We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Atlante Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlante Star
Ranked #430 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel in 2011. It is ideal for Vatican City and its very close to the metro station. Rooms are slightly on the small side but everyone was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Booked a long weekend here chosen for its close proximity to St Peter's and the Vatican and other major sights.
Arrived Friday afternoon only to be told overbooked? would have to stay in sister hotel 500m away for first night. Do not come on a Friday as most hotels change over on Saturdays.
room in Atlante Garden tired but very noisy next to busy main road. Staff fine. Continental breakfast good. charged 6 euros city tax?
Atlante Star the next day quieter, staff not as friendly, had booked a superior room, tiny at the back of the hotel.
Bathroom laughable for a supposedly 4 star hotel. Only a half sized bath, toilet that when you sat on it your knees had to go under the sink.
Breakfast fine, view from terrace stunning.
Pros near to sights. shuttle from airport but 40 euros to return.
Cons awful tiny room and bathroom laughable, 6 euros a night city tax? staff unfriendly.
Tired decor.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinWoolDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Being next to the Holy See and enjoiyng a romantic dinner in a Roman "terrazza" is indeed a unique experience.
Rooms are cozy, location is very convenient if you like to feel the vibe of Roman residents, not just as a visitor. Shooping in the Via Cola di Rienzo is very close, Castel S.Angelo within a short walk away.
I find this medium sized hotel offer a good combination of the best ingredients for a stay in the Eternal City.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer the best view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincenzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My mother and I spent 4 lovely days at the Atlante Star from the 12th of September. It is well situated as a base for exploring the city. Its' proximity to the Vatican City is a real bonus in terms of being able to arrive ahead of the crowds without having to get up too early enabling completion of a a tour before the masses arrive. The views from the roof are magical and it really helped to give us a sense of where we were in relation to the various things we wanted to visit.

Our room was very comfortable and all of the staff with whom we dealt were courteous, thoughful and helpful. We wanted to dine in the resturant on a night when there was a private function on the staff kindly accomodated us and both the meal and service were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great hotel, could easily be brilliant and up there with any of the best hotels. Location was perfect for us and the staff were very nice. Free WiFi in lobby was a bit slow and intermittent. The room was not ready when we turned up, despite us being given a key... However the staff dealt with it very well and made up for it. Dependable (free) Wifi in the room and a large safe in the room would be a welcome addition.

The roof top bar is wonderful. Free telescope (nice touch) to look at the wonderful views in more detail. Watching the city as the sun sets and stars come out is wonderful. Staff, specifically Elina who worked at the roof top terrace were all very helpful and polite.

would happily stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smasoncw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great location, handy for Vatican and transport links.Lovely terrace with fantastic views. Rooms need modernising and definately not 4star! A teatowel to dry hair? No tea or coffee facilities in room, not even a pen,!
Cleaning staff very friendly but one member of reception staff less than helpful but most were friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 97kathm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at the Atlante Star hotel as part of a travel group, although we arrived a day earlier on our own. Location was great. Only a 5 minute walk to Vatican City. I liked the fact we stayed in a quiet part of Rome with only a 20 minute walk to the popular destinations of the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, etc.

The hotel has a rooftop terrace and a covered patio that offer great views of Rome including St. Peter's Basilica.

The room was clean and adequate. We had a small balcony. Although it faced the back of the hotel, it was still nice to have the option to sit outside on our private balcony after a day of sightseeing.

Breakfast was good. Lots of food items to choose from. Just ask the waiter or waitress for a cappuccino if you do not want the coffee. Breakfast room was very bright and sunny. Nice place to start the day.

The only warning I would give is not to leave valuables unattended anywhere. This is a general warning and not just directed towards this hotel. My partner and I left valuables in the safe with the concierge without any problems - so this is okay. However, one of our travel mates from our travel group lost all of his expensive camera gear. He left it unattended for a few moments in the hotel lobby and when he returned it was gone. I'd suggest keeping an eye on valuables anywhere you travel in Rome. Even if you are staying in a nice hotel, don't get lulled into a false sense of security and get careless with your valuables.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#406 of 1,272 in Rome
1,019 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#60 of 1,272 in Rome
712 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#41 of 1,272 in Rome
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#329 of 1,272 in Rome
416 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#625 of 1,272 in Rome
831 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#125 of 1,272 in Rome
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlante Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlante Star

Address: Via Giovanni Vitelleschi n. 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#235 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £74 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlante Star 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star superior Atlante Star Hotel, situated in the heart of Rome, 3 minutes from the Vatican City and St Angel's Castle, 10 minutes from Navona Square and 15 from the Spanish Steps. All the rooms have been completely renovated, some offer a panoramic view and maxi Jacuzzi tubs. Owing to the wall tapestry, elegant furniture and interior decoration, they boast a personal and cosy atmosphere. We are the only hotels in the centre of Rome to offer a the exclusive free of charge Fiumicino - Leonardo da Vinci airport pick-up service, upon request and notification of your flight details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlante Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlante Star Hotel
Atlante Star Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing