We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Terrific hotel and excellent value. We stayed 6 nights, and the central location enabled us to walk everywhere in Rome. We had a fourth floor room with great views facing the piazza. Although on the small side, the room was smartly laid out and extremely clean and up-to-date. Same for the bathroom which had a very pleasing oversized tub. Fridge, safe, robes, slippers, lighting, quietness, soaps and shampoos, hair dryer, bed comfort and bedding quality, etc. were all good. Don't be feaked out if you get a room with two twin beds like ours had. They are very close together--and can get virtually side-by-side by pushing.

Be aware that the hotel requires the room key to be inserted into an electronic slot inside the room for the electricity in the room to work. The protocol is to drop the key at the front desk when leaving--so the staff can tell when the room is vacant and thus available for cleaning. Then when you return, the front desk staff gives the key back. It sounds like it would be freedom intrusive, but it actually works well. The staff was always fast to accept and give back the key, plus that "key" interaction multiple times each day creates natural opportunities to ask the staff quick questions.

We were happy with the daily breakfast service. Self-service coffee/tea/juices, eggs, breakfast meats/cheeses, fruit, cereal, yogurt and all manner of fresh baked goods each day in a very nice setting. The hotel had a few copies of American newspapers free for guests each morning.

We went to the rooftop bar to check it out, but we aren't drinkers, and since we had supreme views from the room, and also enjoyed the hotel chairs outside on the piazza, we didn't stay long. The chairs outside the hotel are also a great place for an evening gellato and people watching.

Though we often used the small elevator going up, we always used the spacious/attractive hotel stairway coming down. Much faster.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, though we did get more meaningful dining recommendations from the front desk daytime staff than the evening shift.

We used the free hotel PC and printer to get boarding passes--everything worked slick.

There was a HVAC problem (apparently) affecting multiple rooms one evening. It was fixed in a couple of hours. Stuff like that happens and was not a big deal, but a slight knock on the hotel for so-so communications on what was going on.

We used the hotel arranged car service to and from the airport. That went very well and was well worth the money (only costs a little above a regular cab ride). Sedans were plush and clean, and the drivers very professional. One didn't speak English, but it was easy enough to communicate.

A final few comments on location... Along with many, many cafes, there are places all around the hotel to buy sundries, food, bottles of Diet Coke, etc. Also, anyone in decent shape can literally walk to all significant Rome/Vatican sites from this hotel, and if not, cabs stands are right there. For walkers, it pays to invest a little time with a map (our phone GPS was sketchy in the narrow, winding, canyon-like streets) before venturing out, and be warned that it is really easy to get started down the wrong street right from the piazza. The first day we frequently got twisted around. The second day we still got a little twisted around (going to new places), but by the third day we were smooth going in any direction--even in the dark. By the way, we felt no safety risk anywhere in Central Rome. There were many street peddlers, but a polite smile and head shake is all it takes to keep them away.

This hotel exceeded all our expectations and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewStart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 3,626 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

This Hotel is in a great spot next to the glorious Pantheon, overlooking a lovely lively Piazza that is always full of life lined by restaurants & shops, so there is always something going on, something to watch from your hotel room if you manage to get one overlooking the Piazza.

Its interiors are in the more traditional Italian style, but it is well presented, friendly & has everything that you would want & need. We found a suite with 2 rooms so one of the kids in our party could have his own single bed in a room off the main twin bed bedroom. The beds were very comfortable.

The breakfast room is out of a movie set in a way, glamorous and the breakfasts were great with cold cuts, cereal, scrambled eggs & fried crispy bacon with 4 fruit juices, great coffee, hot chocolate or tea. It proved a good jumping off point for our stay , there is a cab rank very nearby and we could walk to wherever we were going if you are prepared to walk a bit. I personally used a cab for the longer distances eg to the Palatine Hill/Colosseum etc.
There is a roof terrace if you can negotiate the 36 steps to get there, but these are not strenuous.

I would stay here again & can highly recommend this Hotel!

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CORSAIR700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here during the Christmas period and were greeted by good hospitality and a great room. To our surprise we were upgraded from a regular room to a room with a terrace on the top floor. We also had a bottle of prosecco (as ordered) waiting in our room upon our arrival. The view of the room was spectacular overlooking the pantheon and the fountain, and the terrace proved a great way to 'people watch' from our own privacy of our room. Amenities were superb, and everything was clean and well kept. Concierge was also able to make several dinner reservations for us before we arrived, which was much appreciated. The one downfall of our stay was the spotty internet service that we had. It was pretty important to have good wifi service as I had to log in for work, but i was not able to get a connection. If we did get connected, the response time was extremely slow. We did mention it a couple of times to the front desk, but it seems there was not much they could do to alleviate it.

As it was our first stay in Rome and not familiar with transportation options we ordered the limo car service that is offered as an optional add-on to the room. We were happy to see that it cost only 7 euro more to take the private car compared to a taxi.

All in all we would stay here again if I do not have a dependency on wifi in the future. Definitely request for a room that faces the pantheon for optimal views.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pantheon. Rooms on lower floors may offer better wifi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KamaHeleMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Great location, very helpful staff and if you manage to get a room with view on the Pantheon, it is just magical. The only downside is the WiFi which is irregular and drops off regularly but you do have two computers behind the reception that works well.

Room Tip: room with view on the Pantheon are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were very nice (directions, calling cabs, taking pictures of us) Our room was 206 and had a gorgeous view of the Panthenon. The room was small and not what I am used to but it didn't matter. The view was gorgeous. The breakfast was not great but it was acceptable. If you stay at this hotel make sure you get a view of the Pantheon ! It is a 10 minute walk to Trevi Fountain, 15 to the Spanish Steps.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel is really perfect for a short visit where you just want to hang out in the hustle and bustle city of Rome. The location is very centralised, right beside the Pantheon, Piazza della Rotonda, within walking distance to via del Corso, and Fontana di Trevi. The service is excellent, all the staff are very friendly and speaks very good English and very knowledgable about tourist attractions in Rome. The hotel provides all the necessary amenities and our room even faces directly to Pantheon and the Piazza della Rotonda. There are plenty of nice restaurants, cafe and bar in the surrounding. We definitely recommend this to anyone and will definitely come back again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Dewi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights before a 15 night transatlantic cruise. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast bar very nice and had lots of variety. Location was great. within walking distance of major sites. The Pantheon was just outside the window and the courtyard has a beautiful fountain. We walked around and didn't have to worry about getting lost as all we had to do was find the Pantheon. Would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovetotravel774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,862 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
225 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
806 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,269 in Rome
1,015 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £141 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing