We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps
Open today: 09:30 - 19:00
Private Castel Sant'Angelo Tour with Palazzo Altemps
2

Book in advance
from
£305.37
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps
from £305.37
More Info
from £25.78
More Info
from £171.02
More Info
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
329
159
26
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
159
26
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national museum egyptian collection roman museums private chapel magnificent collection on display special exhibit beautiful pieces pope pius near termini combined ticket heart of rome audio guide gaul ludovisi sarcophagus sculptures
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2016

It was a rainy day in Rome so we decided to go to some museums. The complex of the museu Nazionale Romano consists of 5 different museums at different places. Each one is worth seeing and included in the ticked price.
This was the third museum we visited this day. I liked it very much. The sculptures and the descriptions are well done. I particulary wanted to see the sarkophagus Ludovisi which shows scenes of Roman fighting against Germans. The way the Romans portrayed the "Barbarians" sure must have changed shortly. It is also interesting to know that the cover is in Mainz, Germany. And the only reason for this is that the sarkophagus and the cover were stored seperately in the house of the Ludovisi. Only recently they found out that they belong together. You do not have to expect crowded tourist masses and being pushed around. I totally recommend this museum.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank gerbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Fabulous museum for getting to better understand Roman history & how the society of both the rulers & the ruled changed throughout the millenia & what were the influences that triggered it. Very well laid out chronologically.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Elwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful building with great sculptures and art.. theres just so much to take in and so grand... great for a rainy day... went there before i went to the vatican museums so all day i was just in the museums and worth every second..

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Abdul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2016

This is a great way of spending a rainy afternoon. The museum offers a large collection of ancient statuary including the Portonaccio Sarcophagus, and is in itself a beautiful Renaissance/early baroque palace with many of the wall paintings still surviving.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank AngharadWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I love the 4 venues of the National Museum, of which the Palazzo Altemps is one. The works of art there are of the highest artistic quality; the Palazzo itself in which they are housed is a worth a visit and best of all it is nearly empty. All the tourists are running around in hordes at the outside sites. If you like art don't miss this. It has the marvelous Ludovico sarcophagus and also a spectacular statute of a Gaul stabbing himself after his has killed his wife. They think it may have been a companion statute to the famous "Dying Gaul."

The location is easy to get to also. It is just north of the Plazza Navona.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Edna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews