We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo del Senato
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Adriano(Rome)
US$200
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa San Pio(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$323
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$160
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gerber(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vatican View(Rome)
US$274
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$223
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$263
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,776)
Filter reviews
3,776 results
Traveller rating
3,150
499
82
34
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,150
499
82
34
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barpiazza della rotundaroom overlooking the pantheonperfect locationstreet performersfront desk stafftrevi fountainwithin walking distancewonderful hotelspanish stepstaxi standturn down servicewalked everywhereloved this hotelpastriesbottle of proseccotrip to rome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,165 - 2,170 of 3,776 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed in the Albergo del Senato for two nights end of July. Nothing but good things to report. Location is absolutely fantastic, room was clean and quiet, staff is great and helpful (nice to hear some Dutch words :-), breakfast was very good etc. We had a great time on the roof terrace which has a beautiful view on the Pantheon and the Rome skyline. Hotel is centrally located with many monuments within walking distance. Entering the lobby after a day (or night) in the city feels like coming home. Next time we visit Rome (and we will) we will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ex1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Can't beat this location, right at the piazza next to the Pantheon. Rooms are small, difficult with 2 adults and 2 kids, a little crammed. Room faced interior, no view but quiet, we prefferred that for a good night sleep. Breakfast was not good, very mediocre. This hotel wins only for its convenient location, you can walk anywhere from here and it's easy to find your way back. Not a good hotel if you travel with kids or want a nice stay at a hotel. Rooms are a little dated. No help with luggage and kid needs. A little too pricey for the hotel quality.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep get a room without a view. The front of the hotel faces a the lovely Pantheon and piazza but its loud.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelSenato, Manager at Albergo del Senato, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,
I do take the opportunity to answer you and at the same time inform all our future guests that our triple rooms are for maximum 2 adults and 1 child (a second child could be allowed only if under 2 years old and sleeping in the parents bed). If you claim to be comfortable and stay in four in one room you do have to reserve our Apartment/Junior Suite or the Two Level Apartment or if needed two bathrooms you do need two rooms.

Luggage handling is availble from 7am until 11pm every day and as already mentioned of our guests reviews on TripAdvisor; our breakfast buffet is not big like in a 5 star hotel but more than adequate for a 3 star hotel.

If you do not mind I would appreciate if you could send me an email with suggestions for facilities to increase for kid needs.

With Kind Regards

Ann Johansson
a.johansson@albergodelsenato.it
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I am A frequent traveller and often stay in capital cities. I hav visited Rome countless times now and have found that rooms are tiny and service inconsistent.

This hotel surpises on a number of fronts. Our room was bigger than expected. I was concerned Bout this because trvelling intercontinental, we had HUGE suitcases. they fit well in the room and once we put the. away we had enough room to walk around the room.
We had room 306 and it has a view on the pantheon and a bathroom with full bath. The room was very clean (not quite immaculate), and the hotel provides turn down service. I wasnt too bothered about this at first but as we were walking around all day in close to 40 degrees it was wortwhile because they changed our towels.

So bathroom is well equipped with everything you migth need.

the breakfast is adequate for a 3 star hotel. We enjoyed it because it was quite healthy but if you a used to those buffets in 5 star hotels with all sorts of stuff you might be disappinted.You can order breakfast in your room at no extra charge which was excellent and arrived in 5 minutes both times!

Service at the front desk was excellent especially during th day with Alessandra and Mauro (both mature staff with it appears long tenure). the service on the rooftop was pretty shoddy, but I understand the normal staff were not on duty. We were offered a voucher for a free drink and on the first night she refused to honour it. We had dnka there. few times and I have to say they were very poor quality. However the location is fabulous so worth either starting or ending your evening qith a drink here, just stick to a bottle of wine (ie closed) if you can.

I was impressed also with the decor in the hotel and the fact that everything seemed freshly painted, which is uncommon in Italy in a 3 star hotel, especially during a recession.

Another bonus was that the hotel has chairs and tables right outside overlooking the Pantheon. This area of Rome is A real tourist trap (with overly expensive and low quality eateries) so it was nice to be able to eat a panino or an ice cream there as opposed to paying to sit down elsewhere.

One thing I did notice was tht others were paying far less than us. We paid euro 205 per night exc. of takes, and others seemed to be paying euro 150 or there abouts,I am not sure if they were in one of the lesser rooms but it suggests that you might be able to shop around for a better rate on those websites that allow you to book. Breakfast is included in every rate so dont be fooled that this is some kind of benefit.

The best thing of coruse if the location, you really are in walking distance from everything! Not to mention the Pantheon which is one of the most impressive monuments and squares in Rome!
OVERALL EXCELLENT Rating, great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Pantheon. If they can at all they will oblige your request.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed in the Albergo del Senato twice on our most recent trip to Italy. The location is fantastic and we had amazing views of the Pantheon from both of our rooms. Our first room (104) was small but very nice, and the bathroom was small but had a full tub. Despite being on the first floor at the top of the stairs it was extremely quiet, as many of the reviews have noted. We loved having the exterior shutters plus the curtains to black out the room - it helped with jet lag! Our second room (407) was larger and a bit more luxurious, and the bathroom was larger as well. Again, it was extremely quiet.
Breakfast was a very nice buffet. The best feature of this hotel was the free WiFi! It was the only hotel we stayed in during our trip that had free WiFi access, and we used it quite a bit. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the cab stand just on the other side of the Pantheon was very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LizH7955711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have been to Rome countless times and I have to say that for tourism this hotel is perfectly located - 20 mins walk from all the main sites from the Vatican to the Forum to the Spanish Steps.

The hotel is high quality, clean, and professional.

The staff are delightful, helpful and fun.

The bar top terrace is great but note no sunbathing.

A real find and I'll be back next time I'm in Rome.

Some rooms are on the small side so an upgrade is worth considering.

Breakfast was great and service was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NightOwl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews