We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Holmes Chapel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Visited Rome hotels many times but never been as impressed as we were with this hotel. Most welcoming staff and an excellent twin room which was quiet although with no great view. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice . Lift a bit slow but there is only one. The staff make this place. Always helpful and understanding of travellers needs. Only one one minor niggle. There is a hospitality tray which is unusual in Italy but was not automatically replenished.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancienttrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,808
    461
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
820
1,804
104
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I chose this hotel based on two reasons - 1. Tripadvisor reviews and 2. Location. We were not disappointed at all. The hotel is situated right on the Pantheon square, with the hotel making up one of the sides. It has street appeal and warmth on arrival and the reception staff are just first class. They are more than willing to help and make your stay a good one. It had marble flooring and good art work (it looks much more than a 3 star). I had heard that the rooms in Rome can be small, but as well as the double bed it had a dressing table, 2 seater sofa and 2 bedside cabinets and a built in wardrobe and safe. Fantastic marble bathroom and all very clean. The window had blackout curtains and shutters which were closed at night by the staff. Good power shower which always had hot water, hairdryer and shampoos etc all as you would expect. The rooms had cloth wall linings which gave it a luxurious feel (ok don't imagine a royal palace or you may be disappointed), but all added to the feel and experience of Rome.
There was a buffet for breakfast with scrambled egg, bacon, toast, boiled eggs as well as a feast of cereals, cold meats and fruits etc which we just what we needed for a hectic days sight seeing. Again the staff were friendly and happy to help.
This hotel was very well situated literally in the middle of anything that is worth seeing in Rome. Only 30 minutes walk from to the Vatican and 30 minutes walk to the Colleseum in the other direction. As I said earlier the Pantheon is next door and the Navona is just a 5 minute stroll away. The Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps are 10 and 15 minutes away respectively so really a perfect spot, for a great hotel at a good rate. No need to look any further if you are sight seeing or wanting a good hotel for a base!
Thank you Albergo Del Senato

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel service as a good starting point to visit almost any place in Room walking. Not that bad with taxi. The train station is not far at all.
The room were not that spacious but that is the nature of most European hotels.
The staff were great. They were very friendly and would try to accomdate you anyway they can.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Pantheon. When you take a taxi to the hotel don't bother with the giving o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Java_rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We got off a cruise ship and wanted a few more days in Rome - the hotel arranged our transport (clean nice van, arrived on time), had our rooms ready when we got there, and when we walked in and saw the view overlooking the Pantheon, could not believe we found such a beautiful spot. The service was impeccable from the time we walked in, had our complimentary breakfast, and enjoyed our cocktails in the evening (it was too cool and rainy for the roof bar but we took great pictures up there). We found the room fully appointed. down to slippers and bathrobes, and a flat screen TV.

Luca at the desk was a great host.

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room, on an upper floor with a view of the Pantheon - it was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I give it two stars just because it is in a great location and the front disk staff are nice. Other than that, it is not what I was expecting. Rooms and hotel in general need to be updated. Also it was very noisy I struggled to sleep at first night as you can hear every noise from the street. Everytime people above our room use their toilet or shower I feel as if there is a huge waterfall above us, it's too loud it wake me up several times in moring.

Helpful?
5 Thank gmila
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DelSenato, Manager at Albergo del Senato, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Sir / Madame,
As always we do appreciate the reviews that our guests write in order to continually improve the service of our hotel and we are sorry to learn that you had a bad experience staying with us.

People who are very sensitive to noise could feel uncomfortble if a room overlooking the Pantheon Square on the lower floors even if with double glassed windows and shutters. At the request of a customer who expresses discomfort we are used to change the room, or even better, at the time of booking is advisable to ask for a quiet room.

Albergo del Senato has a total of 56 rooms and in the last years we have refurbished so far 33 of our rooms. Other 11 rooms will be refurbished on the first floor in the beginning of 2014 and the following year the missing 12 rooms on the second floor. Furthermore we have refreshed a part of the lobby area and in our business corner we have two computers and a printer for hotel guests use.

However, we do hope to have you as a guest in the future. If you do decide to give us a second chance, please do contact us directly, and we would offer you a free upgrade if available.

With Kind Regards

Ann Johansson
a.johansson@albergodelsenato.it
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Unbeatable location next door to the Pantheon and pretty much within walking distance of most of the main central tourist sites.
It's an old building and some of the rooms are a little dark, but that minor gripe is far outweighed by all the positives: the lovely staff; excellent buffet breakfast and general ambience etc.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kameruka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is in the heart of the city. Our room on the fourth floor had a wonderful view of the Pantheon and the piazza. We enjoyed watching the crowds in the piazza and listening to the street musicians. The Collosseum, Forum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and Piazza Navona were all within a short walk. The Vatican is 10 minutes by taxi. Our room was average sized for Europe, but well appointed. The hotel staff was professional and helpful. We enjoyed the Terrace Bar in the evenings with spectacular views of the surrounding sights, including the Vatican. Our stay at Albergo del Senato was the perfect start for our vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor or above overlooking the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Native_Texan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,372 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing