We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monument at Altare della patria”

Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.85*
and up
Vittoriano Panoramic Rooftop Viewing with Skip-the-Line Colosseum Tour
Ranked #29 of 1,497 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the center of Piazza Venezia, this grandiose monument, also known as the Altar of Patriotism, was erected between 1885 and 1911 to glorify the first king of Italy.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Monument at Altare della patria”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The monument, together with the whole Atare della Patria, is beautiful. It's part of the Rome's skyline, and therefore visible from almost everywhere in the city. Views from the terrace were also nice. We didn't take the elevator to the roof, though (7 EUR ticket, and there are many better points in Rome to look over the rooftops).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank goneglobal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,457
    2,112
    503
    94
    63
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting monument”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I enter the door of the museum, but as I was thirsty y climb the stairs following the cafetaria signs.When I found it, I also found the back door to Santa Maria in Ara Coeli and couldnt resist the temptation and visited it.Then in the cafetaria, i had a light lunch with a breath taking view.Walked the floor and bought a ticket to the uppur terrace. it was worthy the seven euros, the view is amazing and also the opportunity to see the quadrigas .went down the same way but this time I visited the unknown soldier tomb, the flog museum and also the migration museum.Very interesting ,free and unexpected.Happy to have seen it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cheptel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for the views”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Romans either love or hate this monument that dominates the Roman skyline. It's worth visiting for a couple of reasons. If you ride the elevator to the roof, you're rewarded with superb views of Rome, and afterwards you'll be able to orient yourself within the city since you can see the monument from nearly everywhere. We went into the museum that was showing exhibits of WW2 bombing in Rome by the Allies - all in Italian, it was critical of the "Anglo American" bombing that did relatively little damage to Rome. The monument has a solemn side, it's the resting place of the WW1 unknown soldier and the tomb is guarded by Italian military. 650,000 Italians died in WW1 alone (Italy fought with the Allies), a huge loss for a country of this size. This monument is an interesting way to develop some sense of what Italian nationalism means.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not an eyesore for tourists”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Apparently Romans think this is an eyesore, but I love this monument and Piazza Venezia. Make sure to check it out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it and pretty good museum”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

History of Italian army inside plus a few other gems. The building is epic and probably my favourite. Your not allowed to sit on the steps or even put your bag down, man with whistle dislikes you if you do! The statue can be seen from almost everywhere and is great at night.

Helpful?
Thank brooksonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II also viewed

 

Been to Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing