We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Charm”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location and Charm”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Love the location of this hotel. we loved overlooking the pantheon square and watching the sunset in the afternoons. This was a perfect place to retreat every night after our tours.
Great little restaurants in the square too! Staff was super friendly. Love our room with tall ceilings and canopy bed...very grand

Room Tip: overlooking the square and higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,926
    474
    78
    34
    11
See reviews for
865
1,871
109
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at this perfectly located hotel that offer good, clean room, good service and wonderful views on the pantheon. The rooms are nicely decorated and perfectly clean. The people at the reception are very kind and welcoming. We'll go again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cscappar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for this hotel and their staff, great location in the Pantheon square, easy walking to Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps.Many great restaurants in the area, makes sure you get the recommendation from the staff at reception.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 day break at the Albergo del Senato- Rome. The staff were lovely and the room fantastic, directly overlooking the Pantheon. The hotel was everything we needed and was in a central location allowing us to go everywhere on foot.

We both celebrated our 40th birthdays whilst staying at the hotel and returned back to our room one evening to a a chilled bottle of prosecco which we thought was a lovely touch. I would recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

There is something to like about waking up every morning, staring out the window, and seeing the Pantheon, that would make the Albergo del Senato worth the money, even if it wasn't great in so many other ways. We spent 6 nights here in a 4th floor room, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Check in was straight-forward, and our bags appeared in our room minutes after we arrived. The room was smallish by American standards, but very complete with shower/tub, minibar, closet space, desk, safe, small flat screen TV, and a dozen or so lights. Wifi was free, and worked reliably the entire time of our stay. One negative -- AC was turned off for the winter, and so the entire room heating adjustment was 21.3 degrees to 24.8 degrees, heater only. That didn't work for us, so we ended up leaving the window open all night (which can be a bit noisy). There was a sensor on the right window which turned off the heater when open. If one really wanted both heat and air, you can leave the right one closed, and open up the left one only, which has no sensor. Anyway, I would have preferred some AC, even in Feb.

The bed was comfortable, and the room decor was very nice, with hardwood floors, marble bathroom, and nice window and wall coverings. I wish there was just a bit more storage for our bags, but maybe that is our fault for overpacking!

The included breakfast buffet was very complete, with a choice of 4 fresh juices, 2 cereals, meats and cheeses, small sandwiches, bacon and eggs, and different caseroles and special breads every day. Also, the two people who ran the breakfast learned our tastes the first day, and brought us what we wanted without asking the other days of our stay. Me: Cappuccino, my wife: a pitcher of soy milk for her cereal and/or decaf americana.

Maid service was similarly flawless. I like to say hello to maids in the hall, not catch them cleaning my room, and they managed to get our room cleaned every day when we were not around.

I didn't like the one restaurant recommendation i got from the front desk, so I didn't ask again. TA is better at finding decent restaurants near the Pantheon, and there are many, just not in the Piazza. I also didn't like that they tried to sell me the car service to the airport. They wanted 65 Euros which included a "night service" premium of 5 euros. Taxis to FCO are a fixed price of 48 Euros 24/7. So that is the way to go. There were no taxis at the taxi stand across the square when we left, but the front desk clerk ordered us one and the taxi arrived in 3 minutes. This was at 5am.

But the front desk was helpful in other ways, and we asked them questions almost daily about one thing or another. All in all, the staff was wonderful, top to bottom.

Don't miss the rooftop garden, even if it is not open for drinks this time of year. Views of the piazza and surrounding area are outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We have traveled to Rome many times and used budget hotels but this time decided to try the Del Senato for a special anniverary trip. We were upgraded to a junior suite with a beautiful view of the Pantheon and Piazza della Rotunda. The staff was always friendly. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, pastries and cakes as well as everything else you would expect. The rooms included thoughtful touches like hooks in the bathroom and robes. Towels were very nice. The only thing I would change is to make the reading lights a little brighter. While there was a little noise from the piazza, if we closed the shutters and the window then it was perfectly quiet. We did not hear any other guests. We really enjoyed having the room that overlooked the piazza. We definitely hope to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palatino82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Excellent location next to Pantheon and within brisk walking distance to all the major sights. Good facilities. Welcoming efficient staff. A few minor issues with room. Continental breakfast.Would definitely recommend for a first visit to Rome (as ours was). don't go to the Fortunata Restaurant nearby (aloof, expensive, food poor)

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrian R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,676 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,258 in Rome
182 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,142 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,258 in Rome
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing