We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in an amazing location. What a view!”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
carlisle
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in an amazing location. What a view!”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay in the Senior suite at Albergo Del Senato and had a fantastic time.

Location_ could not be better as all roads seem to lead to the pantheon and all the major sites were easily within walking distance. The view form our hotel room was amazing as it was from the roof top bar. Make sure you go up before the sun sets and have a glass of something fizzy with some free nibbles. Even nicer to go back at the end of the evening as many of the sites are lighten so look even nicer.

The room- we stayed in the huge senior suite on the 4th floor. Amazing views over the pantheon. Huge bathroom with nice toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. Had a separate living room and walk in wardrobe. Almost too nice for the amount of time we spent in it! It was lovely to open the window and hear the sounds below in the piazza della rotunda but by closing the window we were undisturbed by any noise. The hotel did a turn down service at night.

The hotel- beautiful building and well maintained.Gorgeous staircase. Wifi worked well and managed to face time the children back home.

The breakfast - excellent coffee and buffet had everything you needed to set you up for the day. A shame it was indoors and not the option of eating at the roof terrace but was very good nonetheless.

The staff- Aleesandra and Mauro were particularly helpful with directions and also eating recommendations and reservations. Ask them- they were very helpful and the food we ate during our stay (especially the sea food) was exceptional ( la sagrassie around the cover was lovely) as was the further away Eleanora D'arborea- best starter ever! Just around the corner was the " best coffee in Rome"- Alessandra will mark it out on a map for you.

We did a bike tour with Top bike rental which was an excellent way to see the city. we did the 4 hour private panoramic tour. I would highly recommend.

All in all a beautiful hotel in an amazing location. Worthy of it's status as number 1 in Rome.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YummymummyCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,953
    476
    78
    34
    11
See reviews for
873
1,888
109
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The staff, location, breakfast, room - - everything was great! The staff, without exception, were helpful and very friendly. I'd stay there again for sure!! The location is central to everything we wanted to see in 2 short days and next door to the Pantheon!!!! We expected a contental type breakfast but there were eggs, cereals, cheeses, fruit, juices, sweet rolls, and many other choices. Excellent! The staff were always on top of anything we needed. When we were getting ready for check out we were taking our luggage out to the hallway for pick up and one of the maids was cleaning next door and she insisted she take the luggage to the elevator, not us! There was also a charming rooftop bar where we ended each day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaGrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is an excellent hotel in a wonderful location in the heart of the city - 30 metres from The Pantheon. Piazza della Rotonda is a vibrant, atmospheric spot and is great for people-watching. Its central location makes it a great base from which to visit all the must-see sites in Rome. A former palazzo, the hotel is comfortable and relaxed with friendly, efficient, knowledgable and very helpful staff. Breakfasts are extensive and very good with probably some of the best scrambled egg I have had anywhere in the world! A days sightseeing is rounded off with a drink on the great rooftop terrace, followed by dinner at a nearby restaurant recommended by hotel staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

How can you go wrong when you stay next door to one of the most historic sites in Rome? We did 3 nights here before heading to Positano for 4 nights. When we first arrived at the hotel in Rome, I thought that maybe we could have selected a hotel closer to public transit, ie trains. The train system is not as prevalent in Rome as in Paris or Boston (hometown), for instance; so, when I finally realized that, I could not have been happier with our location.
Breakfast was what we expected from an Italian hotel buffet.
Our room was simple, but actually very spacious. We were on the 2nd floor in the back, so we didn't have any noise distractions. We had no view, but the view is right outside the hotel's front door! Even on your most tired day after touring, you are steps away from decent restaurants, great gelato, and a lively atmosphere!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and area to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel on Tripadvisor and it was everything it was made out to be. Excellent location for touring of Rome with a pleasant rooftop bar to retire to before a dinner somewhere local and usually with a reliable recommendation from the staff.
The property is first class and very European in style so don't expect big rooms. The front desk staff were excellent. In particular Mauro, Luciano and Luca provided professional, friendly and helpful advice always. It was like returning home each evening and able to recount the day with these staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here last month for two nights. After a long flight, we were very excited to be shown to our room, which had been upgraded to a suite. It was like nothing I have seen before, 4 poster bed, painted ceiling and chandelier. The bathroom was just as amazing, very modern and an excellent standard of fittings. The location was perfect, we were able to walk to everything. Plenty of excellent restaurants and gelati shops in the area. A "must stay, when in Rome"

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna4061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Loved the hotel. Mauro was fantastic at the front desk. The staff at the on the terrace were awesome. All the staff were great, actually. Can't beat the location. The views were breathtaking and we got some great pictures from the rooftop bar. If we go back to Rome we will stay here again. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade of your room. Worth a little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,736 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,261 in Rome
195 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,178 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing