We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps
Open today: 09:30 - 19:00
Private Castel Sant'Angelo Tour with Palazzo Altemps
2

Book in advance
from
£305.23
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps
from £305.23
More Info
from £25.77
More Info
from £170.94
More Info
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
329
159
26
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
159
26
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national museum egyptian collection roman museums private chapel magnificent collection on display special exhibit beautiful pieces pope pius near termini combined ticket heart of rome audio guide gaul ludovisi sarcophagus sculptures
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2019 via mobile

Just a block north of the piazza Navona, this museum offers a nice collection of statues most of which derive from Greek originals. There are many of examples of gods and heroes, but also gems such as the Dying Gaul. The rooms themselves are worth seeing too.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank src277
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2019

Palazzo Altemps is a short walk from the Pantheon and Piazza Navona, and worth the walk. Many of the statues are Roman copies of Greek originals, often found missing bits, like heads. Fortunately at the time, the renaissance (and later), there were many renaissance-type sculptors around to remedy the aesthetical issues. The old building itself has many charms. Although the displays feature adequate interpretive texts, there is little unity to their presentation. The excavation of a Roman Villa underneath adds a dimension. One "ticket" gets one into Altemps, Massimo and another site.

Date of experience: October 2018
4  Thank BartSFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MNRomano, social media manager at Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019

I love it. This Museum is located across the street from The Termini (Metro/train station) in Rione. I got in for free on that day. Their admission free is less than 20 euros. The Borghee Gallery is not as good as this.

Date of experience: May 2019
3  Thank Winnie-StephenKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MNRomano, Social Media Manager at Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2019

it is quite large museum dedicated to ancient roman sculpture. dont miss the lusovisi gaul

there also a lot of statues dedicated to roman deities and emperors

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Chen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2019

Another in the Museo Nationale Romano group covered by the same ticket.

It was the last of the four we visited and by that time we were getting “museumed out”. However it’s a lovely building and the special exhibition of all the collections by Evan Gorga was well laid out and full of fascinating little objects.

The statues were less impressive and the interpretation in picture frames away from the objects made it a bit hard work,

The courtyard with its oval sunshade is a lovely peaceful place to sit.

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank Mobile809159
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews