We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Review of Hotel Atlante Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atlante Star
Ranked #423 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have been in this hotel on Jluy 2014 for only one night. The hotel is located 5 minutes walking from San Pietro Cathedral and 3 minutes from Caste Sant'Angelo. It is 10 - 15 minutes walking from Piazza Navona and Pantheon. The hotel is very nice and clean. The reception was fast and personnel very collaborative also to give indications where to go in Rome and how. The room was small but extremely romantic, with beautiful old but functioning furnitures. The bed was extremely comfortable. The wifi was free of charge. The breakfast was a regular one with an acceptable choice of food. The big part of the hotel is the roof garden: spectacular with a wonderful view over Rome. If I will have to stay in an hotel in Rome for sure I will come here again. The ratio cost and quality was an acceptable one, considering the position in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RobyRamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel ideally placed to visit the Vatican and related museums. Exceptional service and cleanliness. Roof terrace has super 360 degree views of Rome. Free Wi-Fi in lobby area only - proved to be a great meeting spot with other visitors.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigelandvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days with my mom and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is located just a few steps from St. Peter's, Castel Sant'Angelo and a nice shopping street. To the colosseum it is about 3 km, so it took almost 45 min to walk there but it wasn't so bad. You could also take a taxi. It cost us about 10 euros everywhere we went from the hotel (e.g. to the Colosseum, Terme di Caracalla).
On the 6th floor of the hotel, there is a panoramic restaurant with a wonderful view of St. Peter's. The breakfast was served here, so you can enjoy the view without spending a bunch of money for dinner there. Just next to hotel there is a nice restaurant Mamma Venerina with tasty pizza and reasonable prices.
The rooms were nice and clean. Problem was that there was no free WiFi in rooms as promised. The only free WiFi was in the lobby and that wasn't working anyway for half of our stay. We booked a deluxe double room, but unfortunately we've got one located in ground floor which was a bit disappointing for me as I'm kind of "the higher the better" and we could!t even open the sunblind because the window was turned to the street and people were walking just behind the window, so even though there were bars for our safety, we wouldn't have any privacy. However with closed sunblind the room was really dark (also thanks to its dark wallpapers).
The bathroom was ok but the bath and toilet were a lot scratched.
On the other hand, the housekeeping of the room was perfect. Everyday we came back to a nice tidy room with changed towels (without having to throw them on the ground).
The good thing was that the price of our room included a breakfast and airport shuttle service (only for arrival). The breakfast was tasty, although everyday the same - a selection of eggs, frankfurter, some ham, cheese, cereals, fruits and dessert, for drink 2 kinds of juice, water and coffee or tea. The panoramic view we enjoyed during the breakfast was excellent.

The only thing we were truly disappointed about was the complimentary airport shuttle service. I have been told, that upon our arrival the hotel driver will pick-up us at the meeting point and that because they provide a constant shuttle bus service, we can wait "a short while" and that they do not guarantee this service in case of flight delay... well we arrived on time, stood at the meeting point and waited... when no one came for 30 minutes I called to the hotel and I've been told that they waited for some delayed plane and that our driver will find us in 10 minutes. The driver truly came but he said we have to wait for other people... After another 20 minutes I asked how much longer and he said another 30 minutes! This really annoyed us because we were in rush for an evening ballet performance, but we thought that it's useless anyway to take a taxi after one hour waiting. But after those 30 minutes at 6PM there came one of the persons we waited for and started to explain that they are still searching for some luggage and that we have to wait. Fortunately the driver saw that by that time we were almost furious so he explained to them that we cannot wait any longer and that he will send them another bus and finally took us to the hotel (after 2 hours waiting at the airport).
So my advice is: if no one pick you up in 15 minutes after you reach the meeting point, take the taxi, because the time you spend in Rome is too precious to spend a time longer than the flight itself at the airport (like in our case).
On the other hand, the shuttle service for return was ok, because we booked it one day in advance and they told us the time of arrival from the hotel (depending on the time of our flight) and it cost 40 euros for both, which was cheaper than taxi and same price as if we paid for train, subway, etc.

Overall, I can recommend to stay in this hotel, I would stay there again, it is just good to be prepared for the few disadvantages I mentioned here, but otherwise the hotel is really good and I think that for Rome it is really a good value for money as I already stayed in a more expensive hotel in Rome and it wasn't better than Atlante Star.

Thanks to the panoramic view and location, this hotel is perhaps the best choice in Rome you can make...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelholic87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Sept 13. Initial impression small room and old fashioned. Reviewed this to cosy and comfy bed, very clean and classy. You're so close to Vatican and easy to get around from hotel. Thought it was really good value.£1100.00 for two for 11 nights in prominent capital city.

Thank Welshtravellers03-10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked a superior room, upon receiving the keys for the first time in my life I went back down to reception to confirm that the room we had been given was a superior room, I asked could I see a non superior room, the receptionist told us that they were all superior rooms upon which he very abruptly gave us the keys to 4 rooms and told us to look we did and took our pick. The hotel is in a 1960/70's style and has a lovely feel some of the rooms are being redone and are fantastic some are poor in regard to layout and design all are very clean, the lift is temperamental, the roof top bar and garden are fantastic and make up for any other misgivings this hotel may have, the restaurant is also spectacular, we took breakfast in the hotel one morning €12 each the food was perfect and the view fantastic if you are on a budget walk around the block and have breakfast with the locals in a cafe or bar it will cost approx €5 each. Please note you have to book the complimentary airport collection 3 days in advance we didn't but there is a bus €5 each to the central bus terminus and from there take the 40 bus which is another €1.5 each. We were charged €40 to return to airport as it was a late flight hotel kept our luggage after check out but had no showering facilities after check out. All in all I would go back to this hotel primarily for its location and roof top garden.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bregagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were spending a week meeting with people in the Vatican. This hotel was an ideal location; even with one member being in their 80s with a cane, the distance to the Vatican was quite walkable in no more than 10 minutes. Just be careful watching for scooter and bike traffic as you walk to and from. We felt safe walking this distance both during the day and after dark. Tons of restaurants in walking distance.

Hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant. Fluent in English and tried hard to answer every request we had. Airport pickup is free. It is not free to return to airport and we found that it was less expensive to hire a driver to take several of us to the airport rather than paying the hotel fee. So, it's worth checking your airport return options depending on the size of your party.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was a delicious European style buffet each morning. Breakfast was on one of the top floors with a beautiful view overlooking the Vatican. Tip: get there early if you want a good window side table as they fill up quickly. The fresh fruit also tends to go quickly.

Junior Suite was standard by European norms; small by US norms. However, quite adequate for two folks with enough separation between the two bed areas to have some privacy. Plenty of closet space. Fridge in room (yay!). Bathroom small but quite functional (neat shower).

Lounge personnel was quite pleasant and very reasonable glasses of wine were available from happy hour until 10 or 11. We enjoyed stopping for a glass of wine after spending the day at the Vatican and just to rest and catch our breath.

Hints: there are two elevators; everyone tends to wait for the one centrally located in the lobby which is small and can get tied up easily (especially if housekeeping is using). Walk back another 10 feet and there is a second larger elevator that stops at the half floors and at the rooftop level.

WIFI is free in the hotel lobby and is available starting at 0700 into the late evening hours. We had excellent connections, even able to have good Facetime conversations with family in USA. Same WIFI if you access in your room has a daily fee. Lounge area was frequently empty so it was very convenient to just pop downstairs to do email and facetime.

Beware of hotel renting out top floor entertainment level for wedding or other event. Saturday night stay was horrible, music was blasting from top level down to our floor until way late into the night. Even a pillow over the head did nothing. We assumed it was the hotel and figured nothing to do (actually kept thinking it had to end soon); when we mentioned to staff the next morning, they said if it happened again, please call them right away and they'd go ask the folks renting the room to turn down music. We only had this problem one night; all other nights were quite peaceful.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, Junior suite is a nice upgrade from standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXLUV2TVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was a five minute walk from Vatican Square. Room was typically European but clean with good facilities. Hotel had a roof top terrace which was lovely to sit out in the heat of the afternoon. Breakfast was excellent and service was very good from helpful and friendly staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eammul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#402 of 1,271 in Rome
1,010 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#41 of 1,271 in Rome
767 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#128 of 1,271 in Rome
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#56 of 1,271 in Rome
692 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#634 of 1,271 in Rome
822 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#165 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlante Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlante Star

Address: Via Giovanni Vitelleschi n. 34, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#229 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £84 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlante Star 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star superior Atlante Star Hotel, situated in the heart of Rome, 3 minutes from the Vatican City and St Angel's Castle, 10 minutes from Navona Square and 15 from the Spanish Steps. All the rooms have been completely renovated, some offer a panoramic view and maxi Jacuzzi tubs. Owing to the wall tapestry, elegant furniture and interior decoration, they boast a personal and cosy atmosphere. We are the only hotels in the centre of Rome to offer a the exclusive free of charge Fiumicino - Leonardo da Vinci airport pick-up service, upon request and notification of your flight details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atlante Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlante Star Hotel
Atlante Star Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing