We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, this is indeed the best located and friendly hotel in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Flintshire, North Wales
Level Contributor
94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Yes, this is indeed the best located and friendly hotel in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spent four days at this hotel in their mini apartment that caters for a family of four. We enjoyed every minute of it. We did not have a view of the Pantheon, but that didn't matter. We were located on the ground floor, just a few steps from the breakfast room and also just a few steps to outside where there it was- the most majestic 2000 year old and best preserved building of ancient Rome. What more could you want. The Palazza Rotunda square was a lively square with lots of restaurants surrounding it and all the main sites of the Spanish Steps and Fountain Di Trevi within a short walk through the quaint narrow streets full of interesting places. We booked tickets online for the Vatican and the Colleseum and packed in all we wanted to see in this short time and the Albergo del Senato was the most convenient base from which to explore everything.
This 3 star hotel is most affordable, but it is like a four star hotel. It has a fantastic view from its roof top bar where you can go for late night drinks and a good variety of food in the breakfast buffet. There are many great restaurants nearby to take lunch or dinner with outdoor seating areas to watch the world go by while you sip on your cool drink. The staff at this hotel are very friendly, will help you with any informationyou may require and I can't recommend it enough. It is indeed the best!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MVM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,808
    461
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
820
1,804
104
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson,Nv
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The reviews are all correct about this hotel. The hotel's location is perfect for sightseeing in Rome. The lobby is bright and well decorated. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was a double which was small, but comfortable and clean! The bed was queen sized with nice linens and pillows. The view of the Pantheon from our window was breathtaking. It was
42 c when we were in Rome so the air conditioning and a fabulous shower with luxurious toiletries was a definite plus. Breakfast each morning was excellent. In the afternoon the roof top patio was very relaxing and once again the staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is an excellent value. It deserves all the praises it has received. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are on side streets ask for a room facing the Plaza. There is noise during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CAM_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is a brilliant hotel, perfect location for wandering around Rome. The welcome was warm, friendly and extremely helpful. We highly recommend that use the roof terrace to watch the sunset and have a pre/post dinner drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Wow! An awful lot of great reviews here and all I can do now is add our own agreement to what so many have already said. Sorry it took so long to review this place.

We are a family of three with at the time of our stay an eight year old daughter. We were there in January 2012 for a week as part of our continuing trend of visiting warm cities on our winter break - not being ski freaks.

We'd been to Rome before and stayed close to the Vatican on the other side of the river. That as nice but this was much better.

This hotel excelled in every respect aside from perhaps the size of the room but that's not a complaint so much as statement of the bleeding obvious with hotels in central Rome, London, Paris......

Staff, whose names I sadly forget now, we're superbly calm, friendly, helpful and informative. Room was small but big enough that we didn't feel too cramped, well decorated, clean and functional. Breakfast was very good as for Italy. I'm sure the roof bar is great in spring, nice views.

On top of everything is the unbeatable location. From here you can get easily by foot to all the parts of Rome you might want to see. At a push you might want to catch a cab to the Vatican entrance but that's the furthest away and still easily manageable on foot if you haven't already been trekking for a week! You'll never get lost because its next to the Pantheon and everyone knows how to find that!

Aside from the sightseeing, the immediate area is great for finding restaurants, ice-creams or whatever you might need for your stay.

Highly recommended. Really.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WarsawScatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

we stayed here on our honeymoon. couldn't have been a better place to stay in rome. the weather was very hot, so it was great to have such a central location to return to in the middle of the day to hide from the worst hours. the rooms are on the smallish side but i guess that is normal in Rome. Staff was very friendly, rooms were very clean. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for six nights with our two sons, and we're very pleased with everything about this hotel. Communication was excellent before our arrival, and the staff was very helpful making reservations for dinner and booking tours and excursions. The staff at the front desk were warm and very helpful with any questions we had.

Our rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, with luxury Fragonard toiletries that were a pleasure to use. The breakfast was a highlight, with a nice variety of foods served in a lovely room. We also enjoyed the beautiful Rooftop Garden bar each evening with its amazing view over the Roman skyline. The view of the Pantheon is breathtaking, and the central location makes it easy to explore Rome. We loved this hotel and would never stay anywhere else again when visiting Rome.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank joidevivre29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Bellissimo, everything everyone says is true. Would stay here again with no second thoughts. Our room 603 with small terrace beautifully appointed clean and quiet...what more could you ask for. Location superb. Look no further just book it... Ask for a room with a view on level 6 !

Room Tip: Room 603 was great and the airconditioning works well !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdelaideLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing