We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious and helpful staff, wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gracious and helpful staff, wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spent three nights here in early December, and I will certainly return. The location is wonderfully central -- within walking distance of nearly everything -- and the room was well-appointed. Breakfast was varied and quite good. My room faced the lovely Piazza, but the room itself was quiet. Most important, the staff was welcoming and very helpful from beginning to end. This is a lovely gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BklynTravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,837
    465
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
832
1,819
106
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights from January 1st for our honeymoon. The hotel arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and dropped at the front door ( in a nice black Mercedes ) for only a few euros more than what a taxi would have cost us. We booked the same, for our return journey to the airport.

The location of this hotel is amazing and central for all the great sites. Everything is walkable ... Vatican City, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum etc.

Upon check in, we found a complimentary bottle of prosecco chilling in our room .. what a great start. Every night when we returned to our room, we found the curtains closed, the bed turned down and chocolates left on the bed for us. Mini bar was well stocked and well priced compared with local shops and restaurants.

Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful ... in fact ALL the staff were extremely friendly.

We cannot fault this hotel in any way whatsoever, and "when" we return to Rome ( we threw coins into the Trevi Fountain !! ), we will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Thank you for making our honeymoon trip so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We got room 205 .... it overlooks the Pantheon at just the right height we think. When the window wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlanSmith68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. The location (literally next door to the pantheon) couldn't be better. You are so close to everything you want to see in Rome and you can walk everywhere; the Pantheon next door, the Vatican (20 mins away) Trevi fountain (10 mins) the Coliseum (20 - 25 mins away) and there are some fantastic restaurants just around the corner. On our arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was huge, with a 4 poster bed and frescoes on the ceiling. The bed wasn't the worlds comfiest and the wifi very sporadic but I was in Rome to see Rome, not to search the internet. The included buffet breakfast was tasty and varied. The reception staff Alessandra and Luca couldn't have been more helpful and their restaurant recommendations (and reservations for us) were superb. Al Duello around the corner was absolutely fantastic, and the pizzeria on the next street served incredible pizza and pasta. This is my third time in Rome and if we get the opportunity to come back, we will definitely stay at this hotel. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank law6knp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Of course, it is right next to the Pantheon, but it is also within walking distance of most of the tourist sites in Rome which is exactly what we wanted. 20 minutes walk to the Vatican, ten minutes to the Spanish Steps, five to the Trevi Fountain. We also had our choice of dozens of great restaurants within only a few blocks from the hotel. The triple room that we had did not face the piazza (we were told that they had no triple rooms that faced the piazza and the Pantheon), but it was serviceable for what we needed. The breakfast buffet was good: there was one chaffing dish with scrambled eggs and bacon, and then there was a good mix of fruit, cereals, breads and cold cuts. The barman Michele was outstanding in every way! He was very knowledgeable of the wines and liquors of Italy and gave absolutely top notch service. He even made my 8 year old son a chair out of two champagne bottle cages! The bar on the first floor was a cosy place to have a drink before going out to dinner. Although we were there in December, we definitely appreciated how amazing the roof top bar must be during good weather. Michele told us that he ran the bar up on the roof during the summer. We could only imagine having his excellent service up there while enjoying the incredible view from the roof!! There were two negatives that resulted in me taking a star away: the wifi provided was terrible, and the recommendations of the hotel concierge for restaurants weren't much better. The wifi kept cutting out and was never very strong in our room or elsewhere in the hotel. What was worse was that we had to re-enter the username and password every time we reestablished connection to the internet, something that I have never encountered with other hotel wifi systems and was something really annoying and time consuming. It’s the 21st century people! Most of us would now rather have strong wifi than television cable. Especially on vacation! The concierge recommendations were suspect, as each restaurant recommended had relatively low ratings on TripAdvisor.com and the one restaurant that we actually went to that they recommended was one of our least favorite of our stay in Rome. We tested them several times on this with several different employees working the desk and the results were largely the same. In my opinion, the desk staff was either out of touch with what their customers wanted or they were deliberately steering people to tourist traps. Either way we were disappointed and ended up eating at other restaurants that we found by searching tripadvisor. Overall, however, I do recommend this hotel and would stay there again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mugro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed At the Albergo del Senato for our 15th anniversary. We arranged in advance for airport pickup and Octavio picked us up right on schedule and gave us a great tour of Rome on the way from the airport to the hotel. Check-in was easy and the staff was great. Our room was on the fourth floor with a great view of the square and the Pantheon. We had a minor issue with the sink which was promptly fixed. We enjoyed the rooftop terrace several times during our 5 night stay. The breakfast buffet was always excellent with plenty of choices and good service. Wi-Fi was weak in our room and we tended to check e-mail in the lounge area where we were closer to the router. The front desk personnel were always able to answer our questions. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I just got back from Rome where we flew for New Years Eve 2013. We arrived on the 30th to beautiful clear weather. What made our trip was the hotel. It is in the perfect location, 5 feet from the Pantheon and our room view started right onto it. Even though you stare out onto the most beautiful square, the windows are so thick you don’t hear anything. The hotel and views are just breath-taking. The rooms are spacious and decorated in roman style. They have a beautiful décor and the facilities are stunning, the stair case, bar and lobby. What is also a treat is the terrace on the 6th floor which has breath-taking views of the pantheon and Rome. It was just magical. The breakfast is lovely and was fresh and tasty. The coffee too is just splendid. I can’t find a single complaint and this is the second time I’ve been to Rome and I will never book someone else to stay as this hotel honestly has it all.
I found the staff to be perfect. They were accommodating, friendly and very knowledgeable, providing us with advice of where to find family run Italian restaurants.
You have everything you need to see in Rome and you can walk everywhere; the Pantheon is 5 foot away, the Vatican (15 - 20 mins away) Trevi fountain (10 mins) the Coliseum (20 - 25 mins away) and all the Piazza’s are max 30 mins away by foot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MB132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel just before xmas celebrating my husbands 50th birthday, the location is superb,and the staff are the best I have come across,very friendly, helpful and always had a smile.Our room overlooked the Pantheon and was amazing,beautiful hotel and will return later this year.Well done.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine318moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#18 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing