We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps
Open today: 09:30 - 19:00
Private Castel Sant'Angelo Tour with Palazzo Altemps
2

Book in advance
from
£305.23
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps
from £305.23
More Info
from £25.77
More Info
from £170.94
More Info
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
329
159
26
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
159
26
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national museum egyptian collection roman museums private chapel magnificent collection on display special exhibit beautiful pieces pope pius near termini combined ticket heart of rome audio guide gaul ludovisi sarcophagus sculptures
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2019 via mobile

I would never understand why so few visitors are there. This museum is monumental!!!
The sculptures of gods, heroes, emperors, rulers and many more beside that are just too good to be missed.
There is absolutely no crowd. Make sure you don’t miss this marvellous opportunity to witness the glorious history of rome, the archeological wonders and the true greatness of the Roman empire.
This museum was brilliant

Date of experience: August 2019
4  Thank shashankai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2019 via mobile

My photo is of the statue found in the National Roman Museum called: Discobolus. The original discus thrower was done in Greece in 450 BC and many copies have been done since. The Ancient Greeks loved sports so much that they created the Olympics ca. 850 BC. The Pentathlon was created and added in 750 BC, where the discus throw was included as an event. It’s very noticeable how contorted the body becomes during the “windup” of the throw. This young sinewy Greek is much lighter than the much heavier discus throwers of today.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Peterharris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2019

The Roman National Museum is in several locations. The Palazzo Altemps is a Renaissance building which has MANY Roman sculptures. Many of the statues were in Renaissance collections. There is good curation (in English) so you can get information and context on the Art. It is sometimes quite jarring to see Roman Art displayed in Renaissance setting which is itself artistic!

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank 184DonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2019 via mobile

Just a block north of the piazza Navona, this museum offers a nice collection of statues most of which derive from Greek originals. There are many of examples of gods and heroes, but also gems such as the Dying Gaul. The rooms themselves are worth seeing too.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank src277
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2019

Palazzo Altemps is a short walk from the Pantheon and Piazza Navona, and worth the walk. Many of the statues are Roman copies of Greek originals, often found missing bits, like heads. Fortunately at the time, the renaissance (and later), there were many renaissance-type sculptors around to remedy the aesthetical issues. The old building itself has many charms. Although the displays feature adequate interpretive texts, there is little unity to their presentation. The excavation of a Roman Villa underneath adds a dimension. One "ticket" gets one into Altemps, Massimo and another site.

Date of experience: October 2018
4  Thank BartSFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MNRomano, social media manager at Museo Nazionale Romano - Palazzo Altemps, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews