We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Albergo del Senato, a true gem!”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We decided to return to Albergo del Senato after a perfect visit in 2010. Upon arrival we were very pleasantly surprised to find out that we had been upgraded to a suite, what an awesome gesture. As usual, everything about del Senato was perfect, the room had the best view in Rome, the Pantheon, so close you could almost touch it!. The staff is superior, many thanks to Ms. Johansson! The breakfast staff is lovely and attentive, with wonderful coffee and plenty of items to choose from. Everyone at del Senato is very friendly, helpful and polite. We also were lucky enough to have a drink on the rooftop terrace, one of the most beautiful views of Rome at night imaginable. Albergo del Senato truly rates 5 stars!!!! Another PERFECT stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k9poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,284 - 2,290 of 3,627 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

I spent weeks researching our hotel as it was a special occassion for my husbands birthday . As usual trip advisor did not let us down . The room looked brand new the view I imagine must be one of the most special and breathtaking in Europe and the service was flawless. The location for Rome was fabulous. The only thing that could be better is the breakfast whilst it was adequate and offered the usual continental fayre it could've been upgraded a bit....fresh fruit etc. If you get a good internet rate without breakfast take it as the most amazing coffee shop in Rome is around the corner 0.90 euro for espresso and 1.20euro for cappucino best coffee I,ve ever tased in my life!!!! Think is called Tasso d'oro. As for Albergo Del Senato we were delighted with our choice!!!

Room Tip: Ask for view of Pantheon think they are 3rd floor and above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparklebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

An oasis of calm in the very middle of Rome's tourist madness. We stayed for five days in a very pleasant triple room which was spacious enough for my partner and I and our 12-year-old daughter. Loved opening the shutters onto a perfect Italian streetscape view. On the subject of views, do not miss an aperativo at the rooftop bar at sunset, looking out across the terracotta roofs of Rome and below to the lively Piazza della Rotonda and the quite literally awesome Pantheon. That the Pantheon was right next door was a real bonus because we visited it early, before the tourists crowded in, and late at night, when it's dramatically lit. Last but not least, every single member of staff at the Albergo del Senato went out of their way to be gracious and thoughtful. I received a bottle of prosecco on my birthday with a very fancy hand-caligraphed card. If I had just one suggestion, it would be softer pillows please.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casa_t-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Senato is located within steps from Pantheon in old Rome. The hotel has great rooms at good prices which include breakfast. Hotel staff is exceptional especially Mauro at the front desk and Michele the barman on the rooftop who mixes the best martini and Bellini in Europe!
Stay at Senato, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Corner suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The overall quality of the hotel is excellent. However the simple twin rooms on the first floor are quite small. It is definitely worth it to upgrade to a triple room on a higher floor. Also do not trust the front desk restaurant recommendations, and avoid the restaurant "La Donata at Due Colona" at all costs, in my opinion. Otherwise front desk is very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor triple! It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank compound7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelSenato, Front Office Manager at Albergo del Senato, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Sir,
as always we do thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would take the opportunity to inform all our future guests that our rooms are all with different sizes even if the same categorie. We suggest you to make a request if special needs for your accommodation, we will do our best to satisfy you when possible.
Furthermore I would like to inform you that when we do suggest a restaurant we always try to find out the best choice for our guests expectations. We do always follow up when guests are not satisfied and in your case the main problems seemed to be that the restaurant did not eccept American Express to pay the bill. In Rome not all restaurants do except credit cards and if yes, not always all of them.

I do remain at your disposal for any furhter requirements regarding.

With Kind Regards
Ann Johansson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The staff was gracious, patient and accomodating in every way. They arranged private tours with an excellent guide and transportation to and from the airport. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the view of the Pantheon from our rooms was amazing. The hotel enhanced our stay in Rome. We were within walking distance to many major sites and in the evening we relaxed at the rooftop bar. We plan to return to Rome and will stay at the Senato.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfq1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is just a lovely hotel on the most gorgeous piazza in Rome. The view of the square and the Pantheon make it special. Ask at the desk or the bar for restaurant recommendations, it's difficult to distinguish the great from the terrible restaurants without local advice. The rooms are on the small side, but nicely done, and because of the view they don't feel cramped at all. We stayed on the 6th floor with a small balcony, it was superb.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keshet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,863 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
226 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,269 in Rome
1,015 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £138 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing