We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steps from History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Steps from History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the del Senato. We shuttled in from the Rome airport after driving back down from our 10 days or so in Florence and rural Tuscany and dropping off our rental van. We were amazed as we emerged from a maze of streets to the square containing the Pantheon and the del Senato - it's literally right to the side of the Pantheon. The hotel lobby was cool and inviting on a hot day. The desk staff were fabulous. They were always at the ready and helpful with reservations, etc. Although the rooms are on the small side they are well appointed, clean and cool. We slept well!
We had a busy few days of sight seeing and enjoyed heading out to dinner - many walkable locations. The hotel is not far at all from Piazza Navona area. Also nice are the number of shops right near the hotel as well as famous coffee houses and gelateria.
We took advantage of the roof top terrace twice - unbelievable views - especially at night. It was nice to have a cocktail and look over the rooftops. Breakfast too was great - lots of things to choose from - pastries, scrambled eggs/bacon, toast, cereals, hard boiled eggs, meats, juices, nice pots of coffee, fruits, etc. The only very minor thing we encountered was a brief trail of ants in the bathroom - after using some hand sanitizer, we had no more visits.
In sum, I definitely would recommend this hotel, both for the great location and views and for the nice room, breakfasts, etc. We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herewegoDetroit_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,801
    461
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
816
1,801
104
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was the first hotel we stayed at in Europe. At first, we were surprised at the size of the room in general and specifically the bathroom, but we had been told to expect as much in Europe. The view from our hotel room was breathtaking to say the least - clear view of the Piazza and the Pantheon. With windows open, we could hear the bustling people below and performers at night. With closed, silence. The hotel staff was very nice - easily the nicest staff we encountered in Europe, and the breakfasts were quite good, though standard. Rooms were clean and rooftop bar/garden was exceptional. We are very hard to please, but this hotel is well worth the money. We would absolutely return.

Room Tip: My wife found the hairdryer to be much too hot; the bathtub is oddly shaped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richheitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

The Albergo del Senato hotel was lovely. The staff was extremely helpful and very professional. They went out of their way to help us and we really appreciated that. The location was perfect right beside the Pantheon so there was plenty to see and do right outside the hotel door. The room was very clean and serviced every day and night. The rooftop bar was the perfect location to watch the sunset over Rome. The breakfast each morning was very nice with plenty of choices and great service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clgarb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and it lived up to expectation. Great location, clean, safe with excellent staff. We were collected by a driver (can be prebooked on their website), well worth the money and not much more than a taxi. The front desk staff was very helpful recommending good restaurants, booking tours etc. Our room was exceptionally clean with a turn down service in the evening. The rooftop bar had lovely views and excellent staff.
Look forward to staying there when I return to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichF18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I loved the location of this hotel, especially since it was right next to the Pantheon. Breakfast was very good, and when we missed the time period one day, food was brought to us at a different location than the breakfast room. All of the people who worked the front dest were extremely helpful and informative. That being said, our room on the second floor, in front of the stairs, needed some improvements. Even though it looked out to the Pantheon as we requested, it lacked the remodeling that other rooms had. I would have requested a newer room, but thought the rooms had all been remodeled. Just make sure that you request a newer room, as the prices were the same. My cousins had an end room on the third floor overlooking the Pantheon and it was beautiful! They paid the same price as we did. That really upset me, since we stayed for three nights, and they stayed for one. If I return, I will stay there, but will make sure that I get a better room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveling2_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miinnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed four nights in mid-June. My wife and I had an interior room, which was very nice - our son had a single, which was almost as large, and had an incredible view of the Pantheon below. The staff was knowledgeable (excellent restaurant recommendations) and helpful.

In Rome, location is everything, and no hotel of comparable quality has a better one. Everything is within walking distance, and what a great city to walk in! It is expensive, but worth it if you can handle the cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Rome was the first stop on a 15 day trip to italy and greece for us newlyweds. We checked into Albergo del Senato on a Saturday. We arrived early in the morning and our driver took us to the hotel, where the room was waiting for us, even though it was ~9am! (we even could have had breakfast, included, if we wanted!). We checked into room 608, which I would argue is one of the best in the house---It was fairly spacious with a work desk, chair, fridge, NICE coffee maker and station, very spacious bathroom with a window opening up to the pantheon and a killer terrace, with just enough privacy for honeymooners but still great views of the pantheon and people below. We looked off both to the pantheon and to these lovely italian homes next door with blooming rooftop gardens and an old Nonne tending her flowers and having afternoon coffee. It was so great!

LOCATION
The location can't be beat. You are within a 15-20 minute walk from just about everything---spanish steps, trevi fountain, Via Condotti (best shopping!--July is the time to go for all the sales! It makes the USD actually work in your favor---or at least, you come back having saved money!) There are fabulous trattorias around. One of our favorites was Miscellanea (order the Fragolin wine!)--it is just behind the Pantheon, about 2 minutes (walking). They have very low prices and high quality---it brands itself as a student-pub, but looks like most of the others (see my other review). There are also a ton of other restaurants within 1-5 minute walk. Don't eat right on the Pantheon---they charge a 1-2 Euro cover charge per person, which seems ridiculous since you can see the Pantheon from the hotel! There is a gelato place next door that is okay, but if you walk a little further, you will find the BEST gelato---great prices and about 55 flavors to choose from. Seriously. Get the pear or peach---just amazing. Ciro Ciro is also good---try their mussels with pasta---very reasonably priced and fresh, not frozen.

**be careful to ask for no bread if you don't want it---otherwise you are charged 1-2E, standard, apparently, in Rome.....

Also note that because of its proximity to the Pantheon, there is a taxi stand across the square so finding a taxi is never difficult! (The hotel of course can call one, but super easy to walk out the door!)

ACCESSIBILITY
The elevator is really slow and very small--if you get nervous in confined spaces, you may be hoofing it up the stairs. We typically just climbed up and down---was no big issue for us.

RESTAURANT/BAR
No restaurant; breakfast is pretty good though.

The rooftop garden is pretty spectacular. They have views over the Pantheon and people below and have a bar. We never order from the roof, but I hear from others it was pretty good and reasonably priced as well. Just drinks though, no food.
BREAKFAST
The hotel has a standard European breakfast in the morning. Ours was included in our rate. It is scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, canned fruit (usually peaches), dried fruit, yogurt, an assortment of breads and pastries, cheese, meats, etc. It is actually one of the better european breakfasts we had on our trip. We stayed 4 nights. They also brought us breakfast to our room for free. Check on this, as this may have been negotiated by our travel agent or a honeymooner thing, but it was a very nice plus---we could eat breakfast on the little bistro table and chairs overlooking the Pantheon!

ACCOMMODATIONS
We had a king-ish sized bed, which we realized on day 3 was 2 twins pushed together---I guess it was a good thing it took us three days to notice? I suspect it is because of the small elevator. We didnt have an issue with it, but just in case, probably something worth noting.

Also, I recommend you go to a local market store to buy water. Although the water is drinkable, I always like to purchase it when abroad. it is about 1euro for a 1.5L bottle. The provided a few in the room complimentary, and because it was our first stop, we came with a few ourselves, but we just moved the mini bar items into a drawer and stocked up the fridge ourselves!

The bathroom is very nice---marble everywhere and very spacious. The bathtub was deep and large, and the shower had both a "rain" shower head and a detachable handheld. The towels were new, very soft, and very absorpbant (not scratchy or "pretty, but not useful" kind)

INTERNET
They provide a computer downstairs (possibly two?) but we had our laptop and a code for free wireless. The only annoying part was that you had to log in every time you turned the computer on and the codes are long---also, the signal wasn't spectacular, so if it is slow, just log off and back on.

HOUSEKEEPING
Housekeeping was great. It was twice a day, and they were quick! I never noticed them come in or out---we left at random times and came back and random times and they had always been there to clean everything out, make the beds, fresh towels, and were generous with the shampoo etc! They had nice bathrobes and slippers---and nice hardwood flooring. Also, the terrace was impeccably clean. you know if they can keep the outdoor terrace in great condition that the room will be even nicer!

SERVICE
The concierge, front desk and just about everyone were friendly, accomodating, and willing to help and go the extra mile. They have accurate recommendations for eating and activities, are prompt, etc.

I am more of a "Ritz Carlton" gal, but I thought this was great---and the prices were very reasonable--overall, I was incredibly happy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcamp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,355 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing