We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atlante Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlante Star
Ranked #378 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Mount Airy, Maryland
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We had booked for a room at the Atlante Garden Hotel, and when our complimentary shuttle from the airport brought us to the Atlante Star instead, I was concerned. However, Niko, our wonderful front desk clerk (or maybe he was the manager, he was always there and always helpful) assured us our room here would be lovely, and he was right. The hotel is charming, the service top-notch and the room was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately the roof-top terrace was closed for repairs. I highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay there again should I ever be so blessed to return to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alracyoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    367
    189
    110
    97
See reviews for
270
481
45
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bucuresti
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had a very nice room at the last floor, quite big, very nice bathroom with large jacuzzi. Breakfast was also good and from the restaurant on the top floor you can see part of the city , St Peter's Basilica and part of Vatican.
The staff is very friendly and helpful!
We had a short stay but we enjoy it completely

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

The reason we booked this hotel was due to the heavily promoted roof garden. Visions of sitting there sharing a bottle of wine remenicing on the day. However the roof garden does not exist and has not done so - apparently - for the last three years!! The hotel continues to use this feature as a main part of its advertising and I find it deceitful to say the least.
The hotel itself is tired and a bit grubby.
- Horrible bath with yellowing jacuzzi holes.
- Chrome bathroom fittings stained brown.
- filthy lift mirrors
- Grubby outside entrance
- Safe that didnt work meaning we had to take passports and all our money with us every day
- Unable to buy a coffee in the hotel lobby and no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
- Staff nice enough but not terribly helpful. However the woman who cleaned the rooms did a great job and was lovely.
- Rooms very small and dark not a place to linger long.
- Breakfast room lovely but not very clean. Wilting flower displays beginning to smell of rotting vegitation on the tables
- luke warm coffee
In summery no way is this a 4 star hotel. They need to stop advertising the roof garden.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heleng04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Wow! Just returned home from a short break with my elderly Mother. We were allocated a beautiful room on street level. Felt very safe as the windows were high up and protected by shutters and railings. There was no street noise due to the padded walls which were very decorative. A clean modern bathroom supplied with toiletries and a well stocked mini bar in the room. If you had time to view, there was a TV in the room with Sky channels. Breakfast is served on the 6th floor with amazing views of St Peters and the surrounding areas. Continental Breakfast consists of rolls, pastries, cheese's, cold meats cereal, eggs, jams etc, plenty to fill up on. The staff were fantastic, everyone was so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and always a smile. The mini bus was there to meet us upon arrival and you can pre book one back to the airport for just 40 Euros, this is well worth doing as the airport is a good 40 minutes away. The hotel is beautiful with lots of character and in a perfect location for visiting the Vatican area and other places of interest. Needless to say, we had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend this hotel for the service, comfort and prime location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita_and_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We booked for the roof garden which is heavily advertised by the Hotel so were very disappointed to discover it's been closed for years.This quickly clouded our enthusiam and made it harder to overlook the old and tired decor,musty smell in room,broken safe,faulty TV, wobbly shower, cold coffee etc-you noticed these small things more when disillusioned. All that said, Rome more than made up for this. The views from the dining area are good, shame the windows could'nt be opened or the area better used for residents at night.Don't book this hotel for the roof garden,
'it may open next year' we were told as we were checking out!

Room Tip: research the hotel reviews before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourists016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

The hotel had a lot of character, wonderful service, comfy bed and lovely bathroom. We loved breakfast looking out to St. Peters cathedral and found the staff very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend it and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if in Rome.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bellbird_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

I booked this room through a travel agency and me and my family were very disappointed. Our rooms were small and dark. The curtains and bed spreads were old and dingy. There was never any hot water for showers-Luke warm at best. The bed was as hard as a slab of concrete and the pillows were flat as crepes. The coffee at breakfast was never hot - like the shower it was luke warm at best. And the food consisted of hard rolls, hardboiled eggs, cereal and yogurt.
The location was close to Vatican city, but not within comfortable walking distance of any nice Piazzas with restaurants, shopping, etc.
I am not exaggerating. Do not stay here. I wouldn't stay here again if it were free!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia999Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#379 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#59 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#366 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#33 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#113 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#190 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlante Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlante Star

Property: Hotel Atlante Star
Address: Via Giovanni Vitelleschi n. 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#203 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlante Star 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star superior Atlante Star Hotel, situated in the heart of Rome, 3 minutes from the Vatican City and St Angel's Castle, 10 minutes from Navona Square and 15 from the Spanish Steps. All the rooms have been completely renovated, some offer a panoramic view and maxi Jacuzzi tubs. Owing to the wall tapestry, elegant furniture and interior decoration, they boast a personal and cosy atmosphere. We are the only hotels in the centre of Rome to offer a the exclusive free of charge Fiumicino - Leonardo da Vinci airport pick-up service, upon request and notification of your flight details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlante Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlante Star Hotel
Atlante Star Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing