We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme

Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.46*
and up
Skip the Line: National Roman Museum and Diocletian Thermal Baths Walking Tour
Ranked #34 of 1,456 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built onto the ruins of the Domitian theater, this splendid palazzo houses beautiful mosaics and Roman statuary.
Ouyen, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I am so pleased to have set aside fatigue & museum burn out to visit this wonderful museum. The displays, the selection of antiquities and the informative panels make this one of the best museums I have visited anywhere - the Roman art galleries could take a note from these guys. You can take photos, talk aloud and discover much about ancient mythology, beauty and decoration. I saw better domestic panelling than in Pompeii! It is across the road from Termini and open late.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CTorpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,262
    376
    68
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I hadn't visited this before. There were very few visitors and some of the most amazing bronze & marble sculptures, ancient works of art and other collections I have ever seen. Lots of english language translations and a beautiful building to visit. The mosaics are sumptuous and unforgettable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jmhzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mostri!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

When I visited, the museum featured an exhibit of mythical monsters (mostri) such as Medusa, Hydra, Sphinx, etc. Very interesting. Also, lots of statues...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level Contributor
243 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Astonishing antiquities magnificently presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The frescoes, the mosaics, the marbles! It is the best, the absolute best place to see, learn about and LOVE the arts and design of imperial Rome. Best of all? We managed to be there, in a Rome simply jammed with tourists, when we had most all of the building to ourselves.

Take the elevator to the top (second floor) and start with the wall paintings. The "garden" from the Villa of Livia? breathtaking! Imagine this illusion of pastoral freshness transforming a comparatively dark space into the natural world. Then work your way in a leisurely manner through the Farnesina reconstructions. You will find no better explanation of upperclass Roman housing, and painted and stuccoed decoration than you have here. One could only wish they had been able to save more when the area was first excavated at the end of the 19th century. Then stroll through the sculptures on the first floor. Here the interaction of the Roman with the Greek starts to become clear. And pause by the "Boxer" and take a good look. (But beware of the alarms--I set them off leaning in to take a picture...) Maybe you will hear echoes of Paul Simon's "The Boxer" as you look at it. don't think there is any connection but there is in my imagination.

Finally, check out the temporary exhibition on the ground floor. The current one is "Monsters": chimerae, sphinxes, Gorgons, centaurs, and so on. So imaginative, so much fun.

Remember that the ticket takes you into the Altemps, the Baths of Diocletian and somewhere else, too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lnwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Museum was amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just amazing and spectacular to see all the treasures I've read about. Overwhelming to imagine such a culture existed so long ago and I can see it. Wow!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme also viewed

 

Been to Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Massimo alle Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing