We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first meal in Rome!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRATTORIA GINO E PIETRO

TRATTORIA GINO E PIETRO
Ranked #3,141 of 12,046 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great first meal in Rome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our first meal in Rome after checking into the hotel and exploring our surroundings. We had walked for hours and were tired, but we are also picky eaters so we needed to find a place that suited all of our tastes (we had 4 mouths to feed).

We stumbled upon Trattoria Gino e Pietro by chance, and it did not disappoint! The space itself was small/quaint and down a small alley off the main street. At this time of evening (around 6pm, I believe), it was pretty quiet with maybe 1 or 2 tables occupied. The food was great - we had lots of wine, sea bream, more wine, gnocchi and risotto, and it was all molto buonisimo :)

I should also mention that the owners were very nice and accommodating - this only added to the experience and was a nice end to a pleasant first day in Rome. Grazie!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank citydwlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    115
    49
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly service, well spiced food, lots of oil. Fuccacha was divine. Carpaccio was served strangely in a way that the meat was hidden beneath leaves and parmesan. It was ok. Spagetti with clams -no connection between the ingridients. Fair price.

Helpful?
Thank arnonira
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Why Here and Not Somewhere Else?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Good question, which I asked myself when we chose this place. For us it was simply that we left lunch a bit late and Gino e Pietro still has outdoor seating available, in an area where there are really quite a few small restaurants where people can dine al fresco (they were packed!). The menu has all the usual trattoria dishes; nothing really noteworthy but familiar to most and something for everyone. It seems to cater mostly to tourists but there were a few locals (inside) as well. Service was prompt and friendly. We simply wanted a pizza and that they have, a decent variety. I've had far better and far worse, so "average" springs to mind. The house red is typically rough but acceptable. So, a pleasant enough lunch that was very affordable, well served in a nice location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
135 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stopped in this place by chance. It was lovely lunch, the italian chicken was very good. Staff is friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice enough but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The salami platter was good and the pasta dish was nice enough but overall nothing special. I got the distinct feeling our pasta dishes had been warmed up in a microwave as they were all extremely hot. I had asked for tagliatelle carbonara rather than the advertised spaghetti but was informed this was not possible which gave me the impression the meals were pre-made up for microwave warm up. Tip; Plenty of other places to try nearby rather than having a "ready meal".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3xDarts180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TRATTORIA GINO E PIETRO also viewed

 

Been to TRATTORIA GINO E PIETRO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing