We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and a wonderful hotel”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My daughters and I spent three nights here in May. What an incredible experience! The location is magnificent. To walk out the door of the hotel and be greeted each morning by the Pantheon was more than we could have imagined. The location is in walking distance to so many of the things one wants to see in Rome: Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain, the list goes on... Our room was spacious and clean, and the staff was a delight. They went out of their way to help make our stay in Rome special. They even checked with us via email before our arrival to see how we would like the beds in the room set up. The breakfast was excellent, far better than many of the other "breakfast included" hotels we visited in Italy. Don't miss the rooftop terrace! There is no better way to end the day than to sit on the terrace, enjoying a drink from the bar and looking over this glorious city. Although the Albergo del Senato was a little pricier than hotels I would normally choose, it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cltbtbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,149 - 2,155 of 3,704 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. When we arrived the front desk was friendly and professional. They upgraded our room to one with a view of the Pantheon. The room was spotless, charming, and had a large bathroom. The rooftop bar has great views and wonderful bartenders who provide lots of help with tour ideas and restaurants. The breakfast was excellent. The most important thing about this hotel is the location. I have been to Rome twice now, and I would never stay anywhere but in the Pantheon area. It has the best vibe, due to being a pedestrian only area. Lots of old cobblestone narrow streets to explore, and great restaurants, coffe shops, and Gelato places within easy reach. Far superior to the Spanish Step area in terms of restaurants, walking distance to attractions, and overall experience. In my opinion, this hotel is the best in the area due to its views, rooftop bar, and great staff. You should not hesitate to book this hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank cherb1733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a senior suite.We were with our 18 year old grand daughter and our suite was large and comfortable.Our view was of the Pantheon. Even though the Piazza was very crowded and noisy, our room was quiet. Breakfast was O.K., but my husband said that the coffee was awful. The bar was a treat and the bar tenders were friendly and competent.The only criticism we have is that we left a package with reception to hold until we got back from sight seeing.When we returned, they couldn't find it and denied that they had it. Sure enough.they did find it, but negected to apologize for their mistake. We do, however, have to compliment Alessandra.She was helpful and competent. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We highly recommend getting a room with a view of the Pantheon and the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The location was perfect but the main selling point for us was the unbelievable staff. Luca especially went above and beyond,yet they all were so helpful. They assisted us with buying a phone, setting up train tickets, giving us directions to all the places we wanted to see, all in perfect English. We had the presidential suite and it had plenty of room for 3 of us giving my daughter her own space which she enjoyed. We can't imagine ever staying anywhere else when we return.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the presidential suite and it was perfect for our needs. Try to get a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at the Albergo del Senato for a night before a cruise and 4 nights after. Simply cannot say enough. For our first stay, we were upgraded to a suite. Second stay was in a superior double with a view of the Pantheon. Rooms were clean and comfortable and provided a great central location for our explorations of Rome. Staff were phenomenal - with special mentions for Luigi and Mauro who went went way beyond any expectations in helping with issues we encountered with limo reservations and travel arrangements.

The included breakfast was a great start to the day - and the rooftop bar a great finish.

As mentioned in other reviews - Internet access was spotty in the rooms. Good access in the common areas.

All in all - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Loved the suite what we were upgraded to. On the 4th floor with a view of the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CYOW-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have hesitated in writing my review of Albergo del Senato because I am in total agreement with all the wonderful things said about this hotel. However, I did want to add to the chorus of praise. We stayed here for eight nights in May. It couldn't have been nicer. Our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. I had asked for a room overlooking the Pantheon and felt like I could reach out and touch it. Breakfast was as nice a way to start the day as was the the Rooftop Bar to end it. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable. We would stay here again and I have already recommended it to my friends.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 403 overlooking the Pantheon and the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalibooNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just spent a week in Rome with my husband. The Albergo del Senato is just such a great hotel. The location is fabulous - situated on the Piazza Duomo - it is literally a stone's throw from the Pantheon. When we opened our room window we felt that we could almost touch it. The hotel is an easy walk to so many other attractions and excellent restaurants. The staff are lovely and relaxed and helpful! Breakfast is great, the rooftop bar gives you a great view over the city. Rooms are smallish but perfectly formed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel that looks out over the Piazza. They are double glazed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,023 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,273 in Rome
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#44 of 1,273 in Rome
1,057 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,273 in Rome
3,055 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,273 in Rome
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £114 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing