We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel has it all! The most gracious and efficient staff, perfect location (you can almost touch the Pantheon from your window), gorgeous rooms, and delicious breakfast. The Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are easy walking distance. The square is filled with quaint restaurants with outside tables, singing and even a cellist! You will not be disappointed! Ask for a room with a Pantheon view. Amazing place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square can be noisy if you leave your windows open. We had the corner room on firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardfarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,935 - 1,941 of 3,628 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, with a lovely warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff are fantastic and the location right near the Pantheon could not be beaten - so many great restaurants and gorgeous little shops, and within walking distances to many tourist attractions. Also a fantastic breakfast buffet. I wish I could've stayed longer!

Room Tip: request a room overlooking the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Thank you Albergo del Senato for a wonderful stay in Rome! We loved our top floor balcony room overlooking the Pantheon so much it was hard to leave it. It was beautifully decorated and so comfortable. Alessandra and the rest of the hotel staff were warm and helpful. Even after checking out they continued to make us feel welcome. We did not leave the city until early evening - they stowed our luggage securely with a smile and helped us get transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evansksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This hotel more than earns it's number one rating! I had the pleasure to experience why for two nights in September (Sept 19 and 20th) I stayed in a twin room that opened up to the lively square below, facing the Pantheon. I loved opening the shutters and windows wide to listen to the crowds in the square. The room itself was lovely and the bathroom had a fabulous shower. I also enjoyed the free wifi in the room .The staff was fabulous everywhere in this hotel. Front desk always gave stellar recommendations for dining, roof top bartender was amusing , breakfast room staff quick and efficient.
This is by no means a budget hotel, but the price is well worth the service and the location is amazing! To walk out of your hotel and be the first one in the Pantheon and basically have it to yourself, is worth the splurge!

Lots of places to eat around, beware of those "hustling" to get you you inside as you walk towards trevi fountain though. There is a gelato place next store which was delicious and the staff was always friendly. The breakfast room at the hotel was lovely with many choices.

There is a cab stand just on the other side of the Pantheon and Rome is not an expensive city in which to use cabs. (be warned though, that the cab drivers at the airport DID try to overcharge us to get into the city from Fiumicino!)

Upon my return to Rome, i would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: Said many times, but overlooking the piazza and the Pantheon just can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelwithNoRegrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

It would be hard to say how my experience at this hotel could have been better.
First, it is a beautiful facility, with smallish but very nice rooms. My single had a comfy single bed, a wardrobe, a desk and chair, a nice flat screen TV, a minibar. The bathroom was large and lovely, white marble, top notch fixtures.
The public rooms are beautiful, bright and cheery, the breakfast room very nice. As was the breakfast.
One huge plus for us were the two small elevators, needed for one in our family with some mobility issues.
Another great plus was the rooftop bar. What a view...what a delightful way to spend some time relaxing before going out to dinner or to finish out a long day sightseeing.

The staff was very nice, especially at the front desk, friendly and helpful and full of good information to any questions.

But maybe best is the location, right across from the Pantheon on the delightful Piazza Della Rotunda. You are in the heart of the old city, with many sights just a short walk. There are a couple of nice restaurants right on the piazza if you don't want to go too far, pizza places, gelato places, a great place for delicious sandwiches, a bank machine, a taxi stand....
Yes, the piazza is full of people late into the night, but with the shutters and double windows noise was never an issue and I could spend hours sitting at my window, watching the crowds, the performers, the musicians day and night. And the view at night..the Pantheon lit up....wow.

A very nice hotel, at a reasonable price that I would recommend in a minute.
And that I hope to return to on another trip to Rome someday.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the Pantheon and the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caitemaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We returned to Albergo del Senato after returning from a Celebrity cruise for a short, but restful stay again at this awesome hotel. To sum up our stay here takes few words. This 5 star hotel simply has the best of everything. The staff, the room, the breakfast, the location, and certainly the best view in Rome of the Pantheon make this hotel a must stop if you are staying in Rome. We cannot gush enough about the staff and their hotel, Albergo del Senato, the finest in Rome!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have an awesome view of the Pantheon-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k9poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Once again fellow TA reviewers pointed us in the right direction. When reviews are so positive I sometimes wonder a bit whether there is just too much hype. Not so at Albergo del Senato where my wife and I stayed for four nights earlier this month. We highly recommend it for many reasons. The location is perfect: either walk to all the major sights or walk across the small piazza to the taxi stand. Others rightly mention the amazing views of the Pantheon right outside the front door. Above all, the staff: friendly, helpful, welcoming from the first email to the last goodbye. When they figured out we were there for my wife's birthday, that evening we returned to a beautiful hand written card with a chilled bottle of prosecco. When the light rain started, out came umbrellas in a stand. They arranged airport transfers. We splurged on a suite but the other rooms we peeked into looked very nice. It is well maintained. Modern large bathrooms. The terrace and roof bar offer views down to the 2,000 year old Pantheon below but across the rooftops to St. Peter's across the Tiber. We found the breakfast buffet to be perfectly nice. The room can get a bit crowded if everyone sleeps in on a weekend morning and arrives at the same time, but that wasn't really a bother. It is a busy area given its location, which is one of its advantages. When the windows were open you get noise from below but when windows closed we didn't have an issue. We highly recommend Albergo del Senato and without a doubt we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Seminario Suite named for the street below on the side of the hotel. Worth a splur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,866 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
226 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,269 in Rome
1,015 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £140 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing