We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why did I not read up, this is rubbish, I mean really really rubbish” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rome Open Tour Day Tour

Rome Open Tour Day Tour
Ranked #628 of 756 Tours in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the magical sights of Rome on an extensive hop-on hop-off itinerary through the heart of the city. Open top buses allow you to enjoy full 360 degree panoramic views. You have the choice of a 24 - 48 - 72 hours ticket with which to make use of all the stops in the most beautiful, cultural and evocative areas of the Eternal city.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Why did I not read up, this is rubbish, I mean really really rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We wanted to do a tour, got pursuaded to use this one for 20 euros each, it was garbed age real rubbish, the only thing it goes near is the collegium otherwise you see v little. The info is often given when you have passed the sight so missed it and is very little anyway. Rome is super and all of my reports have been very positive but do not go near this trip , it really is poor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 101MartinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    22
    23
    84
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Open tour bus rome”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The rome open bus tour( light green bus), I have to say was the worst city bus tour I have ever taken. We waited 45 minutes between each stops while 4 other bus company's buses came and went . When we bought the tickets they told us the bus would pick up every 15 minutes. When we got on the bus and told the lady of the wait, she didn't care and was very rude. The audio on the bus was terrible volume up and down my husband just took it out. Mostly music not much information about the sights and towards the end you could not hear the information at all, all the people on the bus were complaining about it. It was a waste of €20, €40 for both of us. Terrible service, other tour buses looked like a better service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nice and very usable for one or two days staying in Rome. Many stops in all of sights and goog commentary.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“rome.open bus tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

after viewing the vatican,we decided to use a open top bus.
red and yellow buses seem to be the choice.
they take u over the city viewing major tourist attractions.
great way to cover ground in a limited time.
its get on get off ticket all day,a great idea.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Shows you the best of Rome with convenience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Purchased the 48hours pass which in essence is valid for 48 hours after you board the bus much unlike other passes that are 2 day passes as against 48 hours passes. With proper planning you can get value for nearly 3 days.

We were able to see Rome and take proper pictures that would have impossible if one was walking. After the 2nd day I was able to navigate all inner routes to get to the piazzas easily.

The bus was mainly for longer journeys rather than taking taxis whose route was limited by the city.

Recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poppie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rome Open Tour Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Rome Open Tour Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing