. This is not a hotel for those on a tight budget, but if you are willing to pay for a top hotel, you should be quite happy here. Not sure I would stay here in the winter time, however, the courteous service, indoor pool and spa, and excellent accomodations might beckon even in the cooler months. We booked through American Express Platinum travel service and were greeted in our room with a chilled bottle of Proseco and sweets, as well as receiving other special amenities during our stay. Staying at this hotel added greatly to our vacation. After extensive research into where to stay in Rome in August, we were more than pleased we chose the Rome Cavaliere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,880
    1,044
    402
    209
    114
See reviews for
1,145
2,697
152
811
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Cavalieri for four nights during our Rome portion of our first Italy trip. The hotel did not disappoint. We stayed on the executive floor and the executive lounge was wonderful and fully stocked with anything you might want including a terrific breakfast and very accommodating staff. The Cavalieri isn’t in the heart of Rome, but the views overlooking the city are truly great. We ate at the restaurant while staying there and the food was good.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4FunVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Came to stay for 2 nights with our 8 yr old son back in April 2010.
From the outside looked like 70's style block of flats!!Not very pretty. Inside much better but still quite retro.
Discovered that we'd been given a twin bedded room deluxe room and not a double as requested. Since double rooms have all be taken up they kindly offered us a room with a Rome view. Fantastic views, could see the Spanish steps (though quite small) , Villa Borghese area, top of the Vatican and many more. Could also see the swimming pool and the beautiful hotel gardens from the balcony. Room was very spacious even after putting a rollaway bed in for our son. Bathroom was huge!! Bed was very comfortable and even had a pillow menu which included some weird and most exotic stuffing.
Went for lunch at the restaurant by the pool, their cannelloni was nothing like I've ever tasted before, WOW!!! Breakfast buffett was plentiful.
Husband and son used the pool only twice because you had to pay quite a lot for that. Everything is very expensive here at the Cavalieri.
A bit out of the way to reach the centre of Rome but could make use of the complimentary hotel bus transport.
A very enjoyable stay at the Cavalieri by all.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavershamtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My wife, 4 children (7, 5, 3 and 1) and i have just returned from a fabulous stay at the Cavalieri. For a family with small children it offers the perfect balance between sightseeing and relaxation by what must be Rome's best outdoor pool. We took advantage of Hilton's little publicised "family promotion" which gave the second (children's) room at half price and included free food and drink for the kids when ordering off the children's menu. A fantastic deal when you have 4 children!

We also opted for two Imperial rooms, giving access to the Imperial Club, a very nicely appointed "lounge" with great views over Rome, providing breakfast, a light lunch, afternoon tea, pre and post-dinner snacks and drinks, all complementary and open throughout the day. Again, a great facility when you have small children who need quick snacks and drinks at all hours, particularly on returning from a thirsty morning wandering around the dust of the Colleseum and Forum. The icing on the cake is complementary access to the fantastically equipped gym and pools (beware: "ordinary" room guests must pay a hefty charge to use the pools, which would strike most guests as odd).

We ate every night at the poolside Ulvieto Restaurant which combines great cooking with impeccable and friendly service. The 3 Michelin starred rooftop restaurant was closed during our stay but we were more than happy with what its little sister had to offer -- clearly there is some cross-fertilisation between the two kitchens.

Throughout the hotel, the service is top notch and genuine, with nothing too much trouble. The warmth and tolerance shown to our children was particularly notable, even by Italian standards.

We ended up spending a fair amount on taxis as although the shuttle bus into town is useful, with 2 possible stops (first near Popolo, then near Barbarini), we found the return trip of limited use as invariably we ended the day on the other side of town and didn't want to return by foot to the pick-up point and wait for the shuttle. This is however a small price to pay for the privilege of retreating to the calm of the Cavalieri and a dip in the pool!

My only gripe (and it's one I have with many hotels of this type) is the lack of complimentary wifi access for Imperial rooms (with all the other freebies on offer, charging 22 euros a day for something with no marginal cost to the hotel doesn't stack up).

As other reviewers have noted, it's certainly not cheap, but this is an outstanding hotel from which to explore Rome. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6fromW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I stayed there for a business meeting.
Room was great - clean, nice furniture, comfy, beautiful view from the balcony.
Cleaning service did a great job, came twice per day.
Prices in the hotel are crazy (Minibar Water 0,2ml 8€, Beer 10€, tiny bag with peanuts 9€)
Awesome conference rooms. Lots of art to see in the hotel.
I really enjoyed my stay there and slept wonderful (using the sound proof door to keep the noises from the hallway away).

I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiebke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Recently stayed for the second time at the Rome Cavalieri, and it didn't disappoint. We stayed in room 711, which had lovely views over Rome and access to the Executive lounge. The Hotel would definitely be in my top ten around the world, with amazing service, great restaurants and fantastic views over Rome. It's a little bit out of Rome (about 20 odd minutes on the once an hour free shuttle) and it's VERY expensive (40 euros for breakfast each), so worth getting breakfast in on your room rate or an Executive room with access to the Club lounge (free drinks all day, breakfast, lunch nibbles etc). As it was a special occassion (engagement) we pushed the boat out and ate at La Pergola restaurant on the roof - one of the best meals we've had, stunning views over the whole of Rome and nice, friendly staff who really made the vening (bill for 2 was 500 euro). For a special weekend / occassion the hotel won't disappoint but you need to start saving !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicholasashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This is an expensive hotel, it's certainly worth the extra to get a Rome View room but I could't help but feel that I was viewed as a walking wallet by the Hilton Group during my stay here. I had free access to the pool, but still had to pay 16 Euros for a lounger, and times four people that adds up quickly. Food, drinks and so on are also uber expensive - really nice but expensive all the same.

We had no problems with the shuttle bus, and taxis are easy and cheap to use anyway.

Rooms are really spacious, well decorated, great bathrooms and beds of the highest standard - although we stayed for four nights and it was pretty dusty towards the end of our stay.

The majority of staff were great, as you'd expect, but the reception is frosty at best and the front door is less than welcoming, I guess if I'd hired a Ferrari I'd have been helped with my bags but our hire car was a Ford and we just got a thumb over the shoulder to point us in the direction of the car park (5 Euros a day, almost a bargain) and lugged our own cases into reception (when they were collected and carried all of five feet into a lift for us in return for a tip...)

I'd recommend it, but be aware that it really costs far more than any other similar 5* hotel I've stayed at......

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,614 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#86 of 1,256 in Rome
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,256 in Rome
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Property: Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing