We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A wonderful hotel with a very friendly atmosphere, it also felt like the staff could not do enough for us. The hotel is central to all the major sites in Rome and we had a fantastic modern, clean room overlooking the Pantheon.

I was recommended the Albergo del Senato by a friend and I will certainly be recommending other friends and family to stay here when in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,926
    474
    78
    34
    11
See reviews for
865
1,871
109
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My group stayed at this hotel for three nights before we disembarked on a cruise around the Mediterranean and it was such an amazing experience. The central location was worth every penny, the view from our room was a direct view of the Pantheon, it was breathtaking. The staff was helpful and kind, and the breakfast was always top of the line. It was clean and offered all of the ammenities you would expect from a hotel. We were able to walk to all parts of Rome from our hotel, colleseum...vatican...villa borghese...traverste market...and much more. We all agree without a doubt this would be the place to stay for all future vacations to Rome!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Location, location. location - that is what you are paying for here. Bang on the Piazza della Rotonda, and with many rooms having a direct view of the Pantheon. The hotel has a roof terrace too (check times - I think it is closed 'out of season') with a view of the Pantheon, Piazza and surrounding rooftops.

We went with family. Hubby and I had a double (interior well view) and the other person had a 'single' which turned out to be a small double, right on the front with a cracking view of the square! Both rooms were fine - ours felt a little bit more 'old fashioned' furnishing wise, but everything was good quality, and the square view room was beautifully furnished. The 'view' room was naturally more noisy (Rome never sleeps), whereas our room, though no view, was wonderfully quiet.

Breakfast was fine - not a massive choice, but totally acceptable.

The whole place has an air of olde worlde charm, a faintly mellowed grandeur. Service was very friendly and efficient. Hotel was spotlessly clean. Nothing was shabby. And for what you got, I thought the prices were an utter bargain.

I would definitely stay there again, hubby was more unwilling despite the fabulous location as he likes a much more modern vibe. However, both of us thought it was a good hotel that could be recommended. And the 'other person'? My 75 year old ma-in-law who loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Many thanks to the staff of this incredible hotel. They made our stay perfect in everyway possible. From the room with a terrace view of the pantheon to the Happy Birthday bottle of chilled Prosecco and hand written note (in calligraphy no less) from Mauro. We never mentioned it was my husband's Bday when checking in. The staff genuinely seem happy to be working at this wonderful hotel.
I could sit in bed and look at the Pantheon!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona49463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This hotel was on the piazza next to the Pantheon. Everything about it was excellent. We were a family of 3 and had a lovely room overlooking the piazza, we only had to open our windows to feel the wonderful buzz from below. Great location for all the sites and we really got the feel of Rome by being there. The staff were friendly and helpful, it was clean and elegant while still having an intimate feel. We weren't there for the season when the rooftop garden was open (we went in late March 2010), maybe next time! We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the piazza, even though it was not high up we did not have a problem with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We loved our stay at Albergo Del Senato. The location is perfect and the view of the Pantheon from our room was amazing. We cannot wait to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caritsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This hotel has the best location in the world. Look out of your bedroom window right into the Pantheon! I have travelled all over the world and this is my favourite for business and pleasure. Although it has no restaurant, all the other services are 5*. The staff are outstanding, especially Mauro and his colleagues on the front desk. They never need to ask your name. Beautiful roof terrace for sundowner drinks overlooking the rooftops of Rome, over the Pantheon to St Peters in the distance. Do not miss this hotel - the best kept secret in Rome....walk round the corner to the Enoteca Capranica restaurant....walk to the Piazza Argentina to visit the cat sanctuary....

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Piazza Rotondo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suntandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,675 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,258 in Rome
182 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,141 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,258 in Rome
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing