We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location to explore Rome.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location to explore Rome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Myself and wife had the pleasure of staying here for 6 nights at the beginning of December 2013 and would highly recommend this hotel. It is on the doorstep of the wonderful Pantheon and is within walking distance of most of the major sites (Vatican, Trevi fountain, Spanish steps and Colosseum). The room was nicely decorated, comfortable and clean with the only downside being the slightly cramped ensuite bathroom. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful with the least amount of fuss and we will definitely be returning here on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davtrav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,805
    461
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
819
1,802
104
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We traveled all over Italy and really loved this hotel. It was only a three star but had everything we needed. The room, location (right on the piazza with the Pantheon) and price were outstanding. Luca was our primary contact and he was very nice and helpful. We stayed four nights and loved it. Our room was 202 and had an excellent view of the Pantheon and the piazza as well as the fountain and a small side street (we had two windows). The breakfast buffet was great! Such a comfortable place in such a huge busy city. We were close to everything from Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, the Forum and Coliseum. Shopping and restaurants and great old churches everywhere. There was an ATM directly across the piazza too. We could get Euros with out messing with those rip off cash exchange places. There was a Gelato shop next door and tons of restaurants right up any of the small streets that shot off in all directions from the piazza della Rotunda. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 202 and loved it. Great view and quiet part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DougW1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Top marks for this hotel. Our morning flight to Rome was so delayed that we arrived after midnight to find the bars in the lovely Pantheon plaza full of people and buzzing with life. A pleasant introduction to the historic centre of the city. Yet inside the hotel it was an oasis of order and calm. A friendly greeting, a small, cozy and modern room, clean and quiet, and a wide comfortable bed ensured a good night's sleep.

The hotel has lots of rooms overlooking the square, ours faced a quiet courtyard and that suited us. Breakfast was good (perhaps not great) and staff recommendations for a tourist itinerary and an evening meal were successful.

There are no metro stations close by but there's a handy taxi rank in the square and it's an easy walk to the Trevi fountain or the Colliseum, though the latter takes a while because the sights on the way are so interesting. In December the roof bar is not open but it's worth going up (the lift is a bit creaky) because the view is great by night or day. There are some good restaurants nearby, though many were closed on Sunday.

Considering the excellent location it was not bad value for money and a very enjoyable place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ant42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I found Albergo del Senato on Google Earth and selected it for its location and proximity to places we wanted to visit. We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived by the ambience of the hotel and the top class service from all the staff during our stay - thank you to Mauro,Alessandra, Luca and Serena. Any questions, directions and assistance we needed were never too much trouble and we were always greated with a smile. The hotel is located on the Piazza della Rotonda and the view from our room was straight out onto the square in front of the portico of the Pantheon. I found it a most romantic place to stay; waking up to the sounds of a city starting its working day to the clip clop of the horse and buggy drivers and the occasional busker to watching the sunset over the Vatican from the roof top bar - very nice after a strenuous day sightseeing - a must! The room and amenities are comfortable and clean. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Clean, friendly, accomodating boutique hotel easy walking distance to all of the great sights of Ancient Rome. right across the street from the pantheon. excellent beds, great personal service. very nice breakfast.

highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dannysixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed one night at the Albergo del Senato prior to changing hotels for a business meeting. What a charming hotel. I loved my room overlooking the square. It was beautifully appointed and the bed was comfortable (though quite firm). There was turn down service during which they closed the curtains for me and left chocolates - so nice to come back to! Breakfast was more than adequate.

I'll remember it as one of my favorites. I'm very picky, but this is one hotel I highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunningMyRace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

have stayed at the senato twice in the past year and each occasion as been a delight. Everyone, abosolutely everyone employed there go out of their way to make your visit most pleasurable. And despite the fact that it is in a very touristy area,pay no attention to them, some of rome's most wonderful restaurants are very close by. Look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: room 310 , the seminario, is splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing